We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and plenty of it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Dining Room

Grand Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Grand Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$60
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The Jekyll Island Club Hotel Grand Dining Room continues to be the scene of social gatherings and gourmet experiences. Beautifully restored in the Victorian mode, the room is dominated by Ionic columns and gleaming white woodwork. Three handsome fireplaces, complete with intricately carved mantle pieces and marble surrounds, add warmth and cheer on a winter’s day. The lawns and the river can be seen through expansive windows, and the first blossoms of crepe myrtle and magnolia trees color the landscape in early spring. The glow of candlelight and piano music create an atmosphere of romance and anticipation of the gourmet meal to come. A cause celebre in Southern Georgia dining is the Grand Dining Room’s Sunday brunch, a culinary and visual delight. The last Sunday of most months boasts Sunday Dinner Dance with gourmet dining and ballroom dancing.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and plenty of it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We ate lunch (huge burgers) here the first day, waiting for our room to be ready. The second day we came for a memorable dinner. Each day we partook of the buffet breakfast, seating ourselves in a sunny bay off the main room. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    133
    53
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
104 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spectacular dining in Victorian luxury circa 1888”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Grand dining room has beautiful Victorian motif circa 1888, time of turn of century tycoon names like JP Morgan, Rockefeller, Astor, Pulitzer, Vanderbilt, Macy, Goodyear & Gould. This was their private island and club.
Service was impeccable, courteous, and fast. Food was spectacular
Lunch was a real delight. The fried Avocado Salad was a real refreshing new experience with avocado, a must if you like avocado.
The Club Seafood Macaroni Bake was excellent composed of shrimp, scallops and crab baked in a brandy and lobster cream sauce with macaroni topped with herb panko served with Chef's vegetable. Wife had excellent Shrimp and Grits.
How luck we felt to have the opportune to have a real gourmet meal in the grand old southern style in such a beautiful historic setting.
Highly recommend and a 1st choice in you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elmer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not worth the $$”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were so excited to travel back in time at the Jekyll Island club that maybe we expected too much??
The atmosphere in the Grand dining room is quite tired and very out dated. I wouldn't mind that so much if our service and meal had been great, but that was not the case. Our waiter seemed distracted and had trouble communicating the specials, the appetizers were just "ok", and my main course, the wild game plate was so overcooked as to be tough. I love lamb but this was chewy and not very palatable. Our waiter never came over to the table to check on us until we were finished, so couldn't complain until after the meal.
Overall, very disappointing and expensive!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ponte vedra
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fish of the day was spectacular - it was the servers recommendation. Definitely worth a visit. I was very surprised at just how good the food was all over the Club. Really a wonderful visit

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank elise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Still grand and elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

No shorts or capris. Men must still dress in pointed collar shirt and jacket (although they will let you get away with not wearing a tie now. Excellent service and not as pricey as you'd think. Entrees between $22 and $35. Beautiful view at sunset.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Dining Room also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Grand Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing