We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #164 of 714 Restaurants in Marietta
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Cleveland, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

I grew up eating Sonny's and there are non close to me. So I always eat there when traveling in Georgia or Florida. I had a bad travel day missed lunch was looking forward to BBQ and stopped at Sonnys on my way home from airport. Like I often do ordered AUCE slice pork and on a reorder order a piece of chicken was told that was not allowed. Than the manager made things worse by coming to my table with an insincere how can I help you only for to over hear tell the waiter she could not get a read on me. I had just ordered and followed a protocol of something I had done 4 times at 3 different Sonny's including that one in the past month. The pork beans and garlic bread were so good that night but this incident ruined my anticipated experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    21
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
162 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is a sit down and order style BBQ restaurant chain. I tried two different locations. They were consistent and good, but there was nothing I found to make them stand out. It's the type place were I wouldn't hesitate to stop at if I was hungry and saw one up ahead, but not one that I would choose as a destination.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank UtahJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“yumm-o”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

can't go wrong with Sonny's. Great BBQ, tender meat, delicious seasonings, yummy sides, wish they had more dessert choices, not that there's any room, but just saying....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
“management sucks!!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I placed order for ribs not burndt, nor overdone to be picked up...got therre the order was never placed, Mexican woman alledged to be manager, got on the phone screaming with no apologies, ...than hung up...the fact of the matter is she never placed the order...found that out when I arrived at Sonnys...That was terrible customer service and bad burnt food...Not to mention she quoted me 20.00, got there they charged me 29.69, after I got there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cinnamon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close enough to be called BBQ but could be improved”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Sonny's is a chain BBQ restaurant. The food is okay but not the best bbq I have had. There is a method to eating at Sonny's (all locations are almost identical). Once you have the method down, going back is more enjoyable. There is always a salad bar with an extensive array of items. The people I have gone with each have their own favorite off the menu and typically stay with their favorite. I like the pork plate. More often than not, Sonny's has specials and you can almost always find coupons in the local newspapers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louiethebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing