We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
GreenLeadersBronze level
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old but accommodating”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have been going to this motel off and on for decades. As pointed out by other reviewers yes, it is old. But it is also clean and affordable and right across the street from the beach. And they have a nice pool. Staff is nice and accommodating. I recommend them unless you need a 5 star hotel in which case there is the Jekyll Island Club.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for sharing! While we will celebrate our 55th birthday year this year! We also celebrate all rooms clean every day! Thanks again for sharing your feedback.
Deborah Exum, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    107
    76
    63
    77
See reviews for
150
102
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

It was a nice place & the people that worked the desk were polite, they even called the room right after we arrived to make sure everything was to our liking. BEST of all it was dog friendly, with a very nice place to walk the dogs(they even had poop bags! ). Very short walk to the beach! Bike rental on site. It was a clean place & the deer came right through the parking lot, that was amazing!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback! We are excited to hear when someone has enjoyed their stay with us. Your comments will be passed along to the staff and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Claire Moody, Director of Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was expecting a regular hotel room and landed in a suite! Awesome!

Very Clean! The property is dated but the room is very modern with a flat screen in both rooms. Bathroom is very clean but small, the figures are dated and the tile shower is too but it looks great, their is no fan in the ceiling but it is super clean and bright.

The pool is old and needs some freshening up! It needs a little attention But we were following a large camp week and my room is a re-model suite.

My wife was so excited! We got a great deal almost haft of other places on the island, and for "just two nights" we decided we would try it and we will return.

The breakfast is fine, nothing special, EXCEPT they have 4 waffle makers instead of just two. It is the little things.

Room Tip: The one room suites has two double beds. They are double bed not queens. At least that is the stor...
See more room tips
Green Features: Not really what I am concerned about when I checked in, sorry!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skidawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your visit with us. We love to surprise guests with our upgrades especially for special occasions. We look forward to your return visit. Have a wonderful rest of Summer. Deborah Exum, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Rooms need updated. Especially bathroom an kitchen area. Rust noted and holes under cabinets, tub in drain properly. They did allow pets which was a nice plus. For the prize of $175 a night I expected much better rooms and suites than what we had.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Allow me to apologize for the condition of your room during your recent visit. We are planning some kitchen and bath renovations soon. We make every effort to give each guest a comfortable visit. Families do like that they we allow their pets and that the pets are welcome of most of Jekyll Island beaches. I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations and prove southern hospitality still exists..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilhowie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have vacationed on Jekyll for the last 6 years. Our plan is to stay in all the hotels to find our favorite. Quality Inn was the worst one we have stayed in. Old (we understand the whole state owned situation) does not have to mean dirty. The room was not ready at 4:00 which is check in time. I had forgotten my drivers license at home and they had no way to help me get a copy of it. The printer didn't work on the computer in the lobby, I was not allowed to use the manager's computer in the back and the fax machine would not work either. Luckily we had no problems that required me to provide or need ID. We should have been told of the construction across the street. Jackhammers and back-up beeps started before 7 am every morning and continued most of the day. We realized that wasn't Quality Inn's fault but forewarning would have been considerate. We had a suite thank goodness as a regular room would have been claustrophobic. The bathroom and kitchen were not cleaned well and there was sand in the carpet. I wore socks while in the room and threw them away when we left. After returning from the beach on our second day, there was a terrible smell in the room that we finally located coming from the kitchen trash can. There was rotten food in the bottom that a new bag had been put over. We sat it outside the room and no one asked about it. Others started using it and the bag was changed everyday, but the food was still in the bottom the day we left. The towels were like sandpaper and the hotel ran out of wash cloths on our 4th day there and we had to go ask for them at the front desk to get them after the laundry was caught up. They did offer bike rental there which is convenient, but the bikes are not maintained well. Very noisy to ride. The walk to the beach was one of our shortest and that is about the best thing I can say about our experience. If service and cleanliness are not the priority, the rates should not be the same as the better and cleaner hotels on the island. We will be on Jekyll at least once a year as long as we are able but it will not be here.

Room Tip: Regular sized rooms would be good for couples only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
On behalf of our entire staff allow me to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with our staff and will use them as an opportunity to ensure future guests do not have the same experience. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly if you wish to discuss specific issues personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jekyll Island hotels

Nashville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in Jekyll Island, GA for 2 nights. It is a very good place to stay on Jekyll Island. They do accept pets and have a dog walk on the North side of the buildings. It is even lighted for nighttime walks. The handicapped rooms are large and comfortable with easy access to bathroom facilities. I would recommend this lodging for anyone thinking about visiting Jekyll Island, GA and might have an handicapped person in the party or traveling with pets. We will call them again next time we are Jekyll bound.

Room Tip: Call the Quality Inn and Suites direct.Handicapped rooms are large and have easy access.
See more room tips
Green Features: Couldn't actually say from any personal experience but it does appear they would be environmentally friendly being on Jekyll Island.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintonB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your positive response! Your comments will be passed along to the staff. We are always excited to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Claire Moody, Director of Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were a party of four adults staying for two nights in a 2 bedroom non-smoking 'suite'. We went to Jekyll for a wedding at the Jekyll Island Club.
We checked in & got in the 'non-smoking' room and it reeked of cigarette smoke. The hotel was booked so they couldn't give us another non-smoking room. The manager was as helpful as he could be & brought an air cleaner.
The 'suite' was very dirty - actually, filthy. There were dead bugs on the window sills, dirt on the floors and trash & broken glass on the floor.
The garbage cans outside were overflowing & not emptied the entire time we were there.
The carpet leading to the rooms is bare in spots & frayed.
It's a very run-down place and needs a complete overhaul.
I wish we had stayed at the Jekyll Island Club - the rooms aren't that much more money and considering the vast difference in quality, is well worth the extra cost. It was very difficult hanging out at the Jekyll Island Club & attending festivities there, only to have to return to our dirty, stinky & scary hotel room at night.
Do yourself a favor & find someplace else to stay!

Room Tip: If you want a good room, stay in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLLights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityjekyll, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay. While we are not the luxury accommodations of the Jekyll Island Club Hotel, we do strive to provide our guest with budget friendly and clean accommodations. My staff and I are saddened you did not have a pleasant stay. I will be sure and share your feedback with our staff members to ensure future guests do not have the same experience. Deborah Exum, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 700 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Jekyll Island
Quality Inn Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing