We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so Mexican”

Tijuana Joe's Mexican Cantina
Ranked #231 of 713 Restaurants in Marietta
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“So-so Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is an okay place to go. Surprisingly the food was underseasoned. Bland guacamole dip (needed salt) and fish tacos that were only fair and a bit overpriced compared to other things on the menu. When I saw my friend sneak a few shakes of salt on her chicken soup we both laughed. Who puts extra salt on already salty Mexican food?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan_S_Dunwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy margaritas great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Had a frozen mango margarita which was fantastic. Had the shrimp, chicken, steak fajitas for 2 which really could feed 3 to 4 people. Great attentive service and food. Only complaint is its very loud. Weather permitting I would eat outside next time

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moejoe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch items.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

The lunch nachos with shrimp, chicken and steak are excellent. I highly recomend the chicken soup, especially if you have a cold!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jc111atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap and kid-friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

While I won't say that Tijuana Joes is a great Mexican restaurant, it is cheap Mexican food and very kid friendly. They have plenty of seating, so the wait is never terribly long, and they have a nice patio if you want to sit outside. Another nice thing is the Mariachi Band that walks around among the tables and plays fun music while you eat. The kids love this, and they even know a few cartoon jingles. The inside has plenty of TVs on the walls and they are usually playing at least one set showing cartoons. So, the kids are happy and the margaritas are excellent. The foods not great, but the atmosphere is fun.

Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not my first choice.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

I go to visit my Dad at least once every year. I live in FL, he lives in GA. This last time I went, he suggested we go to Tijuana Joes because it was $1.50 taco night. I was hesitant...Last time I had gone to this place I did not like the food. But since I could not remember why, I decided it was worth another shot. We ordered the queso (which is the white cheese dip, down here in FL, I have YET to find that kind of queso served in any places...) and our tacos. I am glad I only ordered one hard taco. The meat was not very tasty. I cant even describe what it tasted like. Maybe cardboard? And this is a lot coming from me, because I usually like it to be pretty bland. But this was just...not good. My sister ordered two tacos and ended up not even finishing hers because she thought it was not good either. The server wasnt too shabby. He seemed to be on top of things with refilling drinks and being quick about things. If I go again, I will probably ONLY order the queso..this just is not my kind of place. :/

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krigsby09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tijuana Joe's Mexican Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Tijuana Joe's Mexican Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing