We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel Amazing View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel Amazing View”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed here with my daughter while touring the west coast. Firstly lets say that the building is not the most memorable but with the fantastic views you wont be looking at the building. Staff all over the hotel were top class particularly the young man in the downstairs bar beside the pool who was a very good bar man.Dined in the up stairs bar which was fantastic,Swimming pool view is OOTW. Our room was the last one on reception level and was amazing.Breakfast was all you would expect. Well done all round. My daughter loved her Two hour pony ride through The Killarney National Park and wanted to bring her Pony (Clive) home. So I highly recommend The Killarney Riding Stables.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kildareman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    231
    101
    45
    20
See reviews for
286
729
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Absolutely loved our stay here. Staff are extremely warm, friendly & have great insight into the locality - a great source of info & recommendations. We loved the fact that this hotel has a distinct 'Kerry' feel to it, it isn't the usual austere, blandness that some other 5 star hotels offer.

Room had fantastic view, great big comfy bed. Food in both bar & restaurant excellent with waiting staff having good knowledge of food & wines on offer. Spa amazing & well worth a visit.

Overall we were spoilt rotten with our stay here. Well done to management & staff it was such a pleasure & we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I have to say the staff at the Aghadoe Height are so friendly, personal and helpful. They really made our stay so memorable. The food and wine was just delicious and the breakfast was divine!!! Had a super stay here for my birthday and it was perfect, can really not fault any part of it. Bedroom was really comfy, nice big bed with exceptional views. Cannot wait to get back here!!! 5 Star all the way in every way!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed in Aghadoe Heights for two nights (including 1 Dinner) in August. This is a great hotel, very comfortable, great staff, amazing views over the lakes in Killarney (just not from our room), superb food and spa.
Just have one or two little disapointments...
Firstly while our room (202) was spacious and comfortable, it overlooked what appeaed to be the boiler room and the rest of the windows were blocked out by hedging which was probably just as well as behind this was the car park. While the hotel is graded as a 5 star, when you were in this room you felt it was 3 star with a big room. Also the bed was a little uncomfortable. I'm sure if you are in a room with the amazing view the hotel experience is greatly enhanced.
Secondly, the pool area could me spruced up a little and the jacuzzi repaired (only one side worked). As I said these are just small complaints, but when you visit a hotel with the reputation of Aghadoe it's the small things that you expect to be excellent to justify a 5 star rating... So therefore my rating for this trip I'd say "close, but no Doonbeg..."

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scorpio51972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed 3 nights as a first wedding anniversary weekend. Welcomed with a wide smile and a very prompt check-in. Room was huge, bed was huge and comfortable.

Food top notch but what really impressed us with the food was the staff's knowledge and care to the coeliac issue, (my wife is coeliac). She brought her own gluten free bread/breakfast food and the kitchen was only too happy to take it in and use it for our breakfasts. For our first cuppa on arrival, gluten free biscuits were produced and every subsequent snack/main meal, assurances were given and delivered regarding gluten-free foods. We were hugely impressed by this and the lounge staff chatty, helpful and good-humoured.

The spa treatment was a delight also, smiling faces all ensuring our couple of hours relaxation was just that, relaxed.

We had a wonderful 3 nights in a magnificent setting in Killarney. Thanks to all.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1966DUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I visited the hotel last week with a friend and we booked into the Spa for a day visit which included a meal in the hotel. From the time we arrived to the time we departed our visit was nothing but pleasurable. The staff at reception, the spa and restraunt were very friendly and could not do enough to help us during our stay. The treatment in the spa was a wonderful experience and the quality of food and service in the restraunt afterwards was exceptional. The views from the hotel were stunning on the day as we looked out onto the lakes of Killarney. The visit was a 100% success and we have no doubt that we will be visiting again in the very near future. Good quality food, excellent spa facilities, excellent staff and service ensured that this was a memorable day out for us. Thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryf85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Headed here for one Saturday night during August. Booked last minute through the hotel itself and managed to get a beautiful lakeside room (Room 107). The room itself was large and bright and the view was simply stunning.

Check in was professional and I was shown to my room by a very friendly receptionist.

Visited the bar for some food. While expensive for what I got the quality and service was excellent. Saw some groups having afternoon tea. When I visit Aghadoe again I will be keen to try........

Breakfast was good. Despite being very busy, service was top class.

Overall, I look forward to returning to Aghadoe. Apart from the standard of the accomodation and the quality of the food, each and everyone of the staff I met during my stay were so friendly and good at what they did. If only every hotel had staff like I met during my stay then Irish tourism would be in a far healthier state!!!

Room Tip: The view from the Lake view rooms..............treat yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Co.Corktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
1.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,549 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,224 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa

Property: Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Address: Lakes of Killarney, Aghadoe, Killarney 6507, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Killarney town with breathtaking views of the lakes and mountains. This five star hotel is renowned for outstanding service, luxurious accommodation, award winning cuisine and for it's multiple award winning Resort Spa & therapists. Interconnecting and Family Rooms available. Guests can avail of complimentary Parking, Wifi, Daily Papers, Breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Gym, Media Room, Drying Room for Golfers and Fisherman, DVD Library, Tennis Courts and Shuttle Service to Killarney Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aghadoe Heights Hotel Killarney
Aghadoe Heights Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing