We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Vatica Indian Vegetarian Cuisine
Ranked #184 of 724 Restaurants in Marietta
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The restaurant is located in a small strip mall. Tis one is the worst food cooked by Gujaratis. It is a shame almst unformly they have received 4 or 5 stars. May be they all have not eaten real food made by Gujaratis.
The food was tasteless, had almost no spice to spak of, the restaurant itself had no decor, the toilet was stinky and overall a bad experoience. Do not waste your time and money here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cudahy WI
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find for an Out-of-Towner”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Vatica restaurant was a delightful surprise and it almost makes me wish we lived here.

We were greeted by the owner who has an outrageous sense of humor, but her certainly put us, and everyone else who walked in while we were there at ease.

As mentioned in other reviews there is no menu. They serve what they have cooked that day and after eating what arrives on your first plate they were around to see if we wanted more of anything or everything. There's no need to walk away hungry, and we did not.

The food was the best Indian either of us has ever had, and if we lived in the area we'd be regulars.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fun adventure with Indian cuisine”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Many years ago, after having lunch at a now defunct Cuban restaurant in Marietta, I stuck my head in to the place next door – Vatica - to pick up a menu, and learned that they don’t have one. The restaurant only serves thalis - all you can eat - platters of rice and bread, and wonderful dishes to dip them into. The offerings simply depend on whatever the cook decided to make that day. Intruiging concept! I pretty much forgot about it after that, but today had the opportunity to go with three friends from work, two of whom are native Indians.

There are only booths in the restaurant, but they have tall backs, so the noise levels stays low. The owner came over with silverware and water and joked, “so, what will you have? The same as last time?”. A few minutes after that we were each presented with a large round silver platter containing smaller silver bowls, or pots, each containing something different. In the middle was a fried vegetable fritter of some sort, resting on a pool of hot, thin yellowish liquid. Don’t know what it was, but it was good. There was a piece of pappadum (the thin crispy cracker) and a piece of the delicious whole wheat bread. The menu does change, but every thali will have rice, a soup, and the bread, a raita, and the rest of the options will change. Today we had a potato curry which was very mild, a delicious red bean mixture, excellent saag paneer (the homemade cheese cubes with sauteed spinach), and a small dish of sweet fruit with red grape slices. The soup was lentil and was fantastic. Everything was piping hot, temperature wise, but quite mild on the spicy scale compared to other Indian dishes I’ve had. The cuisine here is Gujarati – I wasn’t familiar with it, but thoroughly enjoyed everything. After a while, the waiter came around pushing a cart and offered seconds on everything. I had another piece of bread, and some more soup, and my dining companions had seconds of their favorites. My friends who are from India both said that this was just like home cooking, not typical restaurant fare.

Lunch was just under $10, and was very filling. I could easily have eaten more, but wanted to be able to walk when I left the restaurant. As others have said, the owner has a delightful sense of humor, and it was clear that some of the patrons who came in while we were there are regulars. Our group certainly agreed that we will go back – and soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catwoman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely Food”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great vegetarian Food.It is very good and fulfilling.But you dont know the menu before hand. As i live near by i used to call up and ask about the menu.If you need re-fills you need to ask them but over all very good place to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sundar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“That little man cracks us up!”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Little man working there definitely WORKS IT! The food is absolutely delicious, all vegetarian, as much as you can eat and the place stays busy even if not filled up. The guy will crack you up. He's filled with delightful personality which makes you not notice the simple (plain) decor. An excellent place for great food!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank intlgranolagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vatica Indian Vegetarian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Vatica Indian Vegetarian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing