We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality at its finest”
Review of Dunham Farms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunham Farms
Ranked #1 of 1 Midway B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and stayed here this past weekend and it was truly wonderful. We brought our bikes and hiked Dunham's beautiful and extensive trails (Dunham Farms is 2,500 private acres on the Medway River). Our room was in the 1930's barn and very comfortable and well appointed with country antiques. Breakfast both days was delicious and I ended up picking up their cookbook 'Sauce & Sass' as the gingerbread pancakes were just so delicious! Also, if you are an aficionado of American History, Meredith is a wealth of knowledge about local Revolutionary War history. You can also bike and explore from Dunham's trails over to local sites such as Fort Morris. We had a wonderful time and plan to return again soon. Thank you Meredith, Laura & your staff, you have a little piece of heaven there at Dunham!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mdrewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Dunham Farms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We loved our 3 days with Laura and Meredith at Dunham Farms. They are passionate conservationists and are very knowledgeable about history and wildlife. Meredith took us kayaking in a saltmarsh and it was one of our highlights. The grounds are stunningly beautiful. We really hated to leave! We live in Saskatchewan, Canada, but we will definitely return.

Room Tip: I have no doubt all the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrairieTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I can't say enough wonderful things about our stay at Dunham Farms. If you want some true peace and quiet, 'away from it all', surrounded by beautiful Live Oak trees with Spanish moss, this is your place! Laura and Meredith took great care of us -lovely rooms, tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moneygal2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Visited today with a friend and were welcomed with open arms by both Meredith and Laura who in spite of the short notice, gave us a wonderful tour of the grounds and facilities and it was like receiving a once of a lifetime history and naturalist class or something akin. These are two of the most passionate and ingratiating hosts you can ever expect to come across. Full of knowledge and shared without airs of their family name or legacy. Just very down-to-earth, enlightened people who are passionate about the world and their many projects both conservation, educational and cultural. They also have a zany nature and are very funny actually. A real pleasure to learn from this pair. The inn is magnificent and such attention to craftsmanship and detail. The Live Oak Hall venue is one of the coolest modern "old" feeling structures I've come across for potential meetings and parties. Great views all around the property of the marsh and "cabbage leaf" coastline. Its about as removed and rustic as The Lowcountry South can be. Really looking forward to my next excursions there, be it the moonlit kayaking nights or whatever is. The people and the place is truly a masterpiece of escapism and yet illumination in the world. Gushing!

Room Tip: There's one room that overlooks the outdoor wedding "Oak Alley" that I would recommend...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SScottTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I must start by saying that I am a wedding professional and see a lot of venues every year. I also deal with many venue owners. I can tell you that I had an amazing experience working with both Meredith and Laura. These two ladies strive for wonderful service & professionalism while providing an incredibly beautiful wedding venue for their brides. My experience was stellar during the entire process. If you are looking for a serene and gorgeous venue that provides everything from an enclosed space at Live Oaks Hall as well as an outdoor area you should consider Dunham Farms. I am so happy that we had the opportunity to showcase our furniture and decor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We waited three years to go to Savannah for a long weekend and found Dunham Farms by accident while looking for a place to stay. And all we can say is that we were so fortunate that we stumbled upon this beautiful place. We were so entranced that we only left to go and get dinner the two nights that we were there. We never made it to Savannah. The quality of our accommodations were exceptional, clean and well maintained. The Innkeeper , Charlena greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room and made us feel welcome and the owners, Laura and Meredith were more than hospitable and shared their love of their homestead with us. It was a wonderful weekend!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank bjcj0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We made a weekend trip to Savannah and found trouble locating a place to stay around the city. Luckily my wife was able to find this beautiful farm converted to Bed and Breakfast! First off the owners are the nicest people ever. They will do whatever it takes to make your stay one to remember. The barn is very neat and the rooms have the best beds. The food was great the trails were beautiful and the pool was refreshing...we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captaincalboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midway
13.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Hill Inn
24.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
22.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95/Richmond Hill
18.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
5.0 mi away
Heron Cove Bed & Breakfast at Silverstream Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunham Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunham Farms

Address: 5836 Islands Hwy, Midway, GA 31320-6602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Midway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Midway
Price Range: £111 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunham Farms 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from Historic Savannah and moments from the Historic Liberty Trail, Palmyra Plantation is a relaxed country escape nestled in 5000 privately-owned acres of natural waterfront beauty. Nine spacious, quiet and well-appointed guest rooms with private baths occupy a former plantation horse barn fully renovated in 1998. Full gourmet breakfast, afternoon hors d'oeuvres, daily guided walks of the grounds, use of the screened pool and extensive trail system are included in room rates. Kayak excursions are available on weekends. Restaurants and historic and environmental attractions nearby. Innkeepers' family has lived here since 1735, and they love to share their love of the land and its history with guests from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunham Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing