We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff made the great food taste even better”
Review of Rozzers Restaurant

Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$83
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A multi-awarding winning family run Restaurant, with a special emphasis on locally sourced quality food. Rozzers is open each evening from early April to late October, between the hours of 6.30pm and 9.30pm. It closes fully for the winter period. Head Chef Paul O'Gorman has worked in Rozzers since 1997 and he takes enormous personal and professional pride in the quality of his food, which seamlessly combines modern Irish and classical French culinary styles, with items like Ring of Kerry lamb, Dingle Bay lobster, a variety of daily changing fresh fish dishes and Chateaubriand being constant features on the Menu. In addition, breads and desserts are prepared daily in-house. Since 2009, Rozzers has always been at the top of the Trip Advisor ranking for Killarney Restaurants.
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We booked based on tripadvisor ratings and were not mislead. The staff were so welcoming, the food was excellent overall a great dinner.

1  Thank Seaniec1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi Seanie and thanks a million for the very short but very wonderful review here on Trip Advisor - we truly do appreciate it!

It was our please to look after you and we're delighted that the food and staff combined together so well to give you both an enjoyable evening with us...

Thanks again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Rozzers at the Killeen House at some future stage.

Michael & Gerraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 375 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We not only had delicious food,but a great time. Our hosts Geraldine and Mike were the best.
The Fillet of Beef was melt in your mouth awesome, cooked to perfection. The best I have had in a long while. Goat cheese appetizer was a real treat with walnut pesto that really blended well. There were homemade rolls and yummy bread with Irish butter. There was a pastry chef "special" of an apple strudel that finished the meal off!! The service was friendly and fast, although we did not feel rushed. The place is just beautiful inside and the grounds outside are just lovely. The whole atmosphere is inviting and warm and makes for a perfect evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Trixie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

What a superb review Trixie!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post it up here on Trip Advisor - it genuinely means a lot to us.

And thank you also for pointing out that a really nice meal is not just all about the food Trixie - the service...the atmosphere and ambiance...the surroundings...they all play very important parts in providing the overall impression and experience.

We are especially fortunate to have a superb staff of people who take great pride in their work, and then our building and gardens have a lovely warmth about them as well.

Thanks again so and all the very best.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had reservations to this amazing restaurant and from the moment you arrive you are greeted and welcomed in like part of the family. Geraldine is gracious and warm and immediately guided us to our table. The restaurant is quaint and inviting and by looking around the room you notice the relaxed and happy diners enjoying a special meal. So many great choices and the four of us had our order taken right away. First we received a basket of delicious savory scones and homemade bread along with the delicious Irish butter and that set the tone for what was to come next. 2 of us had the salmon which was cooked perfectly and presented on top of a tasty chorizo cous cous with a surprise prawn underneath. Rounding off the plate a delicious cool citrus and cucumber salsa that pared beautifully with the salmon. The other two diners had the fillet of beef that was cooked perfectly to our specifications. With a smooth flavorful carrot puree and the creamiest celeriac gratin. It also included perfectly prepared sautéd mushrooms that complimented the beef flavor. A flavorful rich sauce rings the edge of the plate to run the fillet through which is the finishing touch to perfection. The chefs obviously put much thought and love into the dishes they prepare and it shows when you take the first bite all the way to the last bite. We all cleaned our plates. Great service and attention to detail by the staff. When next in Ireland we will be back. Thank you Rozzers for a special unforgettable dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank WAtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Wow....!

And Wow again......!

Thank you so much for the incredible review here on Trip Advisor - we are extremely grateful to you for going to all the trouble of writing it and posting it up..

It's clear that you had a nice evening with us, and it's even clearer that you know your food....

We are delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations here in Rozzers, and we thank you sincerely for being so complimentary as well about our Head Chef Paul and his great band of culinary warriors in the Kitchen!

Thanks again and if ever your plans bring you back to God's Own Country - we'll be here waiting to serve you all again!

All the best.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We picked out Rozzers because Trip Advisor listed it #1 in Killarney. The ranking was spot on. It's located in the Killeen Houst hotel, which caters to a golfing crowd. We had a terrific dinner. I had the monkfish, which was beautifully prepared. My wife had the duck - similar experience. Hostess and waiters/waitresses were friendly and attentive, service excellent, atmosphere warm and relaxed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you most sincerely for the great review Martin - we really do appreciate your taking the time to write it and post it here on Trip Advisor.

It was our pleasure to look after you and we're delighted you enjoyed our offering. The monkfish entree is consistently one of of most popular dishes, especially with our overseas guests so we're glad it didn't disappoint.

Thanks again and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Visited on 29th July 14 for wife's birthday, a good choice! Lovely welcome from owners. Serves perfect Guinness! The food is excellent. Surf n Turf is great choice. All the staff are very friendly and efficient. A busy restaurant, but still have the time to look after you. A first class restaurant that deserves its high Trip advisor rating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank royzo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hi Roy and thanks a million for the outstanding review here on Trip Advisor - we truly appreciate it.

It was our pleasure to look after you both and we're delighted that you had such a nice time with us - and now you know where to come if you ever need a few killer leprechauns to help your observation work!!!!

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you both back to Rozzers at the Killeen House at some future stage.

All the best.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rozzers Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing