We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THE STRAND!”

Earl Smith Strand Theatre
Ranked #8 of 46 things to do in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“LOVE THE STRAND!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Strand is a beautiful theater right on the Marietta Square. Grab dinner at one of the outstanding restaurants and then catch a show at the Strand. The rooftop bar is a beautiful place to grab a glass of wine and enjoy the view of Marietta! The Strand has gone through so many changes thru the years... but it is at it's best now! Renovated but true to period charm! Such a gem to Marietta!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC AND FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We love Town Square anyway, but having this landmark theater on the Green, is a super treat! A truly beautiful, artsy, clean and a rare fancy jewel in the heart of Town Square. We saw Foot Loose and it was crazy good. Top notch production! Sat in the back, but good seats. Cannot wait to go again! High Quality top to bottom.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nycsheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Preservation of a Marietta Landmark”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I'm giving away my age if I say that I attended movies at the Strand as a child. It was, for many years, the only movie theater in Cobb County. Now I enjoy the beautiful restoration and have attended several special events on the top level that includes the outdoor patio. I would host an event here in a heartbeat!

While I still experience a feeling of nostalgia when I walk through the Strand's doors, I am also impressed by the up-to-date shows and programs that are put on here! Classic character and 21st century entertainment is hard to beat!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zinfandelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
780 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Excellent restoration”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

On the square and restored. Excellent value with a variety of programs. Convenient near parking. Many adjacent restaurants and wonderful park across street. Helpful staff

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for an event”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We held our 2013 leadership academy graduation here with lunch catered. Perfect area for gathering and eating, the theatre had been remodeled awhile back and it is a very nostalgic place. Plenty of theatre style seating. Having been here for a play or two in the past, the acoustics are very good. Within walking distance to restaurants & quaint shopping on the square.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Earl Smith Strand Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Earl Smith Strand Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing