We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$157
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,576
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunloe(Beaufort)
US$349
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,590)
Filter reviews
1,590 results
Traveller rating
1,148
252
115
50
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,148
252
115
50
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake roomthermal suiteterrace barstar hotelrelaxation areaheights loungekillarney lakesthe penthouseupgraded to a suitesecond to nonetop classstar servicefrom start to finishlast weekendfantastic hotelfantastic stayboth nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
885 - 890 of 1,590 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The staff at the Aghadoe are fantastic. They, more than anything, are what make this a 5 star hotel. We found that the almost exclusively local staff could not do enough to make us feel welcome and at home. The room was fantastic and the food was excellent and good value for money. I became addicted to their brown bread with walnuts. One small point - we paid for a lake view room which was superb - huge with a fabulous bed, bathroom etc but we got a ground floor room and the view was not worth paying extra for. I should have said something before we settled in, I have no doubt they would have moved us but we were too tired when we arrived. I look forward to returning here.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view don't stay on the ground floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackr0ckgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here in Nov '13 in a lakeview room - complimentary upgrade from the hotel.

The views are extraordinary and the bar and restaurant overlook the lakes as well which is great.

Food: fantastic - we had barfood on the night and it was really good value. Plenty of choice too. We ordered a shared platter and it wasn't quite as described on the menu (some things missing, some things additional) but tasty nonetheless.
Breakfast was OK. the fried breakfast did not look nice - like it had been pre-cooked and resting for far too long. the healthy options were lovely though

Room: lovely room and very comfie bed. the bathroom is very nice too with a lovely roll top bath and nice toiletries. we didn't have any patio furniture on our balcony which is disappointing as some of teh other rooms next to us did.
the door out to the balcony doesn't stay open - that was pretty annoying as it would have been nice to leave it open overnight.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingNoirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Fantastic hotel really nice and helpful staff got a courtesy bus into town. Views are fantastic rooms are fab nice clean and lovely view from balcony. We stayed there during the heat wave in July and the room had air con so 'twas lovely and cool really nice place

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Staff are exceptional in this hotel, they catered to our every need without being intrusive. They were genuinely nice & kind people!! We had afternoon tea & dinner in the hotel and found the food to be really nice too. Unfortunately we were disappointed with our rooms. The rooms were spacious but the decor was outdated.. The bathroom was really old fashioned with a shower in the bath & an old mouldy shower curtain!! We could not believe that there was a shower curtain like this in a 5 star hotel. We did get an over night deal so maybe that is why we were given these old drab rooms but it was a real disappointment as we were expecting a bit of luxury. We have stayed in the Lake Hotel in Killarney on many occasions and found their rooms to be of a much higher standard even though they are only a 4 star.. With that being said we did enjoy our stay in the hotel but would request a different room if staying again or maybe would ask to see the room beforehand..

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank frosty3Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed in Aghadoe a few weeks back and was very excited about it considering the many awards it has won.
The hotel itself is kept immaculately and the staff were incredibly nice.
But what let it down for me was that it was very forgetful and the impersonal feel I got there.
Its hard to put my finger on it but I suppose it struck me as a very generic "business like" hotel and lacked the wow factor you usually get in 5 star hotels.
The food was very impressive but I must say I preferred the bar food to the restaurant - but that just my uncultured tongue!

To be honest i have stayed in similar or nicer 4 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPOSull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews