We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has gone downhill and food is now awful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chepe's Mexican Grill - CLOSED

Chepe's Mexican Grill
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Always Friendly, Always Fresh!! Chepe's Mexican Grill is the new standard for casual, full-service Mexican food in a family-festive atmosphere.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Has gone downhill and food is now awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

When they first opened we loved to go here as it is right down the street from us. We especially loved the chepes sauce. They were always crowded and the wait staff was always friendly. Then things changed. The recipe for the Chepe's sauce changed and now it tastes to tomatoey. There is never a wait and the food is horrible. The corners that were cut by the management were ones that lost them customers. I am one of those now.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
124 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Average mex”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

This is a chain, and very obvious. If you can't find another mex restaurant out of the 20 within a five mile radius of here, then your stuck and hope its at lunch time. I did find the sauces and chips good, the rest of the meal just average

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bizatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“generic blah”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

went a lot when it first opened since it was new and bright and vibrant. food was always just OK but now it seems just slopped together and very blah. ordered the seafood burrito last time and besides swimming in a pool of grease, the filling had no chunks of shrimp or anything. the filling was almost paste-like. had been going downhill and now I declare it GONE downhill.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pressthe6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Food sometimes sketchy but good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

I eat here often because its really the only place like it close to my house. It has a good atmosphere, nice outside seating area, and generally good service. It is also a great value especially during lunch, daily specials, or with their many published coupons. The only real problem is that he food can be sketchy depending on who is cooking that day. I gave it a 3 because it has been excellent to not so good.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kjjesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, but not my favorite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Nice spot, has an outdoor section and it is the only place like this in the area. if they step up their game with the menu they could really do well.
The good - I like the fajita steak and the tacos. They have a decent salsa but not at all spicy.
The not so good - I tried chicken, shrimp tacos, enchiladas, chimis and once was enough.

Did i mention the steak was good?

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank XSmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chepe's Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing