We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts and fantastic food”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Lovely Village Pub In The Heart Of Test Valley Famous For Its Homemade Food Using Local Hampshire Fayre Suppliers.great Family Beer Garden Well Maintained With Mature Shrubs And Trees .the Royal Oak Has A Large Car Park Dissabled Facilities And A Menu To Suit All Tastes.cask Marque Accredited
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hosts and fantastic food”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We'll, we can't recommend this pub enough! We are locals so who better to tell you how good it is. We eat here fairly often. With family and friends. Love the quiz night which is an amazing atmosphere and the hosts are extremely welcoming with brilliant banter. Kate will do her best to accommodate special requests. Love the menu lots of local suppliers of produce. Had the Christmas menus many times that can get 'tired' but all the pubs do at that time. No real criticism of that. Love it. Go there. They have a lovely garden it sit in and then go across the road to the river. Enjoy. We do!!!!!! Thanks mike and Kate. From the dawsons. Oh and we are going this eve too!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guest083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    30
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
taunton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Liked the look of the menu on the website so decided to try here. A friendly welcome, did have a wait for food, but when it came the reason for the wait was clear, beautiful freshly cooked and definitely not microwaved food. Totally worth the wait. Would recommend a visit

Helpful?
2 Thank claire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Was passing through - saw the brown sign - and thought lets give it a try.

Warm welcome, good food (bit on the expensive side but well worth it) Drinks a little pricey £6-60 for 2 St. Clements and £4.10 for a coffee and tea. This is deep Hampshire Countryside not middle of Winchester!

Would we go back - yes

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busyaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Royal Oak, Goodworth Clatford”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went here for a meal to celebrate a friend's birthday. Thankfully we had booked in advance as all the tables filled up very quickly. Our waitress was very helpful and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The food was fantastic and great value for money. A lot of menu is locally sourced, the Buffalo Burger a must - it was fantastic. The owners were friendly without being overbearing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Chilbolton, Stockbridge
 
Andover, Hampshire
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing