We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful New Restaurant”
Review of Sun Dried Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sun Dried Restaurant
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Restaurant”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Reading about a restaurant with a West African flair sounded very appealing to my husband and I who are always looking for new experiences. We were extremely pleased and will return. The flavor profile on my chicken dish and my husbands fish was great. The menu is not very large, but has me wanted to go back to try what I didn't have the first time. The plantains were a really good choice for a complimentary starter. I really like the interior of the restaurant, gives you a warm relaxing feeling. Chef Alain came out and we were able to discuss his cooking techniques, and he is very passionate. Location is easy to find, so don't be put off by the strip shop appearance from the outside. Service was top notch, and all in all a very pleasant evening. We took home the key lime pie, which another customer was raving about, saying it is the best she has ever had. I have to agree, a great way to end a beautiful evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Food .... Horrible Service”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I ate at this Restaurant on Valentines Day. It was fixed menu this evening. The atmosphere was nice. They had a person singing romantic songs with a keyboard. Nice touch. The food was excellent. The main course was two separate dishes, a Fish and a beef. They both were fantastic. The dessert was a Key Lime dish that was great. The starter was plantains which were just ok and ceaser salad was good. Now the bad. The service was at best unorganized. The restaurant was staffed with one lady serving as waitress and two servers. All this for 25 tables! Our first course was the fish intended to be course #3. Our next course was the salad followed by the appetizer then the meat and we did finish with the dessert. With all this said, my wife and I were not in a hurry, loved the friendliness of the staff and enjoyed the music. There were three couples who came in sat down and walked out after 10 minutes of not being served.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“taste need improvement”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

the location is great, and the service is great and pretty friendly but i am not sure about the taste, i feel it would be a better place if the food was better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank damusweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, wonderful atmosphere, great service.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stopped here for dinner one night and were so pleasantly surprised! The chef welcomed us to the restaurant and makes a special dish to start out. We ordered an appetizer, and after finishing it we ordered another one because the first one was so delicious. Our dinner was flavored with such a unique spice blend - and the wine they recommended paired beautifully with it. Just an overall amazing meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow! Great find in the neighborhood.”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I was part of a group of 8 that went out to celebrate a birthday at Sun Dried. It was a first-time visit for all of us and we took a chance based on other reviews we've seen online. We were so happy we took the chance, the restaurant is terrific and such a great addition to the area.
It is African food with Southern influences. It is hard to describe - the flavors are a revelation and at the same time they are familiar. The service was slow but they appear to have limited wait staff and possibly limited kitchen staff as they just opened in Sept/Oct 2013.
Back to the food - they have fish, chicken, steak, salads. Our group had Steak & Frites, Snapper with garlic mashed potatoes, Shrimp & Grits, West African Fish, and chicken with African spices. All of this sounds somewhat familiar, right? Well, it is and it isn't - it is even better than what you've had before. The flavors pop and wake up your mouth. You are given a free appetizer when you sit down - plantains with a sauce that is delicious and surprising. They have a limited wine menu (South African reds and whites) and one bottled beer (from Oregon, believe it was called Session).
The chef is lovely and comes out to talk to you about the dishes. He is skilled and his restaurant is a fabulous addition to the neighborhood. We hope they stick around because they are in a challenging location - one that is off of a main intersection (Sandy Plains) but can't be seen from the street. Give them a shot if you're in the area, you won't regret it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JennyMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Dried Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing