We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunham Farms
Nearby Hotels
US$116
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$57
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hinesville)
US$78
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
29
2
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
2
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslive oak treescoastal georgiabed and breakfastromantic weekendthe riverpool houseweddingcookbookoakspropertymeredith
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Visited today with a friend and were welcomed with open arms by both Meredith and Laura who in spite of the short notice, gave us a wonderful tour of the grounds and facilities and it was like receiving a once of a lifetime history and naturalist class or something akin. These are two of the most passionate and ingratiating hosts you can ever expect to come across. Full of knowledge and shared without airs of their family name or legacy. Just very down-to-earth, enlightened people who are passionate about the world and their many projects both conservation, educational and cultural. They also have a zany nature and are very funny actually. A real pleasure to learn from this pair. The inn is magnificent and such attention to craftsmanship and detail. The Live Oak Hall venue is one of the coolest modern "old" feeling structures I've come across for potential meetings and parties. Great views all around the property of the marsh and "cabbage leaf" coastline. Its about as removed and rustic as The Lowcountry South can be. Really looking forward to my next excursions there, be it the moonlit kayaking nights or whatever is. The people and the place is truly a masterpiece of escapism and yet illumination in the world. Gushing!

Room Tip: There's one room that overlooks the outdoor wedding "Oak Alley" that I would recommend the most.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SScottTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I must start by saying that I am a wedding professional and see a lot of venues every year. I also deal with many venue owners. I can tell you that I had an amazing experience working with both Meredith and Laura. These two ladies strive for wonderful service & professionalism while providing an incredibly beautiful wedding venue for their brides. My experience was stellar during the entire process. If you are looking for a serene and gorgeous venue that provides everything from an enclosed space at Live Oaks Hall as well as an outdoor area you should consider Dunham Farms. I am so happy that we had the opportunity to showcase our furniture and decor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We waited three years to go to Savannah for a long weekend and found Dunham Farms by accident while looking for a place to stay. And all we can say is that we were so fortunate that we stumbled upon this beautiful place. We were so entranced that we only left to go and get dinner the two nights that we were there. We never made it to Savannah. The quality of our accommodations were exceptional, clean and well maintained. The Innkeeper , Charlena greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room and made us feel welcome and the owners, Laura and Meredith were more than hospitable and shared their love of their homestead with us. It was a wonderful weekend!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank bjcj0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We made a weekend trip to Savannah and found trouble locating a place to stay around the city. Luckily my wife was able to find this beautiful farm converted to Bed and Breakfast! First off the owners are the nicest people ever. They will do whatever it takes to make your stay one to remember. The barn is very neat and the rooms have the best beds. The food was great the trails were beautiful and the pool was refreshing...we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captaincalboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Last weekend, my partner and I headed out of Atlanta for some much needed respite. Although we had considered Savannah, an online search of the area repeatedly guided us to this B&B (Springfield Plantation, at the heart of Dunham Farms, is the oldest plantation in Georgia remaining with its original family- since 1755). It just so happened that Friday night was a full moon and this particular weekend was the annual gathering of The Midway Society commemorating the town's settlement in 1792. We arrived Friday evening. We were promptly greeted by one of the owners, Laura Devendorf. She gave us an overview of the property and its history and showed us to The Hideaway Suite (room #1) in the Palmyra barn. It is a rather large room with sitting room, bathroom and beautiful view of the cathedral oak grove and wedding trellis. After getting settled, we were treated to a light snack and met some of the other guests (many of whom are repeat guests and were part of The Midway Society). That night we had the pleasure of our first meal by Laura's daughter Meredith (delicious Chicken with mandarin orange, risotto with parmesan cheese and spinach with nutmeg). She cleaned up a bit and "changed hats" and escorted us to the dock where we boarded our kayaks for a full moon rising kayak excursion. As we paddled through the marsh, Meredith told fascinating stories about the area, her growing up here and the history of her family. The air was cool. The breeze gentle. The waters calm. The view spectacular!!
The next morning we woke up and were greeted by the innkeeper Charlina for our breakfast treat. Each morning we had a 3 course breakfast that was both delectable and substantial. After the meal, Laura took us on a tour of the property. As we toured she shared with us the history of the land as well as her family and her Foundation. We saw Palmyra cottage which has been restored beautifully. We toured the pool house and the event hall. We saw the various sites that are perfect for hosting a wedding or reunion or any other occasion. However, the marsh, the giant oaks,the gardens (unbelievable azaleas and camellias) and the river were what really spoke to my heart. Most of the rest of the day, we spent walking the trails, listening to the birds and watching river otters frolic in the river. Midday we opted to venture to Sunbury Crab co. for lunch and to Midway to visit the cemetery, church and museum. As dusk approached, we watched the birds (spoonbills, egrets, herons, osprey, storks to name a few) return to their nests near the waters edge. It is easy to see why Laura and Meredith are so passionate about this place!! Sunday morning came far too quickly! Another sumptuous breakfast courtesy of Laura, Meredith and Charlina! Then unfortunately, we had to leave.
I would most definitely return! Furthermore, I think we all owe a debt of gratitude to Laura and Meredith for their insight, dedication, vision and passion in preserving this coastal gem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews