We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Road Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Road Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Riverton B&B and Inns
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
524 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We took a motel room here for five nights to be near family who live in the area. At $100 a night for a double room, one wouldn't expect the Ritz, and staying here was a mixed experience. Let's begin with the positives! The room is very large and well proportioned. It contains a comfortable Queen bed and a single bed, bedside tables, dining table and chairs, small desk, and wardrobe (with useful, ordinary hangers!). There is a small modern fridge, kettle and toaster, and a large flat screen TV. Ample supplies of tea and coffee provisions. The ensuite is bright with a big mirror, smart tiled floor, modern vanity and toilet, and a bracing hot shower. The main room has a pleasant outlook onto a grassed area with a cedar tree. The room is very quiet and has an effective and silent air conditioning unit. The unit is serviced each day with clean towels and supplies. The hotel is right next door to the excellent Riverton Stocklands shopping centre. There is a swimming pool and bar facilities, but we didn't avail ourselves of these. Unfortunately there are also many negatives. There is no phone, no clock, just one bedside light, only one extra pillow (off the single bed) until we ask for another, no milk for the coffee (until we ask), no tea towel, and no TV remote (until we ask)! The modern vanity is stained - although an application of soap and thumbnail shows that this could be easily corrected. The impression of a smart en suite is destroyed by the state of the shower cubicle: the original yellowish tiles have been painted over, and now the top coat is peeling off. On arrival the approach to the unit was through masses of fallen leaves, scrap paper, and discarded drink cans.

Apart from the shower unit, which really needs retiling, one feels that some small expenditure together with more effort in presentation could have made this a much more pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We are a family of four and stayed for one night only. The room layout is good. It has a separate room for kids (room number 1). In summary the stay was what we expected for the price. Perth is pretty expensive as accom goes so this is a good option.

While it is a pub with accom, in a shopping centre, right next to Mac Donald's, and under the flight path, the room was quiet enough.

I must warn though, don't expect much more out of your stay. The facilities are clean but basic.
- towels are frayed
- doors are noisy
- shower changes temp when some one uses the water...even if a neighbour does.
- windows don't open
- bin trucks came at 5am ish
- no tea towel
- no microwave
- only 2 glasses and 2 cups (missing tea spoon) even though it is a family room
- toaster but no plates or knives
- wobbly table
- slow check in (thanks to a previous reviewer we knew to go to the bar)

Don't know why it is titled a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinkeAndSelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

If you want to park your car near your room, you will have to wait for the bar and hotel staff to finish their shift as they park in the guests areas. (Usually they leave after 9.30pm, until they finish work you have to park in the adjoining supermarket carpark) The soap is left unwrapped in the shower So you are never sure if it has been used beforehand:( If you book the family room, be sure to pack a extra towel or two as they usually only supply 2 towels! (even though you can book the room for 4).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tidak98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Overpriced Perth is a hotel / motel nightmare. If you have car - it's not uncommon to be charged $12-$25 just to park it over night in downtown Perth. Not do here though. For $100 per night and not that far out if you have a car - this is a pretty good location for a bed (or 3) and free parking! A gas station and fast-food outlets nearby for that quick in-expensive bite to eat. Very clean and tidy inside and quite as at back of pub. Can get pub meals there but I ate in town with my customers. Comfy bed and good Telstra 3G coverage. Central to major highways if you need to get anywhere (just 15 mins jumping on the highway from Riverton to go up the spine of Perth to Kingsley in the northern suburbs). Has separate room with 2 other beds if needed. Free ample and easy parking right out front your motel door. Beats paying $250-$400 in downtown Perth anytime if you ask me! Can often get a place here when everything else is booked out in Perth (like was my situation) because it's not well known (not yet anyway LOL).

Only drawback really is that you have to be around to pick up the keys and check-in between 2pm and 6pm officially (something to do with bar staff being around to check you in). Just go up to the bar in the pub to check in.

Room Tip: Get there between 2pm and 6pm on the day of check-in. Not sure why exactly but might have something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank EvilDaifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverton
4.5 mi away
Metro Hotel Perth
Metro Hotel Perth
#1 of 3 in South Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bentley Motel
Bentley Motel
#1 of 1 in Bentley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doyles of Perth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Road Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Road Hotel

Property: High Road Hotel
Address: 361 High Road, Riverton, Canning, Western Australia 6148, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Canning > Riverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Riverton
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing