We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Elsewhere!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The rooms are musty and old and appear to have not been renovated for several years. The coffee pot and microwave were in the bathroom. Fixtures were old and rusty. Spider webs on parts of the ceiling and what was possibly mold on one of the walls. You could see where the walls had been patched. Everything just appeared as though it had to be wiped down before touching it. It is the first hotel near the conference center and I feel should have more appeal than this . Will never stay here again if visiting Jekyll Island!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenMO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments- while I understand that you were not happy with your accomodations, we appreciate when guests share their opinions about their stay. While we are an older hotel we have undergone multiple renovations over just the last two years. New furnishings, new carpeting, and new bedding. We anticipate renovations to our bathrooms and kitchens in the upcoming year. By booking thru a third party sometimes we are unable to provide guests with a room set up they expected. I apologize that you were booked in to a handicap accessible room that was not what you expected. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove our level of service to you in the future. I would love to personally handle your future accomodations. Again, thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. Deborah Exum, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were traveling to coastal Georgia & northern Florida without a plan with 2 tweens & 2 pug dogs. Moderately priced, pet friendly options are limited on Jekyll Island. Option 1 would only accept one dog under 20 pounds & we had 2. After calling Quality Inn & finding that they had rooms, we stopped to take a look. One on the ground floor fit our needs & was near dog walk area. Our dogs stayed in their crates while in the room.We were allowed to check in early because the room was ready & we had driven 14 hours! We had a pleasant stay. Nice staff. Standard Quality Inn breakfast buffet. Coffee always on in Lobby. Yes, it is an older property, but it was fine for our needs.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms near pool may have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eachdayagift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Valued Guest-Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad your pugs and tweens had a good time. Jekyll Island has some great history and nature to explore. We do have some upgrades planned for the near future. We look forward to seeing again the next time you come thru the Golden Isles. Monica Nawrocki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The location is great. Decent staff and it looks great on the surface . The rates were ok for the location but man the rooms were straight out of a cheap B movie lot . Old furniture , really depressing yellowish walls and the beds were flintstone hard ! Someone threw a old ratty pair of jeans over the railing and they kind of summed up the hotel ! If u just want to crash for a night cheaply them it may work but that was about all I wanted .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Mr. Costner,
I apologize that you felt as though your upgraded suite was an outdated room. The large size of our rooms are something that is not typical in most hotels these days. Our furnishings are not from the 70's as most Coastal Hotels do feature some white wash furnishings for the coastal atmosphere. Being an exterior hotel, many of our customers do utilize our railings for drying beach towels. We will monitor the type of items that guest are hanging out to dry. We hope you will return to see the bathroom and kitchen renovations that we have planned for 2014. Deborah Exum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I suppose it partly my fault, i tried to guess what hotel i was "bidding" for and got stuck with this one.
First off, its the only hotel on the island NOT on the beach front.
The rooms are not renovated, straight out of the 70s (or older). the bathroom fixtures are very old and rusty, the shower bar trip caps were not screwed on and there was a little mold.
Even though our room was no smoking, you can tell it was a smoking room back in the 70s. musty.
Out side the room are benches with cigarette butts everywhere. You can walk around with out walking through someones smoke cloud (including the employees)

The waffler maker was broken, eggs were indescribable, some kinda pre frozen over easy nastiness.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Ken D.-Allow me to apologize for not meeting your expectations. While we are an older property we do pride ourselves with maintaining a clean comfortable room. I have shared your comments with our staff to ensure future guests do find similar problems with their stay. We do have renovations of bathrooms and kitchens planned for the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss the problems with your stay personally. Again, I am truly sorry we failed to exceed expectations. Monica Nawrocki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

The pool area is very nice and the water appeared to be heated. Our room was large, clean & comfortable . A flat screen TV, a fridge. & a microwave. It was all we needed. We would stay here again. And we would recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank trawlerdoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

trawlerdoxie-Thank you for taking the time to review the Quality Inn, We do pride ourselves with having the largest rooms on Jekyll Island. It is great that you enjoyed your stay, and I am sure you will enjoy the upgrades we have planned for 2014. We look forward to serving you in the future. Monica Nawrocki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Jekyll Island, the desk clerk was very helpful & suggested a very nice restaurant. The room was clean, just in need of updating. Very close to the Beach for a early walk to see the Sunrise. We also brought our Dog. Very Pet friendly.
We really enjoyed our visit to Driftwood Beach a really must see.
Because of the time we visited

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Jackie M-Your pictures are great! We agree Driftwood Beach is a must see on Jekyll Island. It's great that you enjoyed your weekend. We looking forward to your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. Monica Nawrocki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

The staff was nice, but it stops after that. The bed was literally a rock, so I tried the pull out in our suite. Bad idea...not even sheets in the whole room for that bed! Bathroom was clean. Mattress protector had snot all over it. Breakfast consists of cereal, bread, and biscuits. No gravy, eggs, etc. The couch is uncomfortable to the utmost extent. Do me a favor, pay the extra 20 bucks and stay elsewhere. You will be glad. There is NO taxi service or rental cars on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoTideWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

WoTideWo- I apologize that you did not find everything satisfactory with your stay with us. We do not make up the sofa bed in the room nor leave sheets in the room stored for it, because we want our customers to have fresh sheets for their sofa bed everytime it is used. Our staff at the front desk have ready made packets of fresh sheets and blankets ready as needed upon request. Our breakfast is served from 6am til 9am so customers that come after 9am are sure to find a limted supply of offerings as things are closing down. We do offer a rotating menu that lends our customers some variety. Some of those menu offerings have gravy with biscuits, and others may have sausage patties biscuits just to give an example. As a state park, taxi services are available from the local area of Brunswick. We are always happy to arrange for those travel accomodations if needed. As always we have a Commitment to Service for all of our customers, we do hope your travels will return to Jekyll Island, so we may demonstrate our committment of service to you.-Deborah Exum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,279 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
789 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 700 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0830
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range: £73 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Jekyll Island
Quality Inn Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing