We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and friendly B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Gables Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I spent three nights here this summer. The main reason for choosing this B & B was to be close to the area in which I was researching my family tree. Carole gave us a very warm welcome and showed us to our room which was extremely comfortable with several nice extra touches. The breakfasts were really good. Plenty of choice and friendly service by Martin. A good place, too, to meet fellow guests. In our case from Germany and Denmark. As the weather was good during our visit we walked into Wallingford for a meal. You would need a car in poor weather or if you were unable to walk far.
Overall a very well run B & B

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    13
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
63
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We arrived wet, cold and tired. We were met by a really friendly couple, our wet shoes and socks were taken away to dry and we were brought a cup of tea and a home-made short bread. The room was lovely, raelly nicely decked out, and even had some games in the drawer. Hot shower. REALLY comfy big bed. The breakfast was delicious and there was lots of choice. There is nothing I didn't love about this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The building isn't particularly pretty, the location is convenient although not very scenic BUT oh how joyous it is when a business applies great thought to what they do, fantastic. Everywhere you look around around the premises are the manifestation of lots of thinking, all the things you need where you need them in the most convenient fashion. Fabulous breakfast, friendly service. We enjoyed every moment.

If I was going to run a B&B this is the level of service I would aspire to: turning an 'ordinary' overnight stay into a really great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a great small B&B (4 rooms) that is very stylishly decorated and definitely a touch above your standard B&B for similar money. The room was very clean, beds very comfortable, and the colour co-ordination is a nice touch. The shortbread on a arrival and fresh milk in the fridge is a nice touch. The breakfast was excellent. Where it really scored highly was the friendliness of the hosts who went out of their way to do everything they could to help and to make it a good stay. Excellent stuff and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 days at Little Gables last week. The tea/coffee and cake when we arrived made us feel very much at home. It was also good to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room with lovely home made biscuits. Martin & Carol were very helpful about our walking plan and it proved a super location for walking along the Thames. We had lovely meals out in Wallingford at The Old Post Office and Avanti's Italian restuarant. We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B as the cleanliness comfort and attention to detail was really fantastic. Thank you Martin & Carol.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Tea and cake on arrival, everything you could ever need in your room , lovely comfortable bed and very attentive service. The only possible negatives I can think of are that you need to choose your hot breakfast option the night before (not too much of a big deal), and the shower and saniflow toilet in my room were really noisy (I was on my own so not a problem) but every thing else is perfect! Much nicer than corporate hotels, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginger1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Our family stayed here because we were attending a wedding in Wallingford.
We had two rooms that were conjoined by a quirky way of closing a door on the landing (very cleverly done and perfect)
The rooms were absolutely fantastic. I've seen a lot worse in top hotels. Lots of thought has been put into this place. The facilities were great and the beds were so so comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious with varied choice and the hosts were so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. As we have friends living locally we would definitely come back to Little Gables and would recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crowmarsh Gifford
1.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
4.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Coachmakers Arms
The Coachmakers Arms
#2 of 13 in Wallingford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gables Bed and Breakfast

Property: Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
Address: 166 Crowmarsh Hill, Crowmarsh Gifford, Wallingford OX10 8BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Crowmarsh Gifford
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crowmarsh Gifford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little Gables Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B in the Oxfordshire countryside. A great base for Oxford, London, Windsor, Stratford, Bath and many more. Fully equipped rooms, all recently refurbished. Free Internet and welcome drink. Great for cycling and walking along national paths and routes. Dogs (with well behaved owners) welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Little Gables Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Gables Bed And Breakfast Wallingford/Crowmarsh Gifford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing