We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Makakatana Bay Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
154
51
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
51
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat tripgame drivesst luciaoutdoor showerhippos and crocsprivate beachthe reservehoneymoon suiteunique experienceworld heritage siteguide michaelmain buildingfirst stopfew weeksbig catsflora and faunaspent two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Stayed here for three nights last September with a group in two suites. The lodge is located in a secluded area of the St. Lucia Wetland Park (also called Simangaliso), within an amazing setting of free standing suites scattered through a forest at the edge of Lake St. Lucia.

The rooms, food and facilities here are just great. Waking in the mornings, we could see reedbuck and impala grazing right out the window from our bed. A short walk out to the lakeshore and you could watch flocks of birds while examining the tracks of hippo and other wildlife that pass by the lodge. Breakfast on the deck and dinner with a fire in the boma were first class events and included visits by birds, monkeys and even bush babies.

The safari guides were experienced and professional, and the lodge's exclusive access to certain areas of the park meant we were the only ones for miles around to enjoy wildlife including giraffe, wildebeast, zebra, various antelope and, of course, the hippos. The friendly service by the staff was top notch and, along with the location, really set this place apart. On the last day, the owner even sat down and shared breakfast with us, and then walked me out to the edge of the property to give me a close up look at a python he had seen going by!

A real adventure in a totally unique place. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone from couples to families.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We decided to take a two night break before the onset of Christmas mania, Makakatana Bay Lodge was the ideal choice.
Winding through the bush one almost seems comes across the lodge by accident, it is so complimentary to its surrounds it hardly causes a ripple.
Our accommodation was one of the seven bungalows nestled amongst the trees, totally private and well appointed with a large outdoor shower.
Hearty breakfasts, light lunches served on the deck and and evening meals in the dining room or the beautiful boma decorated with flowers and a roaring fire, were all well prepared and presented.
The location of this lodge offers the rare option of game and bird viewing, cruising the lake or spending the day at the beach, meticulously organised by management.The other option is to meander along the boardwalk and emerge onto a large deck overlooking the lake. Here you can take a leaf out of the hippo's book and wallow in the pool or simply relax, sip something cool and breath in the the gift of nature.
Our warm welcome and the hospitality of management, the quite but happy and helpful demeanor of the dinning and housekeeping staff, the knowledge and patience of our game ranger all combined to make this a most enjoyable stay
The makakatana bay lodge has achieved the perfect balance between catering for your every need and not disrupting the enviroment.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zululandDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

staff and service perfect, accomodation high level, food excellent

the only negative point is that the level of the Saint Lucia lake lowers month after month and we cannot have the full day boat safari of the lodge which is replaced by a 3 hours boat safari on the river from saint Lucia with another organisation .

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrySanaryProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights - we were on our own for 2 of the nights. The lodge is very nice, but its the staff that really made it special. You won't see lions or elephants here, but the safari drives are actually just as interesting because you get to learn more about the other wildlife. The rangers were really great. The food was delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

we stayed for two nights in october 2008 coming from Kruger and travelling through Swaziland south towards the Garden Route. What we really liked was the great hospitality of the place , they really make efforts of making you comfortable. Tours were very enyoable, and food is above average , but once again it is also the special attention that does the trick and makes the difference. Highly recommended for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank witenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews