We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its like going to KFC Good but it aint like mama made it”
Review of Shane's Rib Shack

Shane's Rib Shack
Ranked #19 of 52 Restaurants in Locust Grove
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Griffin, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Its like going to KFC Good but it aint like mama made it”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a commercial barbecue, and thats what you get. Its not like Harlolds BBQ where everything is made from scratch, but it will get you some barbecue sauce and a sandwich, and curve the appetite I guess. dont go out of your way for this, but if your hungry for a meal, its a change from some of the meals in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Danielle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Hope u don't think this is bar b q”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Fast food bar b q. Not good it's just franchise junk. Over priced. Please don't come to the south and go back home telling people you had southern bar b q.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not as good as their advertising & marketing is. )-:”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I had seen the Shane's rib shack van with the "wrap" graphics , and heard and seen their advertisements and commercials and it looked to be a good place to eat. I happened to be by one the other day and thought the BBQ sounded good so I went in. They have some awfully cute waitresses in shorts, so that's a plus - but about the only one. The sweet tea was good and the bar b que sandwich was okay ( at best ). The stew was not good to me. In fairness, there are several ways to make brundswick stew and only one style that I like. This here was not it. Too ketchupy and way to sweet. Anyways, i dont recommend this place at all if you really like BBQ and are looking for "real" bbq.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst-King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locust Grove, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dirty Shack”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Had lunch at Shane's yesterday. Was highly disappointed place was very dirty there wasn't a table we looked at that did not have food spills on them we checked 5 booths we had to wipe down the table sat at. I would have given them a break but there were at least 4 people on duty or I saw 4 people behind the counter and only 5 customers including my party of 3 the food was expensive and not as tasty as had been in the past will not be going back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good GA BBQ!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Try the BBQ sandwich with slaw. it is awesome. Oh and those sweet potato fries. UM GOOD. Nice family place to go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shane's Rib Shack also viewed

 

Been to Shane's Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing