We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 * Overall Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duke's Head Hotel Wallington
Ranked #1 of 1 Wallington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“5 * Overall Experience”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I was recommended to try this hotel by a work colleague having previously stayed at the Hilton and Hallmark in Croydon but I would rate the Dukes Head higher than both of them ! The overall experience from staff setting atmosphere food including a great breakfast and superior rooms made it an absolute bargain for the £79 incl breakfast charged.
I would 100% stay here again and recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Croydon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    62
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
33
59
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Torrox, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Staying overnight at the Dukes Head, Wallington, England.

A friendly reception, easy check in which we had booked online. The rooms are clean and well laid out with tea and coffee in the room, always welcome after a long journey

The hotel section is attached to a Youngs pub decorated and refurbed in the shabby style which is so popular, again the staff are helpful and friendly The only disappointment so far has been the restaurant, again nice staff and the menu looked interesting if a little unfocused (breads, olive oil and balsamic or garlic bread followed by English pub food masquerading as gastro ???) however the quality left a lot to be desired. Burnt lamb chops and very average mash or flavourless rump steak and chips? We both sent our plates back unfinished, what a let down

On reflection I would be happy to stay here again on my next trip to Wallington but I would eat out, overall an average score, the restaurant lets it down.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirar-Torrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Myself, my partner and several family members stayed here for one night for a party within the hotel. The room was exactly what was needed and quite spacious with everything you might need - hairdryer, iron & ironing board, tea & coffee, free toiletries. The staff on the hotel reception desk were all very helpful and friendly, unfortunately the same cannot be said for the bar staff. The cost of drinks was rather costly and seeing as you are paying slightly more for drinks here I suppose you kind of expect a pleasant service experience. My sister for example was only drinking soft drinks throughout the evening, after ordering a lemonade she was rudely asked 'is that it?' By the end of the evening when the bar had closed we were sworn at by one male member of bar staff because several people were still waiting for lifts home.
The breakfast had a great deal of choice and again we were greeted politely by the hotel staff. So all in all a lovely little hotel/hotel staff, would seem the bar service/staff let them down a little.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia_Letitia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dukes H, Manager at Duke's Head Hotel Wallington, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you had a pleasant stay at My Hotel. However I am disappointed to hear that my bar team did not live up to your reasonable expectations of service. I have spoken to the team on duty that night and delivered a refresher in customer service accordingly.

Sincerely

Richard Barrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

What can I say? The food, the staff and the atmosphere are just fantastic. Great value for money. The waiter and waitresses could not be happier or more helpful. The food was melt in your mouth. I really do recommend this pub.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontherun1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Have stayed here before a number of times although the last time was about a year ago. Stayed here last weekend and was very please with the modernisation of the Hotel and the Restaurant.

We ate Lunch and Dinner on our first day there and were extremely pleased with the food, and breakfast on both days was a class act.

All the staff both in the hotel and bar were polite and very helpful. We will stay much more often!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. Didnt eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was the nicest I've had in a long time. Everyone was very helpful and welcoming. The room was clean and very well appointed. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just a quick overnight and breakfast. But a lovely room, great breakfast, and friendly staff. Good value for money. Room service available from the restaurant on site, all cooked fresh. Great beer from Youngs, pub and restaurant attached. Food competitively priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallington
0.5 mi away
The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn London Sutton
2.4 mi away
Thatched House Hotel
Thatched House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sutton
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,129 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke's Head Hotel Wallington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke's Head Hotel Wallington

Property: Duke's Head Hotel Wallington
Address: 6 Manor Road | The Green, Wallington, Wallington SM6 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Wallington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wallington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke's Head Hotel Wallington 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Duke's Head Hotel Wallington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing