We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best In Southern Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Madison Oaks Inn & Gardens
Ranked #6 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best In Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Having the distinct honor of being born and raised in Georgia, I was completely at home at Madison Oaks. My husband and I live in Arizona now, so this was a true homecoming for me. We both felt as though we were whisked away to a beautiful place in time where life is more laid back and relaxed. Cheryl is an exquisite cook and her hospitality made our 5 day stay the best vacation we've ever had. My husband's sister was married there on Friday and Madison Oaks was the perfect setting. We chose the Thomas Room, stunningly decorated with all the frills of century furniture and décor. It was like being at my grandmother's home, especially with the blue willow dining at breakfast. The comfort of the bed was that of a 5 star hotel. With Cheryl being our hostess we will definitely be returning. We've made a new friend, as she has now become part of our extended family. That also includes Sophie and Fiona! :)
Thank you again Cheryl for our fabulous time. We cannot wait to we have an opportunity to return.

Room Tip: The Thomas Room is exquisite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaC0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weluvgod, Manager at Madison Oaks Inn & Gardens, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
It was so nice having a fellow "Southern Belle" and her handsome "Beau" as guests. You came as strangers and left as cherished friends. Thank you so much for staying with us; I can't wait for your next visit!
Hugs from Cheryl,
Purrs from Fiona, and
Wet kisses from Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
73
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

A very close friend of mine and I stayed here mid week and had the loveliest time. We stayed in the Sisters Room with two iron twin beds and the room was large, comfy, well appointed and great views of the side yard and front with those old great windows. Awesome large bathroom with the old clawfoot tub in red. Coffee service was prompt both mornings in the upstairs foyer and the BEST coffee! Small sweets were served with the full service coffee, all on silver service with toile china. This an hour before probably one of the , if not the, BEST full breakfast one can receive. Cheryl, the innkeeper, is quite the cook. Delicious and filling each morning. Started off with a berry soup much like a smoothie and then cheese grits, egg wrapped in bacon w/capers, and asparagus served in the outdoor screened in setting just off of the dining room. Magnificent! You can probably skip lunch! I'll post a few photos!
The grounds are magnificent and the pool perfect and to your own. Nice and secluded and well kept. Every where you walk, you take in the lovely surroundings whether greenery, large magnolia trees, flowers, cobblestone walkways, arbors, etc....a great getaway to relax and enjoy your day and company. Day 2 is the same...wonderful coffee (really the best I've had!) and I need to find out what brand! Breakfast consisted of a large yogurt parfait to start and then a wonderful egg soufflé served in the cutest chicken crock with chicken apple sausage and sweet potatoes on the side. Again, you can skip lunch practically!
Madison Oaks Inn is so close to historic downtown Madison with so many areas of interest. We went horseback riding nearby at Southern Cross Ranch which was great fun. Ate in town one evening at Town 220 which rivals any great restaurant in Atlanta. We didn't get to shop much but noticed there are plenty of antique stores and cute shops for the next time we visit. Which will be this fall hopefully and again next spring! We LOVE MADISON OAKS INN! Thank you Cheryl for your wonderful hospitality. :)

Green Features: As I understand, Madison Oaks follows silver green practices
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weluvgod, Manager at Madison Oaks Inn & Gardens, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad you and your friend enjoyed your time at Madison Oaks The photos you posted are awesome! Come back soon, and I promise to keep that coffee coming! ;) - Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

It's taken me a few days to write my review because I wanted to spend enough time providing my thoughts. My husband and I stayed at the Inn over Memorial Day weekend and to celebrate his birthday, and the weekend couldn't have been more perfect!

The house and grounds are exquisite,and even more beautiful in person than even pictures show. As I walked around the property and throughout the home, I could see myself living there ( in fantasyland!). Although grand, it was warm and comfortable and beautifully furnished. I've stayed at historic B&B's over the years, and sometimes they can be too frilly, overdone and old fashioned to the point of being stale. But Madison Inn was tastefully furnished, with all the right details one would expect in such a lovely, classic home.

The best part was our charming innkeeper, Cheryl. She was born to be a hostess, as she welcomed us with warmth and care and thoughtfulness. Not to mention being a fantastic cook, Cheryl also has a delightful personality whom we enjoyed chatting with after breakfast.

Finally, the proximity to the charming village of Madison itself was also perfect. Only a half mile from town, we enjoyed the 10 minute walk both mornings and felt we were so lucky to have chosen the most perfect place, in the most perfect location on our very first visit to Madison.

I have already recommended both Madison and Madison Inn and Gardens to several co workers as a great getaway weekend from Atlanta. Not only is it romantic, but I think it would also serve as a great "girls weekend" destination. I want to return and stay in each of the four guest suites!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pkatzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weluvgod, Manager at Madison Oaks Inn & Gardens, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Have you ever considered becoming a travel writer? What a review! Thank you so much for the thoughtfully written description of your experience at Madison Oaks. It was wonderful having you guys as guests, and I look forward to your next visit! - Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I felt so welcomed by Cheryl, H.D. and of course Sofie. Cheryl is masterful in the kitchen, yet is humble and gracious about the delicious food she serves. And the coffee and fresh cookies and creampuffs at 8am were a perfect jumpstart to the day. The inn and gardens are lovely. We spent an afternoon relaxing by the pool wishing we could stay longer than our two nights. Thanks to Cheryl, our first nights in Georgia were perfect. We will return and stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMJWEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weluvgod, Manager at Madison Oaks Inn & Gardens, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. H.D., Sophie, and I enjoyed having you as guests and felt your stay was too short as well! You guys definitely added a cool California vibe to this old Georgia place! ;) We hope to see you again very, very soon! - XOXO - Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We were in Madison for the Spring Tour of homes & got to stay in one of the most beautiful
properties in Madison. Cheryl the Inn Keeper made us feel right at home. The coffee & snack before breakfast was wonderful & breakfast was GREAT. The house & grounds are beautiful.
We wil be back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are VERY nice, depends on your group as to which would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Della_Ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weluvgod, Manager at Madison Oaks Inn & Gardens, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us during the Spring Tour of Homes. It was fun having you, your sister and mom here for the weekend! Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waycross, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We were delighted with our stay at Madison Oaks. This gorgeous inn is in such a quiet, picturesque setting that you really must see it to believe it! All of the rooms are exquisitely decorated and very comfortable. Cheryl is the most warm and gracious host and made us feel right at home. The breakfast was superb....just can't say enough about this one-of-a-kind experience!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky and Wyatt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weluvgod, Manager at Madison Oaks Inn & Gardens, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
It was such a pleasure having you as guests! Please return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

The superlatives in previous reviews underscore our one night visit with Cheryl Cannington at the Madison Oaks Inn and Garden. We arrived early evening on a cold March day and were warmly greeted by Cheryl who directed us to our spacious upstairs bedroom, which was meticulously appointed including Easter rabbit statuettes and baskets to mark the season. Outside our room was a sitting area where Cheryl had prepared some hot cocoa and tasty treats for us to enjoy before bed. We slept well in our king bed and woke to another surprise in the sitting area: hot coffee and beignets to start our day. As if the coffee and pastries were not enough, when we made our way downstairs, the dining table was set for a breakfast fit for royalty: chilled strawberry soup, topped with fresh yogurt which was followed with delicate egg puffs, fresh asparagus spears, more pastries and coffee and some down home conversation with Cheryl about the history of the house and of Madison. If a traveler is looking for the extraordinary in a bed and breakfast experience, the Madison Oaks Inn and Garden is a can't miss opportunity. Wish we could have stayed longer...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillS32926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weluvgod, Manager at Madison Oaks Inn & Gardens, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed (and positive) review! It was wonderful having your sweet family at the inn, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#4 of 6 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Madison
Days Inn Madison
#3 of 6 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn Madison
Quality Inn Madison
#5 of 6 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Oconee
18.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Oaks Inn & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Oaks Inn & Gardens

Property: Madison Oaks Inn & Gardens
Address: 766 East Ave, Madison, GA 30650-1445
Region: United States > Georgia > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison Oaks Inn & Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison Oaks Inn & Gardens is a beautifully restored 1905 Greek Revival mansion, located 1/2 mile from the historic town square of Madison, Georgia, 30 miles from Athens, and 50 miles from Atlanta. While exploring the town famous for escaping destruction during Sherman's march to the sea, stay in accommodations befitting the rich history, architecture, gardens, and antiques of Madison. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing