We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Innisfallen Hotel(Fossa)(Great Value!)
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$408
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Killarney Court Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brook Lodge Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,605)
Filter reviews
1,605 results
Traveller rating
1,160
255
115
50
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,160
255
115
50
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake roomthermal suiteterrace barstar hotelrelaxation areaheights loungekillarney lakesthe penthouseupgraded to a suitesecond to nonetop classstar servicefrom start to finishlast weekendfantastic hotelfantastic stayboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,026 - 1,031 of 1,605 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

From the moment we arrived at Aghadoe to the moment we left, we couldn't have asked for better service or comfort from a hotel.

Check in was a pleasure, with a really friendly lady looking after us, and a concierge who showed us to our room and around the hotel.

Room was fabulous, with floor to ceiling glass wall looking out over the lakes, amazing!

Pool was great, with free fluffy robes and slippers in the room. However the thermal suites were a highlight, and we spent hours relaxing here at a special rate.

The bar was great, with live piano in the evening. Breakfast was also fab, served to the table in the Lake View room.

Small touches of a newsletter delivered to the room each evening, and bottles of water for the car journey on check out made the stay complete.

Overall fantastic stay with great service, and an amazing thermal suite and fabulous views.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shielseey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Billed as a five star hotel, this is a bit of stretch. It is a solid four star but little more than that. The hotel does not impress from the outside, but upon entering, it has a cosy, trendy, boutique feel to it. And the common areas are quite limited in size too.

I'm sure many of the rooms are fitted out in the same trendy fashion as the rest of the hotel, but the family rooms are very, very tired and don't seem to have been touched since the mid 80s. In fact it was very disappointing to transition into such rooms after the trendy decor of the rest of the building. This stark contrasting style, with odd, mismatched furniture, heavily used, scraped and marked, threadworn carpet with no bounce whatsoever, along with a CRT TV that was at least 20 years old (replete with burnt plastic casing) seriously disappoints and clarifies the view that this hotel is not particularly interested in families or children. (A point reinforced by the restaurant's policy banning children after 7.00pm.) When challenged about both, the staff seemed disinterested and basically take the stance of this is the way that it is and so what?

Another gripe is the shuttle service into Killarney. It's a one way service, forcing you to take a taxi back, even though the bus would be coming into town anyhow! The is no logic to this policy and obviously a scam to support local taxis.

The lounge bar and food is satisfactory, but over €16 for mediocre burger leaves a bad taste in your mouth. The health club is OK, but the pool area is less attractive than the photos suggest and is over chlorinated and has peeling paint all over the place. The changing rooms were unbelievable. I've been in toilet cubicles that were roomier!

On the upside the breakfast in the restaurant was outstanding. Excellent food, ambiance, and even better waiting staff.

Price wise, the hotel overall is reasonable, compared to other five star hotels, but as I've described above, that's understandable. You get what you pay for.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank KMcCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Service was top notch and the attention to detail in the spa was second to none.
Highly recommend staying here. My only criticism is that the food was overpriced for the quality. We have great food but at an outstanding price!
I would gladly stay here again and suggest the lake view suite as the views are just as good as the service.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRAIGTHEKIWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

And a great location! Close to the town of Killarney which is full of pubs and shops and all that the west of Ireland has to offer. Aghadoe has magnificent bucolic views at the front of the hotel and the rooms are pristine with high thread count and great spacious bathrooms. The staff are friendly and efficient with a genuine focus for their guests. Breakfast is buffet and/or a la carte with traditional toast triangles, morning newspaper and fresh yummy coffee in a silver pot and a great selection of ALL breakfast foods including black pudding which is really good in this part of Ireland. Must also be said, where breakfast in a busy hotel restaurant is often frenzied and loud, this is tranquil and brunchy! They also served freshly squeezed grape juice in tiny glass' which was a first for me.
So now for the spa...I have worked in the spa and fitness industry as a consultant for over 15 years in NYC. This is one of the nicest facilities I have had the pleasure to use. Multiple hydro experiences, clean and nicely laid out. The sauna is spacious with great Aromatheraphy and the Hammam a great thing to do as a couple. I am a fan of the German line Biodroga for body treatments although not of Aveda but for amenities they are quite nice. Overall I loved this hotel and experience and would visit again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have beautiful views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEWELLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I recently took my partner for a night to the Aghadoe Heights where I booked a Lakeside Suite for us. The hotel was well sign posted in Killarney and there were plenty of spaces in the car park.

The reception was lovely and comfortable with a fantastic looking long fireplace, the reception staff were friend and quick to check us in, a nice porter took my partners bag and led us to our suite.

The suite was stunning, Bright, Clean and Spacious with a superb view of the Lake. The bed was massive and comfortable. Overall we couldn't have been much happier. It was so nice I decided it was the place to propose to my partner.

That evening we went for dinner in the Lakeside restaurant we were seated swiftly and they knew our news (presumably a family member tipped them off!) The meal was delicious and server by very professional and courteous staff. At the end of the meal they brought out a plate with petit fours and congratulations written on it and offered us a complimentary drink each.

The only negative thing about the hotel and at that its small is the external appearance isn't up to much, but big deal because the inside couldn't be a whole lot better.

Room Tip: Its worth paying the bit extra to have the lakeside view!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews