We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Island Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jekyll Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jekyll Island Campground
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a beautiful campground! Cozy, but spacious tent sites under a tall, moss-draped canopy of trees. The bath houses were always clean, and had hot water every time! We rode 13.5 miles of the bike path and both my fiance and I were in awe of the beautiful scenery. I cant say I have seen a more amazing place than this in Georgia! Driftwood Beach was a short walk, and we have so many pictures I cannot wait to print and frame. The staff here is friendly and the store was equipped with last minute items in case your memory escapes you like ours did and you have to purchase an "emergency" bottle of ketchup! There are fire rings at every site, along with a picnic table. Firewood is also available for purchase as well as ice. It was reasonably priced considering you did not have to drive to buy it. Our only complaint was that we didn't book our stay for longer! We will be back and cannot wait!

Room Tip: Sites T1 and T2 were booked at the time, but are close to one of the bath houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chrissy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was our first time camping here. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the tent camping sites. Plenty of trees offering cover from the sun too.

Tent sites offered water but no electric. My only real complaint on the campground was on the bathrooms. They were clean, but they were quite a distance from the tent sites, which wasn't good at night or in bad weather. Next time, I'd probably pay a bit extra to stay closer to the bath house.

The campground is close to the beach, fishing pier, and to the bike trails. They have a limited camp store on site.

Room Tip: If it is important to you, request a site near the bath house. There are only two bath houses and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnTheGoFLFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The backin spaces can be VERY tight with the trees....fortunately the small spot behind us was vacant and they could pull up some posts, so we were able to drive through. As one previous reviewer commented, with people staying for extended periods, some sites can get pretty cluttered. But the trees are lovely, the bird sanctuary is lovely, and it is a nice walk to the pier and driftwood beach just across the street. Check in was helpful, notifying the host to help us pull in. I only peeked in the bathhouse, as stated
before, old but very clean. Convenient dog clean up bag stations, our dogs got a bad report card for barking one night, but they probably deserved it. The island had lots of bike trails, nice walking beaches, and a few decent eating places. My husband and I enjoyed looking at all the different campers.

Room Tip: Pull in spaces are the way to go if you can get one.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Daisy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This was only our 3rd campground since we bought our own RV (our parents had campers). We were greeted by great staff-made to feel welcome and approachable if we had problems. Since we were new with a 30' 5th wheel, they made sure we could pull through. We were close to the restroom and I used the shower daily and Bill only as we were leaving and after we were hooked up to leave. They were not that well maintained and we did send a note to the manager. We never had much problem with Mosquitos but we sprayed anyway. We loved the history of the island, going on the trolly your and self guided walking tour. We took long walks on the very nice beaches. We plan to return!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
8  Thank HarleyRiderClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Great location, Super Hosts, Very scenic area! Jekyll Island Campground is an older campground but well kept, cable, wifi, sewer hook-ups all worked well. The campground is very scenic with large Live Oaks canopy cover total area. The Bath House and Laundry area were old but clean and worked well. The Store could be better stocked with RV accessories. Clam Creek Fishing Pier and Driftwood Beach are across the road from the entrance, Historic District and Sea Turtle Center down the road a few Miles. Rent a bike at the campground and visit all. enjoy

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 87vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We loved Jekyll Island Campground. Just across the road was the entrance to Clam Creek fishing Pier and picnic area. It was lovely to walk at night under the live oaks with the Spanish moss creating an enchanted tunnel. Crab soup, from any restaurant on the island was to die for. The bathrooms at the back of the campground were much nicer than those at the front. We went the end of Oct. mild temps and no bugs. Raccoons got in our cooler and stole our bacon ( Who Stole the Bacon?), we put it in our trunk after that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank earlycse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is the only campground on Jekyll Island. It is an old campground, a bit run down and very rustic but we love it here. The sites are all very shady with huge oak trees and most are fairly level, with full hook ups including cable and sewer. The wifi worked very well at our site, there were many connections to choose from depending on where you are in the campground. The laundry room was small but the machines worked and didn't cost too much. The roads are all dirt as well as the sites but that's what we like. We did not use the bath house but we looked in them and they were clean and appeared to be in good working order. The entire Island is golf-cart friendly and we drove ours everywhere we needed to go, just make sure they meet the specifications or you might get a ticket from the Georgia State Troopers that patrol the island. We stayed here in September and there were a few bugs but nothing that a little repellent couldn't handle. Our week here was great and we didn't want to leave and we will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jekyll Island hotels
5.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
4 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,272 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
4.9 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
786 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 9 in Jekyll Island
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Campground

Address: 1197 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0748
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Jekyll Island
Number of rooms: 199
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Campground Hotel Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Campground Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing