We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Warm Welcome"”
Review of Stanley House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stanley House Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Marietta B&B and Inns
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"A Warm Welcome"”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for three days at the lovely, historic Stanley House Inn while visiting family in Marietta. We were warmly welcomed and felt downright pampered by our Stanley House hosts, Meg and Joseph. The Stanley House staff provides the best in B & B hospitality -- a spotless home beautifully furnished and decorated, comfortable beds, luscious breakfasts, and helpful information about the area. The Inn caters weddings which I think contributes to its atmosphere of light and joy. If a wedding takes place during your stay, as it did ours, Meg is sure to save you a piece of wedding cake to share in the couples' happiness. For a feeling of belonging, for the experience of living in a fine old home, for enjoying delicious creative breakfasts, all within easy walking distance of Marietta's vibrant downtown square, I wholeheartedly recommend the Stanley House Inn. For my husband it is a train-lovers' paradise. We can hardly wait to return.
JGM

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    10
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
42
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife and I recently stayed three nights at the Stanley House and we are thrilled to have discovered this warm, hospitable, historic B&B just a few blocks from the Marietta Square. The Inn Keepers, Meg and Joseph, were attentive to our every need and the three breakfasts we experienced were each fabulous and unique. There is a wonderful choice of rooms, all tastefully decorated in period styles of historic Marietta. When ever we get back to the Marietta area the Stanley House will be our home and we are already recommending this B&B to our friends. We consider Meg and Joseph as new friends in Marietta and we know many other travelers have discovered the caring, authentic couple they are.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiram, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here over night for a small anniversary get away. When we pulled up to the place we immediately felt welcomed. We went up stairs to meet the inn keeper and as we entered the home we were both taken back by the magnificent designs and details of The Stanley Inn. There was a sense of comfort and " this is exactly where you are supposed to be" feeling. We met the Inn keeper Meg and her husband who were both extremely nice and welcoming. We were allowed to tour the home on our own, which we took advantage of, and they showed us to our room. Our room was the last room on the right and it was perfect. Very clean and they also had these nice home made pastries waiting for us on our dresser as a little welcome gift. The house smelled of lavender through out the entire home and it really put us in a great mood as we adventured off into the different parts of the house to explore its beauty. We were alone in the house durring the night and were allowed to play music they use durring their wedding partys so we put on some nice piano music and danced across the dinning room. It was peacful relaxing and we both felt as if we had traveled back in time. When we woke up the next morning the Innkeepers were there and prepaired a delicious breakfast. They had everything beautifully set up on the formal dinning room table as if we were the guest of honor at the governor's home. I can go on and on about our experience but you would truly have to go and experience it yourself. Treat the home with love and respect and it has its way of returning your admiration.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I recently spent a getaway weekend at the Stanley House, and we had a wonderful, relaxing, fun time. Our room was spotless and exceptionally comfortable, and the breakfast both mornings was absolutely delicious. The innkeepeer, Meg, is a friendly, funny, truly caring person, not to mention an excellent cook. The Stanley House is beautiful, interesting, charming, and the location is only a few minutes walk from historic Marietta Square with its numerous restaurants, shops, lovely park w/fountain. Next time we're able to get away we'll be back. Loved the place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fritzer2044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I recently stayed at the Stanley house there was an electrician with a foul mouth that smoked on the back porch. The owner is rude the help are the only ones that care. when you call the owner or number of business cards the they never answer the phone. They had a wedding while we were staying and never told us when we asked. I would stay at the Whitlock inn if you want a bed and breakfast in Marietta.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanleyhouse, General Manager at Stanley House Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Why would a guest with so many issues not advise the Innkeeper? We would have gladly have addressed the issues or helped this guest find alternative accommodations. But not at the Whitlock Inn because it is no longer a B&B. We do not have a staff electrician so if a guest heard a vendor being inappropriate on Stanley House property, had we known, we would have immediately requested that they leave. We do host events at the Stanley House. It is something that we must do financially. We try to advise guests of events during their stay to make sure it will not be an inconvenience. And, we would never not be truthful if asked. Our humble apologies to this guest. We only wish we knew about the issues during the guest's stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaplin, SK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a stay at the Stanley House Inn in Marietta. We stayed in the Westminster Suite. Upon entering , we were greeted by an overwhelming musty odour. There was a dehumidifier and an air purifier - both ran continuously throughout our stay, but did little to improve the musty odour. As well the room was in dire need of repairs and updates. To top it all off, we killed more than a dozen large ants in the closet area and one particularly odd centipede type of insect in the shower stall.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoCatChaplin_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanleyhouse, General Manager at Stanley House Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
This is NOT a bed and breakfast guest room at the Stanley House. This is a very inexpensive pet-friendly vacation rental. It obviously need attention and we will take care of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta,Ga.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I attended my Cousins Wedding at the Stanley House and decided to also stay overnight also . Best decision I ever made . Beautiful old home ,well cared for ,and steps to Historic Marietta Square in a Safe beautiful neighborhood ! The food was catered by the Stanley House and was Excellent as well as the Breakfast the next morning ! The InnKeeper,Meg , keeps the house Spotless and was very kind and attentive to the Guests needs The Owner,Lloyd Kilday was also on hand and very knowledgeable about the house and Marietta ! I would recommend for anyone wishing for a Great Getaway from a big city !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeAugusta_Ga_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marietta hotels
4.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Atlanta Marietta
6.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Suites Atlanta Northwest
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Marietta
Quality Inn Marietta
#6 of 33 in Marietta
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Marietta White Water
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Marietta-Atlanta Northwest
2.8 mi away
Radisson Atlanta Northwest
Radisson Atlanta Northwest
#10 of 33 in Marietta
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House Inn

Property: Stanley House Inn
Address: 236 Church St NE, Marietta, GA 30060-1604
Region: United States > Georgia > Marietta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty minutes from Atlanta and three blocks from the historic Marietta Square, this Victorian beauty is the picture of Southern elegance. Best known for beautiful weddings and other special events, the Stanley House has 5 guest rooms with private baths. Bed and breakfast guests enjoy a great Southern breakfast in our grand dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stanley House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing