We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thonga Beach Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$93
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ghost Mountain Inn(Mkuze)(Great Value!)
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$145
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp(Hluhluwe Game Reserve)
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bayete Zulu Boutique Lodge(Manyoni Private Game Reserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
294
65
24
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
65
24
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthonga beachlake sibayalocal communityocean experienceremote locationsea viewscuba divingexcellent foodindian oceanforest walkour honeymoonsouth africaturtle watchingnearby lakelocal staffcultural tourpiece of paradise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

After a few days in Cape Town, we spent four nights of our honeymoon at Thonga Beach Lodge and were treated like royalty. The staff was incredibly warm and even taught us some Zulu. We planned to SCUBA dive and while we did manage to get out on one day, storms out at sea made for unfavorable conditions. But our experience helping the leatherback turtle hatchlings make their way to the ocean by moonlight was incredibly moving and more than made up for the diving. Plus sundowners at the lake and the best biltong we had across South Africa were so enjoyable we did it twice. The room was beautiful and comfortable, as was the whole lodge. Very Africa Beach Chic! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVillageTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Thonga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear WVillageTraveller

Thank you for taking time to write your review on Thonga Beach Lodge.
We are so very thrilled that you so enjoyed your stay and also had the unique experience of watching the start of a long life at sea with the turtle hatchlings.
We hope to welcome you back to Thonga in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Yolande.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

we had an amazing experience in an amazing place.
nice staff, nice rooms, delicious food and great service.
i recommend a stay in thonga to everyone who needs a break from hectic occidental city life.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Thonga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Eric J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Thonga Beach Lodge.
It is such a pleasure to know that you had such a lovely relaxing stay and we hope to welcome you back when you next need to get away from City Life!
Kind Regards
Penny Rice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed with my wife and young son and we had a truly wonderful holiday whilst touring South Africa.

The management and staff made us feel at home and even though they had a few power outages they battled through to ensure we had a fantastic time.

Great choice for breakfast with buffets and hot choices, Lunch was again a different buffet each day and two choices at dinner. Saw lots of young turtles and my son had a great time also hanging out with "My Baby" the resident baby goose, very sweet!

If you're looking to get away from everything with an amazing beach go here you won't be disappointed and everything is insanely cheap.

Room Tip: All rooms have a small view of sea but this adds to the "remote" feeling of the place
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooldudes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Thonga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear cooldudes1

Thank you for taking the time to review Thonga Beach Lodge.
We are so thrilled that you and your family had such a lovely time in that special place.
Our chef at Thonga strives to use as much local and fresh produce as possible to produce the meals that you so enjoyed.
Kind Regards
Penny Rice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week in February 2014. We came here to scuba dive and whilst this has the potential to be excellent, with some lovely reefs and big fish/sharks, the weather had been very bad before we arrived and so the visibility was not great. Due to the National Park restrictions, the boat can only be launched and landed two hours either side of low tide. This means that it is only possible to do one dive daily, if there are any guests going on the 'Open Ocean Experience' trip which utilises the same boat!
Elsewhere, the room was huge (we had room 3) with air conditioning and the biggest comfiest bed I have ever slept in!
The Spa was brilliant and inexpensive as these things go (typical range of £15-£35) for treatments.
The restaurant was excellent with buffet and cooked to order breakfast, plentiful buffet lunch and superb dinner (choice of 2 starters, 2 mains and one sweet or ice-cream or cheese).
Laundry was back the next day and very inexpensive.
Turtle watching after dark was brilliant, immediately in front of the lodge, by safari style jeep. We didn't see any turtles nesting the evening we went, but it seemed that everyone else did when they were out! We did, however, see Loggerhead hatchlings bolting down the beach to the sea, which was fabulous!
Sundowners on lake Sibaya were lovely at the days end with us watching hippos playing just offshore with the amazing sunset behind.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I would thoroughly recommend the lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Thonga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Steven M,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review on your stay at Thonga Beach Lodge.
We are absolutely thrilled that you and your wife so enjoyed your stay and that we gave you a really good nights sleep!
We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future and that this time you will be privileged to see a Loggerhead or Leatherback Turtle laying her eggs.
Kind Regards
Penny Rice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived yesterday by plane and the transfer to the hote lasted about 20 minutes. The room is simple but clean and has aircondition. The minibar prices are exaggerated so we were very lucky to have brought our own wine and snacks. There is an activity board with free forest walks, turtle watching, visit of local communities and much more to choose from. Diving and snorkeling excursions are a bit pricy but we were lucky to swim with dolphins on our way to the snorkeling place. The food tastes great for a full board lodge though the choice is rather small like the hotel. WLAN is only working in the library and game room. However, it is a nice and charmant lodge with local character. It is perfect for people who like a quiet place and a nice beach

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anschwae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Thonga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Anschwae

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Thonga Beach Lodge.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you got to swim with dolphins. That is such a wonderful experience.
Kind Regards
Penny Rice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews