We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great soft play and shop, disappointing cafe”

Farrington’s Farm- Cowtastic Farm Park
Attraction details
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great soft play and shop, disappointing cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We often visit Farringtons for the soft play area and farm shop. In our opinion the soft play area is as good as any we have been to and our daughter loves it. The farm shop sells some wonderful local produce and we cannot help but spend a small fortune whenever we visit.

Yesterday we did our usual soft play run and then decided to visit the cafe for lunch for the first time. The cafe menu unfortunately did not meet expectation.

We had hoped to find dishes made with the local produce sold in the shop but found a very limited menu of unappealing fast food options. For example, ham, egg and chips was the meat special of the day??

In summary, we love the soft play and shop and will obviously return time and time again for these but they need a serious rethink on their strategy in the cafe and menu, particularly as all the gorgeous food in the shop is visible when you browse the sandwich and baked potato selection if they are to attract us back to eat in.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tats22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy J, Owner at Farrington’s Farm- Cowtastic Farm Park, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for visiting Farrington’s recently and for taking the time and trouble to post your review.
We are sorry the food in the Café did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Just like the home-made dishes available in the Farm Shop, all the Café food is made to order and prepared daily using fresh, locally-sourced and home-grown produce wherever we can.
We take great pride in offering a wide selection of home-made daily dishes on our lunch menu such as quiches, salads, soups and jacket potatoes. Even ingredients for the simple ‘ham, egg and chips’ dish are sourced locally. All our eggs at Farrington’s come from Blackacre Farm in Somerset and the ham from Jon Thorner’s, who source all their produce from local, west-country farms.
The menu does of course change daily so we hope next time you visit, there will be something to your liking and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    40
    25
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will be back to review fully”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Unfortuntely, it was tipping down today during our visit to Farringtons. We parked directly outside of the playbarn and ran in. Took a while for the young girls at the front desk to break away from their conversation and serve, and 2 adults (yep, adults pay for entry to the play barn) and 2 children was £10.90. Dissappointed that the cost didnt include anything.

We sat in the party area as there was no free tables, which was understandable as its school holidays and raining.

Ordered food (2 teas, 2 squash, 2 adult sandwiches and 2 nuggets & chips, was approx £26) which arrived promptly. The childrens meal were wrong but were taken away and bought back quickly and correct. The homemade coleslaw was fab. The cup of tea was more like a cup of warm milk. Maybe tea should be served in a pot or the teabag left in the cup.

I feel there could be quite a few improvements made to the playbarn. The floor was covered in food and tables were piled with dirty plates, cutlery and chew up food. I know it was lunch time and busy but there was nobody clearing/cleaning down.

There was also a distinct lack of supervision. I know there was signs/disclaimers everywhere stating the adults were responsible for their own children but i think staff were needed.

I paid for my children to use the electric tractors and other children were running around the room so my children couldnt drive around, and some boys were riding/jumping on the moving tractors. Then i paid for my children to use the small amusement rides and other children were hanging off the sides.

Lastly, i took my children to the toilet and there were other children flooding the sinks. I reported this and saw one staff member go and check in the time it took us to pack up and leave.

I do plan to go back though. I feel the sloppyness was due to it being a busy time of year. And i cant wait to check out the shops and other attrations at Farringtons.

Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaylovinMumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy J, Owner at Farrington’s Farm- Cowtastic Farm Park, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for visiting Farrington’s recently and for taking the time to provide feedback from your visit.
As you pointed out, the Playbarn has proved an incredibly popular destination for lots of families this summer and it’s been lovely to see so many new customers enjoying themselves. We ensure that all our facilities are fully staffed but sometimes on very busy days such as bank holidays it can be exceptionally busy.
You may be interested to hear that we carry out monthly ‘Mystery Shopper’ programmes, to monitor areas such as cleanliness, the quality of food, and the overall ‘customer experience’. Both the Farm Park and Playbarn have scored consistently high in recent surveys, however I have passed your feedback to our Playbarn Manager so please be assured your comments will be taken on board.
On the subject of the entrance prices, we do feel that 50p is a fair price to change adults as they can then choose to enjoy the equipment with their children and some indeed do! It is possible that this was not made clear to you at your arrival on the day so we apologise if that was the case.

I am glad you enjoyed the coleslaw and you will be pleased to here that this along with hundreds of delicious home-made products are available to buy in the farm shop.

We hope that you will return to Farrington’s again soon to experience all the other attractions we have to offer. Do take time to have a look at the shopping village too!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rainy Day Out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Rainy days are always difficult and particularly on the bank holiday. The food in the cafe was good and service was smiley and efficient. The soft play however was rammed, on a quieter day it might be a better experience, as the playbarn is clean and in a good state of repair but it was so crowded it lacked something.

Helpful?
Thank ali l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy J, Owner at Farrington’s Farm- Cowtastic Farm Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks for visiting Farrington's recently and we're glad you enjoyed your day out. We've worked hard to ensure that Farrington's has plenty to offer for all the family, but this does mean that it is recognised as a 'rainy-day' destination and on this occasion, you caught the Playbarn on a particularly busy day. We hope you return again soon to experience all the other exciting things on offer!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braccomalou
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but unsafe indoor playbarn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had a trip to the farm park yesterday. Lunch was lovely and very generous. We then went to play at the play barn. It was staffed by students who weren't bothered about security. My husband tried repeatedly and failed to get their attention to be let in. They had their backs turned to the desk and didn't bother to turn around. My husband finally just tagged onto a group of mums going in and was not asked any questions. If you do go you'll need to keep a very close eye on your kids as anyone seems to drift in and out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Braccohoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy J, Owner at Farrington’s Farm- Cowtastic Farm Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for visiting Farrington’s recently and for taking the time and trouble to raise your concerns. Please be assured that all our staff are trained to the highest standards in health & safety and customer service.

The Playbarn and Farm Park are audited regularly by a recognised play inspectorate to review health & safety measures. We also carry out monthly ‘Mystery Shopper’ programmes, for which the Farm Park and Playbarn have scored consistently high.

On this occasion however, it appears as though we may have slipped below our usual standards of excellence for which we are very sorry. On a final point, had you raised these issues on the day, we would have been happy to do something about it. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope that you will return to Farrington’s again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We popped in here for a breakfast and were not disappointed, very clean and well run - great choice of menu and good quality food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farrington’s Farm- Cowtastic Farm Park also viewed

Farrington Gurney, Somerset
 
High Littleton, Somerset
Hewish, Weston-super-Mare
 

Been to Farrington’s Farm- Cowtastic Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing