We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Dining Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thaicoon and Sushi Bar

Thaicoon and Sushi Bar
Ranked #14 of 710 Restaurants in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

While the fake plants can make the place look a bit dated, the service and food are amazing. Whether ordering the sushi boat or their curry dishes, you will have a delicious meal and a fun time. My favorite dish is the Imaginary Sushi roll.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaNotestine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    47
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
266 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I went with three others and they ordered the clay pot seafood. They really enjoyed their meal. They said the sushi was very good there when they had it at another visit I ordered duck. I don't like spicy and asked for it not to be spicy. I was impressed it wasn't spicy at all. It was very good, but way "too" sweet. I don't think I have ever had duck at a Thai restaurant and had it sweet before. The service was excellent. Our waiter did an excellent job serving us and being sure everything was good. I would give them a 41/2 star if that was available. Nice location too. Would be a great place to wander around after the meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“May Have Ordered The Wrong Thing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Heard good things about this place and it was packed when we got there. We had reservations and were seated immediately. The place has nice decor and the staff was very friendly.

We ordered appetizers, soup, and an entree but didn't order sushi. As we were waiting we noticed most everyone else got sushi. Based on our entrees, in hindsight we should have too. Two of us had the gripper; it was over done and tough. One had basil chicken...also over done. And the fourth had another chicken dish that was is a thick broth; she said it was pretty good but not great. Our waiter noticed that one in the group wasn't eating the dish and asked about it. When he was told it was overlooked he brought another but it too was over done and the chicken was a little tough.

The service was excellent so we will give it another try...but we will order sushi!

Helpful?
Thank SteelRibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I'm happy to say that finally Marietta Square is becoming home to a number of very good restaurants, however, Thaicoon and Sushi Bar is the best there is. My family has been coming here for years and we are never disappointed.

Not only is the food awesome, but the decor is very nice and the staff provides excellent service. Additionally, I feel that the prices are totally appropriate. Definitely get good value for your money.

Due to Thaicoon's popularity, highly recommend securing reservations, particularly for dinner on Friday or Saturday nights.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chapsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
183 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Sushi is yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Nice atmosphere in festive Marietta Square. Very friendly staff and the sushi is yummy. You know it's good when the restaurant fills up quick and there is sometimes a wait to get in.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBoy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thaicoon and Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Thaicoon and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing