We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing barefoot beach stay”
Review of Thonga Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thonga Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing barefoot beach stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Thonga really is a 5* luxury barefoot beach escape. The food was excellent (thank you Carl) often with great seafood options, usually served outdoors on the decking and the staff were friendly, fun and efficient. We very quickly settled into the lodge's relaxed atmosphere and enjoyed 6 nights of pampering.
The beach is the quietest we have ever visited with only the sound of the pounding surf to disturb you. We walked for miles in both directions and didn't see another person. Sitting on the deck at night looking at the clear night sky, with amazing views of the milky way, was very special.
The spa was wonderful and very reasonably priced.
My husband enjoyed crystal clear diving.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    57
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
94
227
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I've been there with other 3 families and all the staff has been wonderful with all of us. The food was excellent as all the services. We did the "ocean experience" where we saw a lot of wales swimming next to our boat..so exciting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This place is real find an hour away from any Tarmac there is no chance of just finding thonga. From the beach just a few meters in front of the hotel you can hardly see the hotel is there. But the hotel is real boutique top quality hotel that lives up to the hype and added to that spectacular staff such Siphiwe the bar manager who led the looking after of guests and gave us a superb understanding of the local community in a sincere and friendly way. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The luxury beach suites were worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG_Eclipse_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We really enjoyed our staying at thonga beach lodge. Staff is really kind and friendly. A lot of activities for all the family. The spa is excellent too. The location is unique. There wasn't anything we didn't like .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Thonga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Simona B, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Thonga Beach Lodge.
We so enjoyed having you to stay and hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Kind regards
Yolande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

There was nothing that wasn't special about Thonga. The location, food, service, rooms and activities were superb and the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We also appreciated the complimentary bottle of champagne offered in celebration of our wedding anniversary. We'll return when the turtles arrive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

You couldn't ask for a more remote location. The burden of life just disappears from your shoulders the minute you enter this paradise. Two hour walks without seeing anyone else. Almost heaven! Waking up to the sight and sound of the sea. Sublime meals, the Lake Sibiya and Ocean experience were all first class. Seeing several wales, dolphins and turtles was amazing. Go if you can. It is not cheap but it is worth it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GRAHAM F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I loved that it was in the middle of nowhere with the ability to pamper. The staff was excellent, the food was delicious, the room unique with a stone tub and mosquito netting around the bed, and the overall atmosphere perfect for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near iSimangaliso Wetland Park
14.8 mi away
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Sodwana Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sodwana
179 reviews
20.9 mi away
Kosi Forest Lodge
Kosi Forest Lodge
#2 of 4 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
138 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
#1 of 4 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.0 mi away
Makakatana Bay Lodge
Makakatana Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Divers
Coral Divers
#1 of 16 in Sodwana
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kosi Bay Lodge
Kosi Bay Lodge
#5 of 6 in Kosi Bay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thonga Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thonga Beach Lodge

Property: Thonga Beach Lodge
Address: In Isimangaliso World Heritage Wetland Park | Mabibi, iSimangaliso Wetland Park 4399, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thonga Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, luxury lodge is nestled on the pristine coast of Northern KwaZulu-Natal, within the Isimangaliso World Heritage Park. Its clear, warm waters offer superb snorkeling and unspoiled off-shore scuba diving, arguably the best in South Africa. Air conditioned suites, mouth-watering cuisine, romantic candlelight dinners on the beach and relaxing Sea Spa treatments. Guided forest walks, kayaking, sundowners and seasonal turtle tracking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Thonga Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thonga Beach Hotel Mabibi
Thonga Beach Lodge South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing