We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure”
Review of The Beachview Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Beachview Club
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Took a detour on our way home and discovered this awesome place. Greeted by Rose at the front desk. I asked her how she was and she replied, If I was any better I could not stand myself lol. Rooms were great, the property was gorgeous. The Island is amazing. Bring your bike.

Room Tip: Get a suite with a balcony facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gregg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

From the road, this place looks like your basic unbranded beach motel and certainly not any kind of "club" you would want to belong to. Walk into the lobby and, hey, this is nicer than I would have expected. Walk out to the pool area, back yard and then onto the beach and wow, this is a pretty good situation. The architecture is basic motel - most rooms are accessed by the usual exterior gauntlet that requires you to keep the shades drawn if you don't like everybody in your business. Our king bed room was clean. The appointments were better motel grade including some surprising elements like real tile in the bathroom and decent towels. We appreciated the little kitchen area and the surprisingly good "Premium Coffee" which actually tasted like it. The bed was tired and needs to be replaced. The staff was pleasant and helpful and we got a great walk-in rate in the really low season. This is a nice low-key place with better-than-expected rooms, a postcard view in the rear, on a very pleasant low-key island. We liked it for two nights even though I expect the outside access design would probably drive me mad during the high season. Happy Trails.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The pros-The beach was nice and the pool was acceptable. The back of the hotel was beautiful. The cons-The room was a little dated and the bathroom needed to be cleaned better. The customer service was very poor. The employees were rude and seemed liked they did not enjoy their jobs. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank HannTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachviewclub, General Manager at The Beachview Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

I am terribly sorry that you felt our employees were rude to you during your stay. We pride ourselves on having great, and friendly, employees at the Beachview Club. Please feel free to contact me with your concerns, so I can make sure our guest's experience with our employees is top notch. 800-299-2228 or beachviewclub@bellsouth.net
Thank you for your time,
Jimmy Dunn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stopped here for a two night stay on our way to Florida from Canada. We had been driving for several days and needed a place to rest up. Not only are the rooms and service top notch but the surroundings are impeccable. We had 4 deer in the gardens outside our room.

There is no restaurant at the hotel but there are lots of great places to eat nearby.

We love Jekyll Island and hope to spend more time here in the future.

Room Tip: Drive up rooms are available if you are travelling with a cooler and lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I were traveling past Jekyll 10 years ago and had one night to stay. We went in a couple of places and they were moldy. Tried this place, unsure if you had to be a member, and they had the best suite in the place available, hot tub, fireplace, oceanview windows, really classy place, and they gave us a good price, since not many people were there (a hurricane was moving in on Florida at the time). We were immensely impressed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I have noted some recent comments that were not that favorable, and it could be that things have gone downhill, but it was a first class place. You might check it out for your next trip, you may be greatly surprised. Their rates may scare you off, but don't hesitate to ask for any discounted rates available.

Room Tip: Upstais is always better in Jekyll because of the potential of flooding on the bottom floors, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryLCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We booked a jacuzzi suite to celebrate our anniversary. The room was infested with "love bugs". The hotel staff was less than apologetic about the condition of the room saying "this is the love bug season."

I have numerous pictures I'm willing to share

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Suzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Beachview is one of the older establishments on JI, so if you're expecting it to have that brand new look and feel, you will be disappointed. Of course, for that brand new look and feel you can pay twice as much and stay at The Hampton Inn. However if you're looking for a great location, with quaint charm, then you will not go wrong by selecting the Beachview Club. The rooms and the facilities are old but well maintained. The Hotel doesn't provide breakfast, but all rooms come with efficiencies so it's easy enough to prepare breakfast in your room. The Club provides bikes for your use, which is another cost savings over renting them on the island. The access to the Beach, which you would not think to be an issue at a place like JI, is actually difficult at some of the Hotels, but not at the Beachview Club. All in all, unless you are hung up about having the newest of everything I would say that the Beachview Club is the best combination for a value minded traveler. If money is no object, you can do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view, which faces not only the beach and the pool, but nice landscaping. The ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blue-Eyes-Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jekyll Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.3 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,285 reviews
2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
793 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachview Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachview Club

Address: 721 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0831
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range: £130 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beachview Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Beachview Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachview Club Hotel Jekyll Island
Beachview Hotel Jekyll Island
The Beachview Hotel
The Beachview Club Jekyll Island, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing