We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed by the Sunday Carvery Vegetarian option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farrington Park

Farrington Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Farrington Park is open to non-members and welcomes visitors to enjoy all our facilities. We are situated 10 miles from Bath and Bristol, just off the A37. We have everything from 27 holes of Championship golf, private conference room with panoramic views, to fully equipped Health and Fitness Suite, Spa beauty treatments and on site hair salon. Our recently refurbished, modern restaurant and bar area with stunning views over the golf course and surrounding countryside is the perfect setting for any occasion. Enjoy a drink with friends on our terrace, a romantic meal for two in our Oaks restaurant, our outstanding Sunday Carvery for all the family and every kind of celebration including your picture perfect wedding day.We are experienced at delivering weddings to a very high standard, and can provide rooms licensed for civil ceremonies, wedding breakfast and evening celebrations. All of our weddings are tailored to suite your personal needs making it truly individual.
BATH
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very impressed by the Sunday Carvery Vegetarian option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

As vegetarians finding a Sunday Carvey can be a bit tricky...but they are out there and some stand out from all the others, some for all the right reasons and the Oaks was one of them...Sunday lunch was required and although we had not booked but arriving at just before 3oclock we were quickly shown a table in a restaurant that was still quite full and seemed to have a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere, the staff very polite and surroundings very nice. There were a number of vegetarian options on the menu but we all chose the carvery and it was absolutely delicious. The vegetables at the carvery were lovely, not over cooked, and very presentable, nothing like a canteen experiance we have had in other places, the roast potatoes and yorkshire puddings were both veggie freiendly and we were given our own vegetarian gravy. The desserts where again well presented and delicious. We will definitely go back and hopefully have the same great experiance ...a lovely Sunday lunch at a great price ..thank you

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BIGFATBLACKCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheddad
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice meal out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I went to Farrington park with some friends on the 27th September after hearing the food was great and it was a lovely place to go... We were not disappointed! The food was exceptional; we had 2 steak and chips which were perfectly cooked and a risotto which was full of flavour. the staff were friendly and the views were gorgeous. This is the place to go if your looking for a nice meal out. Will be returning soon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oaks (not so restaurant)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The word restaurant is deceiving for this place. After booking a table for a Saturday night meal, we arrived to an almost empty restaurant at 7.30pm. At the bar we were presented with a small card menu offering minimal choices of pub food at way over-board prices and advised we could sit where we wanted! Thoroughly disappointed at discovering it not to be the kind of restaurant we were expecting and that it was too late to find somewhere else to eat, we ordered a main of steak and hand cut chips (which when it came was minute and certainly not value for money) and the pea/bean and mint risotto (which was an overcooked, tasteless bowl of sludge). Sweets failed to impress with a strawberry parfait which was rock hard and very bland. A creme brulee (bizarrely served on the same ugly wooden chopping board the steak had arrived on). This had no hard sugary layer and was served with a rock solid inedible piece of brown cake?? Sadly the food lets this place down big time and we can only assume the award winning chefs advertised had the night off. The restaurant was decorated lovely, the waiting staff were efficient and well trained but we won't be returning and regret going.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Trucklegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarringtonPark, General Manager at Farrington Park, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We are very sorry to read your disappointing review of Farrington Park and our Oaks Restaurant. We would like to discuss the matter with you further and wondered if you could give us an email address we can contact you on?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Well,I did think about keeping this one quiet , but credit where it's due.We had the most delicious sunday lunch recently,with some of the best vegetables, cooked to perfection to accompany the beautifully cooked pork.I would love the recipe for those scrummy carrots!The staff were exceptionally good and served us politely and cheerfully.Beautiful views of the golf course while you tuck into some of the nicest food I have had for some time.I would have been very proud if I had served up that lunch!Sorry we didn't play golf.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nannytobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Played there as a Golf Society”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We played here as a Golf Society in April of 2013 with 20 players. The building is modern and clean with plenty of space for large groups. We had open sandwiches and chips for lunch followed by an evening meal of chicken and vegetables. We ended up with a seperate cheeseboard each with enough different cheeses, chutney, grapes, butter and crackers to finish off a good meal. It has a good selection of real ales and lagers. There was a wedding party on at the same time as us however the venue is big enough that unless you looked hard you would not have noticed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank russ999rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farrington Park also viewed

Farrington Gurney, Somerset
 

Been to Farrington Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing