We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of Jacks BBQ - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jacks BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped for gas as we entered Georgia and decided to grab some dinner. Jack's was a lucky find (with reassurance from TripAdvisor). We'd been focused on seafood for a week in the FL Keys and BBQ was a nice change. Should have shared the pulled pork sandwich -- it was a lot of meat for an early supper. Ask for sauce on the side so you can try more than one. Or try the pork plain -- great smoky flavor on its own.)

Helpful?
Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    0
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great little place for BBQ”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped here to try some Georgia BBQ, and were not disappointed. It's just a little joint, nothing fancy, oilcloth on the tables, paper towel rolls and hot sauce bottles, too... just the kind of local eatery we favor on our trips! Had the ribs (huge and meaty) and the smoked beef, both with spicy sauce slathered on. Good choice, and good value!

Helpful?
Thank TheKays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our pulled pork sandwiches”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stopped at Jack's for lunch on our way to Florida. Enjoyed our pulled pork sandwiches with the spicy sauce and lemonade. Portion size was good & lunch for two was about $20. We'll stop again, next winter.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyR-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Ribs!!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My Kryptonite. I've had their wood-smoked ribs 3 nights in a row now. I have to leave this area before I die of excessive rib consumption. The best rib's I've had from a restaurant. I recommend their honey sauce rather than their spicy sauce as the sweetness complements the strong smoked flavor much better than the mustard-based spicy version. I can also highly recommend their Banana creme pudding and peach cobbler.

It's not a fancy place. It is a small local family operated BBQ stand just off of Georgia Exit 1 of Rt. 95 before the Florida state line. Turn west and it's within yards of the hwy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“All went in the garbage!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We went to jacks on the way home from Savannah to Florida. I wanted to take home some Bbq and Brunswick stew for my kids. I ordered 2 pounds of Beef and 2 large pints of Stew. WOW, I should have known when I saw them using packaged, not homemade, BBQ Sauce. The beef was not brisket but a dry over cooked eye round, very strange indeed. The stew was ketchup with tomato paste. I really don't even have the words to describe this garbage I spent $40.00 on, except that it all went in the garbage. I always check trip advisor and this time I was impulsive and saw the restaurant on the exit and ran in and ordered ! If I had seen the other reviews on this place I would have kept driving. It's very rare I write a negative review however in this case I had too ! And to the owners a pint is not a 6oz foam coffee cup !! What a rip off !!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greektravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jacks BBQ also viewed

 
Kingsland, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing