We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, heritage and hospitality”
Review of Dunham Farms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunham Farms
Ranked #1 of 1 Midway B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“History, heritage and hospitality”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Last weekend, my partner and I headed out of Atlanta for some much needed respite. Although we had considered Savannah, an online search of the area repeatedly guided us to this B&B (Springfield Plantation, at the heart of Dunham Farms, is the oldest plantation in Georgia remaining with its original family- since 1755). It just so happened that Friday night was a full moon and this particular weekend was the annual gathering of The Midway Society commemorating the town's settlement in 1792. We arrived Friday evening. We were promptly greeted by one of the owners, Laura Devendorf. She gave us an overview of the property and its history and showed us to The Hideaway Suite (room #1) in the Palmyra barn. It is a rather large room with sitting room, bathroom and beautiful view of the cathedral oak grove and wedding trellis. After getting settled, we were treated to a light snack and met some of the other guests (many of whom are repeat guests and were part of The Midway Society). That night we had the pleasure of our first meal by Laura's daughter Meredith (delicious Chicken with mandarin orange, risotto with parmesan cheese and spinach with nutmeg). She cleaned up a bit and "changed hats" and escorted us to the dock where we boarded our kayaks for a full moon rising kayak excursion. As we paddled through the marsh, Meredith told fascinating stories about the area, her growing up here and the history of her family. The air was cool. The breeze gentle. The waters calm. The view spectacular!!
The next morning we woke up and were greeted by the innkeeper Charlina for our breakfast treat. Each morning we had a 3 course breakfast that was both delectable and substantial. After the meal, Laura took us on a tour of the property. As we toured she shared with us the history of the land as well as her family and her Foundation. We saw Palmyra cottage which has been restored beautifully. We toured the pool house and the event hall. We saw the various sites that are perfect for hosting a wedding or reunion or any other occasion. However, the marsh, the giant oaks,the gardens (unbelievable azaleas and camellias) and the river were what really spoke to my heart. Most of the rest of the day, we spent walking the trails, listening to the birds and watching river otters frolic in the river. Midday we opted to venture to Sunbury Crab co. for lunch and to Midway to visit the cemetery, church and museum. As dusk approached, we watched the birds (spoonbills, egrets, herons, osprey, storks to name a few) return to their nests near the waters edge. It is easy to see why Laura and Meredith are so passionate about this place!! Sunday morning came far too quickly! Another sumptuous breakfast courtesy of Laura, Meredith and Charlina! Then unfortunately, we had to leave.
I would most definitely return! Furthermore, I think we all owe a debt of gratitude to Laura and Meredith for their insight, dedication, vision and passion in preserving this coastal gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We were looking for a relaxing experience found it at Dunham Farms. everything was perfect. The views were incredible, the accommodations were immaculate and very comfortable, breakfasts were excellent. The plus was that our innkeepers were charming and gave us a lesson on Georgia history and our surroundings. Their love for the property reflects in everything they do;making our stay even more enjoyable. Meridith we can not thank you enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonjaBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Absolutely love this place! It is in a beautiful and tranquil location for a wedding or just a romantic weekend getaway. My husband and I got married here and it was perfect! We were the only family on the farm that day which made it extra special. My guests loved being able to walk the nature trails with beautiful live oak trees, visit with the horse, look at Christmas lights and take pictures of the beautiful marsh waterways. They still rave about how this was by far the best wedding they have ever been too! (and we were on a low budget) It has a wonderful Bed and Breakfast where you could return on your anniversary, like we did. The rooms are rustic and go with the farm theme. We were cooked very good meals by a wonderful hostess! The staff is very knowledgable and go above and beyond! We loved exploring the marsh by kayak and taking a swim in the pool! This place is for people who love nature and adventure and need a relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asouthrnsunshine62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

Our fifth visit, wonderful hostess' , great food, beautiful surroundings, quiet...love it!! If you like quiet getaways or want to bisit Savannah and return to a relaxing, inviting "home", thisis the place. Great place also for a different Christmas or New Year holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatorpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I were looking for last minute Bed and Breakfasts reservations online for Labor Day weekend in Savannah GA. Everything was sold out and then we can across Dunham Farms (about 30 minutes from Savannah). We new nothing about the place but we booked anyway. From the moment we drove up to the moment we drove away we were in awe. The property is BEAUTIFUL, the owners (Laura and Meredith) are amazing women with a wealth of knowledge of the history of the property, and they are a delight to be around. The kayak tour was an unforgettable experience and I have to mention that the breakfasts and dinners were some of the best meals we have every had. We already booked another room for December before we even left and we are taking my parents.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Dunham Farms is a gem of a bed and breakfast in a beautiful location. We watched birds and dolphins in the river below. It's peaceful and wonderful for a quiet get away. The rooms were comfortable. We had delicious breakfasts each morning. The owners have a wealth of knowledge about the area. There is a pool and kayaks are available to explore the marsh. We plan to return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Dunham Farms is a beautiful bed and breakfast with stunning views off the Georgia coast as well as the gorgeous mossy live oak trees. In addition to peaceful surroundings, the bed and breakfast has amazing food and very comfortable accomodations. The owners are friendly and helpful and the farm has been in their family for generations. Dunham Farms would be the perfect location for a wedding or just a romantic couples getaway. Children under 8 are not allowed as B & B guests.

This b & b is off the beaten path on a dirt road, and is the perfect destination for a weekend of relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midway
21.8 mi away
Best Western Central Inn
Best Western Central Inn
#37 of 113 in Savannah
825 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95/Richmond Hill
13.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Hill Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hinesville Fort Stewart
22.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hinesville
Hampton Inn Hinesville
#4 of 12 in Hinesville
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunham Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunham Farms

Property: Dunham Farms
Address: 5836 Islands Hwy, Midway, GA 31320-6602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Midway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Midway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunham Farms 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from Historic Savannah and moments from the Historic Liberty Trail, Palmyra Plantation is a relaxed country escape nestled in 5000 privately-owned acres of natural waterfront beauty. Nine spacious, quiet and well-appointed guest rooms with private baths occupy a former plantation horse barn fully renovated in 1998. Full gourmet breakfast, afternoon hors d'oeuvres, daily guided walks of the grounds, use of the screened pool and extensive trail system are included in room rates. Kayak excursions are available on weekends. Restaurants and historic and environmental attractions nearby. Innkeepers' family has lived here since 1735, and they love to share their love of the land and its history with guests from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunham Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing