We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food; good coffee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Australian Bakery Cafe

Australian Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 24 Bakeries in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good food; good coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We usually order our food and go outside to eat it. Heavy carbs (pies, pastries, meat pies, meat rolls), but quite delicious. I don't know how authentically Australian it is, but it is certainly quite tasty.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mfortino2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    58
    14
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfort food from down under”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

There's nothing fancy about this place and you won't find much that's truly healthy but, if you enjoy comfort food and comfortable surroundings, you'll enjoy this place. Their Australian-style pies are good and are just like the ones we've had when traveling there. Their burgers and fries are really good, too, as are the bakery goods. And, there's some outdoor seating if you're at Marietta Square with your dog. All in all, if this is what you're in the mood for, you'll be well pleased.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lousy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Can't vouch for anything else on the menu, but the pies & sausage rolls were terrible. Like a dodgy home brand pie nuked in a microwave; the sausage roll was even worse. If these were sold at a shop in Australia, they'd be out of business before too long.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussie_Ostrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

As an Australian this place was embarrassing. The food was very average. My kids had pies and they looked old. I ordered a chicken and salad sandwich and the avocado was brown, yuk!. It was served on a dirty plate . The guy bringing out the orders had plastic gloves on , obviously for hygiene but was opening the door to take food outside with them on. I too visited the restroom and they were grubby. The whole place looked tired, with a few pictures and odd groceries as representations of our country. Disappointing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JR912013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“95% HAPPY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I have been eating at this restaurant for over 10 years. No flees, first of all. The food is fresh daily , Its fast, fresh, and its inexpensive. If you want a 5 star brunch,, You go to Rays on The River If you want fast, frech, and inexpensive, with a European twist, go to THE AUSTRALIAN BAKERY.It is layed back. You can get a Internat connection or good conversation with Neville, the owner. This crew is not perfect, but they come close. Very friendly atmosphere. If you like sweats , try this bakery. Their Apple Square, is the best. You always get a hello there.
I visit monthly.

NEGATIVES ARE; You might have to wait in line for a little while ,for take out. parking is not much fun between 12:00 to 1:00. CHILDREN ARE WELCOMED. SEVEN DAYS A WEEK.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Australian Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Australian Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing