We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
260
36
13
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
260
36
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquichetown restaurantget awaywalking distancehistoric buildinggas fireplacewonderful placehigh ceilingsboutique hotelrooms are spacioussmall towncontinental breakfastwonderful stayfresh fruitking bedbalconyrobes
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was our first visit but definitely not our last! Unfortunately it was a very brief one night stay but we enjoyed every minute. Our room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable and spacious. We loved having the chairs by the fireplace. Linens, towels and toiletries were top quality. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel, room, & staff were very nice. The breakfast was what you would get at a budget hotel. Very disappointing! Although I had made our reservation several months in advance for the Holiday Tour of Homes, the staff said they had no record of our reservation. Fortunately they had rooms available.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susiefritts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The James Madison Inn was great for a short mini-vacation, even if you live in the area, and we only live an hour away. We went to see the Holiday tour of homes. It is right in the center of town, with great antique shops and restaurants close by. A very large breakfast is included. The rooms were very comfortable with a sitting area and a balcony. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It was like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneandJoetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious with modern amenities - but don't come here expecting to watch <enter desired sporting event> comfortably since their flat screen TVs are the size of a shoe box. This is the place to be for either a romantic getaway or just to getaway from the daily grind.

Would have gotten a perfect score if this self-proclaimed B&B actually serve a decent breakfast. Don't get me wrong, it was edible but the spread was mediocre at best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Room was beautiful. High ceilings, crown moulding, gas fireplace, lovely sitting area, and very nice bathroom with what would have been a spectacular shower/tub combo had the jets worked. High quality linens, shampoo, etc. Incongruously, the tv was extremely small, the water bottles were tiny, and the breakfast was mediocre (I'm guessing food was from Sysco).

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TByrd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews