We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Makakatana Bay Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
259 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Gorgeous oasis”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This lodge is set in a secluded forested area. A wooden walk way leads to each private Japanese inspired suite with outside shower and a view of the wide open bush. There are game drives and excursions to their own private beach and boat trips to see the hippos. Don't expect the abundance of Kruger Park wildlife but we did see buck, a rhino, a elephant, hippos, giraffe, loads of birds and some seemingly tame warthog with babies. Service is consistent and friendly but the food was, in general, not inspired . It still is a very special spot .

Room Tip: They all seem secluded but I guess the further we you go from reception the better. We were in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    44
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
100
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aarongot
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time at Makakatana. The accommodation we had, honeymoon suite, had a virtually endless view and was situated near the infinity pool and lake affording the convenience of entertaining the kids during the day and listening to the hippos in the evening. Unlike conventional lodges where you can expect two game drives a day, Makakatana provides choice in activity from games drives to lazy days at the beach. We hit the beach twice as the kids loved the dunes and chasing the endless stream of crabs down the coastline. The staff were highly attentive and the guides friendly, upbeat and highly interactive. To be fair, I would recommend Makakatana more for couples or families with older children. Spend time with the owners if you get a chance. Very interesting and nice people with generations of lineage in the area. Thanks Makakatana!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mtubatuba, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our stay at Makakatana Lodge was delightful, and most enjoyable in this very unique and beautiful place. We enjoyed the exclusive accomodation in the beautiful and peaceful surroundings, with large trees, and lovely pool deck looking out over the lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Makakatana Bay Lodge is a very special place, we stayed for three nights and wish it could had been longer. We received a very warm welcome from the friendly and attentive staff. The accommodation is very good with wonderful outdoor showers. The meals and the service are first class and are usually served in the boma, weather permitting. We particularly enjoyed the game drives and activities with Kyle and Julian (who was on a working interview) who were very knowledgeable and entertaining. If you are in the St Lucia area you really should stay at Makakatana Bay Lodge it's wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosthom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a spectecular time in beautiful Makakatana. All was on a top level: Accomodation, food, service, game viewing etc. Especially the warm and friendly stuff was a real surprise and we enjoyed every hour of our stay in the lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Klaus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our whole experience in Makakatana was superb. From the warm friendly welcome to the exceptional game viewing done at a good pace.
The accommodation is most comfortable, the service impeccable and friendly.
It was hard to leave such à special place where you were made to feel so welcome.

Room Tip: No need all chalets seem equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Agnes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolsås, Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A superbly hidden and exclusive location with fine view from the veranda, and from the pool area. A friendly and dedicated staff. Excellent dinner served in the firelit boma. Housing of good standard. The outdoor shower really made you wake up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near iSimangaliso Wetland Park
19.3 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
66.0 mi away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
23.4 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
17.6 mi away
Nibela Lake Lodge
Nibela Lake Lodge
#13 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makakatana Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makakatana Bay Lodge

Property: Makakatana Bay Lodge
Address: Lot 3 Makakatana | Western Shores Lake St Lucia, iSimangaliso Wetland Park 3935, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Makakatana Bay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makakatana Bay Lodge is the only privately owned lodge set on the banks of Lake St Lucia, KwaZulu Natal, SA within the Isimangaliso Wetland Park world heritage site. It is 3 hours drive North of Durban & easy driving.The Lodge has 6 rooms with only 12 guests, offering guests privacy & intimacy during their stay at Makakatana. The full day boat safari is the benchmark activity offered at the lodge where guests are take on a private boat to experience the Estuary seeking out hippo, crocodile & incredible birdlife. After the boat trip guests enjoy a picnic lunch & game drive enroute home.The other activity that is a must is the Beach safari & exploration of the Eastern shores reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Makakatana Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makakatana Bay Lodge South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing