We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lockerly House”
Review of Lockerly Arboretum

Lockerly Arboretum
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lockerly House”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We did not tour the arboretum but did have a lovely tour of the house as part of our Trolley Tour.
The docent was quite well versed in detail and we had a leisurely tour through the house with anecdotes, description of features and a chance to see a restoration that produced a functional building.
This is a very stately edifice and it sits with gentility that hints at the grandeur and grace of another era.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelWeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
onthecorner
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The House is amazing”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were in town for the Ga Trust Spring Ramble. I only toured the house which was well worth the visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank onthecorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loverly”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We went and walked around this property when the weather had just strated getting nice. As a result, there were not a lot of "exciting" things to see but was a nice walk on a spring day

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“plant sale”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Visited during their annual plant sale and came home with herbs for my kitchen. Good selection and great price.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Mostly Trees and a few flowers”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Perhaps it was the time of year (early April) but there were few flowers blooming. Even the azaleas and Rhododendrons were not blooming. They were grooming the trails so there were areas we bypassed but had a good walk anyway. Anyone interested in tree species would be interested as many are marked.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EasyDoesIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lockerly Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Lockerly Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing