We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the road and happy”
Review of Big Sam's BBQ - CLOSED

Big Sam's BBQ
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Description: Big Sams is a local place for great BBQ with a relaxed and very casual, playful atmosphere. daily specials on BBQ ,Lo-Country boil,Catfish,Hand made Grilled Burgers,and some of the best sauces you will ever put in your mouth.Portions are plentiful and Big Sam always makes time to visit, always good music and something fun to watch on the big screens.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“On the road and happy”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

It does take a few minutes gettng off the highway, but in my estimation, it is totally worth it. Large portions and friendly staff. Meat was very tender. If I was driving through I would definitely revisit

Helpful?
Thank AnnaMarieVice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    7
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT barbecue; friendly,entertaining owner who treats you like family!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We met out-of-town relatives for dinner on a Sunday night. Sam was a fantastic host and entertained us until the rest if our party arrived. We will DEFINITELY be going back - I hope on a regular basis! The handmade brats and smoked sausage were out of this world. One person in our party had the baked potato that was loaded with barbecue and cheese - just make sure you are hungry when you order this or any other item on the menu! The main thing that needed a little work was getting all the meals to the table at one time. The cornbread recipe also needs a little tweaking, but the other food was so good that it was easy to overlook the cornbread.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pianos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, and Friendly Service!!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch Sunday on the way home to Alabama. We had a great BBQ plate and a pulled pork sandwich with collard greens, mashed potatoes, and potato salad!! It was all finger licking good! Sam and his crew were very friendly and provided fast service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SmithUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
148 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Again great BBQ, just like the first Visit!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Living in Rhode Island and visiting friends only once a year down in Hogansville, Ga., it's on my top priority list to visit Big Sam's each and every time I'm down in the area. We stopped by Big Sam's on the weekend of the NASCAR Talladega race on the Friday night. The restaurant was full, and our orders quickly taken, and BBQ plates on the table within 15 minutes. We could see Big Sam through the food delivery window, and Sam was working as hard as ever to cook and serve his to die for BBQ to all his faithful customers, new and old, on the other side of the window. On my next trip down in May 2014, I would like to meet Sam personally. He goes above and beyond every day his restaurant is open to serve the best smoked BBQ Georgia is known for, which he does. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scooter105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Found by accident”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Great pulled pork, brisket, ribs....great presentation.....killer Q....thanks for letting us bring in our Griffy pup.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Sam's BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing