We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best choice in Lavonia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of J. Peters Grill & Bar

J. Peters Grill & Bar
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Lavonia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best choice in Lavonia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Went here while camping at Tugaloo. Food was very good and service was tops. Rolls are worth the trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ps308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    43
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lavonia, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Just off interstate 75, great food and large portions. Enjoyed everything I have tried on the menu. J. Peter's chicken is my favorite. Get a banana pudding to share for dessert.

Helpful?
Thank kruser67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We went here as a group, so had a room to ourselves. The food was excellent, although a bit more pricey than we are used to. The only other place that has a house salad equal to this one is Copper River. This salad cannot be beat! Service was good also. The only reason I did not rate this highest, was the noise of the music.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 90joyful100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“food good...service lacking!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My family and I stopped there on our way to Hartwell. Granted it was a Friday night around 7:30 so it was packed. We got seated around 8:15. Our waitress took our order and from then on we rarely saw her. She didn't bring our food, nor did she check to see if we got what we ordered. We had to flag someone down just for beverage refills. Needless to day, the tip she received from our reflected the poor service. The food was good but I wouldn't go out of my way to eat there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LEGrayNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“NOISY!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our first visit to any of the J. Peters restaurants. Friends said the the food was good at the Anderson downtown location but we decided to try the one in Lavonia since it was close. We were disappointed. The salad was great but the shrimp skewers were cold and food just average. This restaurant is extremely noisy probably due to poor acoustics. It does have outdoor seating which I'm sure would make for a better dining experience, weather permitting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat_Dreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J. Peters Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to J. Peters Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing