We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Lovely Village Pub In The Heart Of Test Valley Famous For Its Homemade Food Using Local Hampshire Fayre Suppliers.great Family Beer Garden Well Maintained With Mature Shrubs And Trees .the Royal Oak Has A Large Car Park Dissabled Facilities And A Menu To Suit All Tastes.cask Marque Accredited
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The food was fantastic and great value for money. A lot of menu is locally sourced, the Buffalo Burger a must - it was fantastic. The owners were friendly without being overbearing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    30
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spot on grub”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to pop out for a meal whilst the children were elsewhere.
The service was friendly and quick. I had a lovely Buffalo, bacon & pork pie which absolutely gorgeous. My wife had a chicken stack this also tasted lovely.

Helpful?
Thank ScarecrowSnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good pub-grub.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I took the grandchildren to The Royal Oak on Monday 7th (or Tuesday 8th?) April for a simple pub lunch - ham, egg and chips, and fish and chips. It wasn't gastro-pub, but good pub-grub. The staff were very friendly. We all enjoyed it, and would certainly return if we are in the area again visiting the Iron Age Museum in Andover. It is above average - good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vernon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, homemade food and dog friendly”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We ate here on a Saturday lunchtime with friends and were made to feel extremely welcome. Our dog, too, was welcomed and the owner/manager took the time to talk about dogs with us which I think was a lovely touch.

Our friends had the BBQ pull pork sandwich and my husband had the homemade burger and there wasn't a clean plate in sight, it was delicious and obviously homemade due to the quality.

They told us in plenty of time that they close at 3pm but we were chatting and didn't realise that it had gone past 3pm but we weren't rushed out at all so you cannot fault the place for its friendliness.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodworth
2 reviews
“Curry night”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, great home cooked food that came out of the kitchen hot and was a decent size portion! really great evening. Thank you

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ali O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Chilbolton, Stockbridge
 
Andover, Hampshire
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing