We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST EXPERIENCE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE BEST EXPERIENCE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

I have never felt compeled to write about something so strongly as this! My husband and I returned today from a 4 day, 3 night stay at the JIH. From the moment we arrived, we were treated by Jose the valet. He was polite, efficient and funny! Once inside we asked if we could possibly upgrade at no charge, that gal behind the guest said she would see what she could do. I had told her it was our 33rd Wedding Anniversary and that our daughter was planning her wedding at this venue in October. OH MY! We stayed in the Annex and we had a king suite. It was HUGE!!! Beautifully decorated and what a lovely view of the crochet area and looking over at the river. The service was so friendly. Absolutely friendly and it was sincere. The staff talked to you and cared that you were happy. Jose helped me on my bike rental and was pleasant and quite a character. Cris is the main dining room was so accommodating and the staff loves to talk about the history of this amazing hotel. The pool and pool bar area was great. Mac served the best cheeseburgers and great cocktails. This we considered a very good deal and the service was great. We are so excited to return in October for this wedding and I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway, great for families, reunions, and of course a wedding! The scenery is so georgeous. The grandeur of this hotel is breathtaking. The only negative is your cell phone service is poor. Great golf, all the little stores on the property - everyone is so friendly. The trolly tour is a must! I do not like the beaches really, a little more muddy than I am use to. This is a very quiet and subdued place to decompress.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank teacherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    263
    87
    55
    29
See reviews for
232
570
27
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel for the long 4th of July weekend. The hotel was exactly what we were looking for--relaxing and convenient. We enjoyed St. Simons Island (massages at Studio 412) and a delicious dinner at Cargo Portside Grill. The hotel's beach pavilion was perfect (restrooms, snack bar, shuttle to and from the hotel) and the beach fireworks were a treat. We'd definitely go back again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dctraveler112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

My trip to the Jekyll Island Club was incredible. I have never stayed at such a beautiful hotel with such a variety of amenities. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty. The food was amazing, and the grounds were beautiful. My sister also had her weddingat the club. The staff went oout of its way to make it a very beautiful and special event. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travllover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

This resort was such a great find! We had booked a room on the beach and it was NOT clean enough to stay. We decided we didn't like the looks of any of the hotels, so we were going to head rather south. It was getting late, so I decided to call the Jekyll Resort and they were so nice and welcoming. We were sorry how the beginning of our trip started on the island,but, we are so glad we stayed here. One night turned into two. Do yourself a favor and rent the bikes. The breakfast was great and the restaurant beside the resort was great. I can't wait to go back...a very QUIET stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pawsitive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

This idyllic resort left an indelible mark on me. I will never forget it, because it oooooooooozes history and when you are sleeping you feel like you are slleping with JP MorganChase or Norman Rockwellfeller or other very important financial moguls.

Jekyll Island is a man-made island created by big bankers hundreds of years ago and its where the Federal Reserve was born. There were slaves on the island and you can still visit their quarters.

The hotel itself is CLASSIE! The service was outstanding and the food made me feel like royalty. I would like to thank the staff helping me when i was in a bad mood. I took it out on them and they didnt judge me, they just listened, and when it was over i called my stepfather to apologize for something gross i had done.

Do you people enjoy oak and other classy things? Then get your keesters down to man-made Jekyll Island for some poached fish. I am told there is a roller coaster somewhere on the island but i never saw it, so dont worry if you are afraid of coasters.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyCFerraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

Gorgeous, stunningly beautiful grounds and architecture. We stayed in Crane Cottage in a one-bedroom suite. The bedroom and living area were very large, with french doors opening into the courtyard and out into the Garden. Very comfortable bed, jetted bathtub. Everything was in great condition.

We had a 2-year-old with us, and it was kid friendly except for dining. There is no indoor dining on the property that is kid friendly. Dining was overall a little limited considering the price of the rooms and the size of the estate. My only other real complaint was that internet access and cell coverage is spotty. Some parts of the property have no cell coverage and our room had no internet access, but there were a couple of places on the property with free wifi.

Despite these inconveniences, we still loved it. One of the best hotel rooms I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

My husband (a self-professed "average Joe") was initially intimidated when we pulled up and there were people on the front lawn dressed all in white playing croquet. Thank goodness for our valet, who must have sensed that my husband was uneasy, because he immediately made both of us feel welcome. You would have thought his only job was to make our stay a great one - which he definitely accomplished. He showed us around the property, provided us with "things to do" ideas, and gave us great dining suggestions.

Our room rate included free valet and free breakfast in the dining room. That, plus the charming room and the excellent service from everyone on property, made it worth what we paid.

One precaution - we were by far the youngest people there (We're in our late 40's). It is a lovely place to relax, but don't go looking for a wild time. Definitely bring a white outfit, because croquet actually looks like fun!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CableCarBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.0 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
9.5 mi away
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
#1 of 1 in Sea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Property: Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing