We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you... it was wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Co Kildare
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Thank you... it was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for the second time from 16th to 18th May and it was truly wonderful. Our room was fabulous with amazing views over the lake and when I say the staff are amazing well I really mean it. Everyone is so friendly and keen to make your stay as good as possible. The breakfast is well amazing too! Freshly cooked to order and the choice is excellent. We had afternoon tea, food in the bar and a very special dinner in the restaurant on our last night and what can I say apart from amazing! I cannot recommend this hotel enough and we are already planning a return visit, so a very special thank you to Jason, Gerr and all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sgs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    211
    97
    40
    20
See reviews for
264
683
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went to this hotel on a wet afternoon and decided on afternoon tea. The food was terrific, service great and the view over the lakes and the mountains incredible. Loved every minute of our wet afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacs511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doneraile, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I planned a romantic night away at a Spa. Although the Spa experience in Ireland is a fairly new one there are good options but they can be very expensive. This was a very good offer for money. We booked a special offer we found on the hotel website which included Spa use, a one hour treatment, room, gourmet dinner, and full breakfast. When we arrived at the hotel we upgraded to a suite (Thank you very much). The views from the room can not be matched (see pictures). The Spa is top of the line and the staff there is helpful, experienced, knowledgeable, and friendly. We both had massages and they were done very proffesionally.

We had dinner in the restaurant that night. There are two dining options, our package included the gourmet restaurant but the other restaurant's food looked very good also. The meal was outstanding but as with any "gourmet" food I found the portions small.

The room was quiet and the bed was so comfortable you did not want to get up. The rain shower was an enjoyable way to start the day. The pool was lovely. There are many options for your daytime experience but unfortunately we were not able to enjoy them. There is also a free shuttle into the town of Killarney (which is a big bonus for staying here).

The breakfast in the morning offered many options and the food was great.
We highly recommend stay here should you want a couples weekend away. I have stayed many paces in Ireland and I can honestly say that their service is among the best I have experienced here.
There was also several families their and it seemed family friendly.

Room Tip: You need to have a lake side room to fully enjoy the experience here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Both of us had a wonderful stay in the Aghadoe Heights Hotel. It was our second stay there. We highly recommend it. The staff are friendly and chatty and couldn’t do enough for us.
We had a fine big bedroom, plenty of space, although for a 5 star hotel we were surprised that there were no tea/coffee making facilities.
The dining is excellent, with a good menu choice, and attentive waiter service. The view from the restaurant out over the lakes of Killarney is stunning.
However the prices can be a bit confusing. Afternoon tea is quoted at one price in the lounge, and quoted at a lower price in the bedroom information book. Furthermore we discovered that the price for dinner quoted when we booked our break was a higher price to that quoted when we arrived.
Overall we would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Look for a room not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Its not often that I am sad to leave but the service, setting and the people are what make this an amazing place to stay especially if you have a lake view.

The spa is excellent, as are the walking trails and the food. Top tip try the restaurant (Rozzers) at Killen House Hotel its amazing.

Room Tip: We booked a lake view suite. There are two rooms on each floor (6 in total) which are larger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 17FW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you are looking for THE MOST excellent service in a Killarney Hotel - look no further than the Aghadoe Heights Resort and Spa. As a native New Yorker, It takes a superlative effort to impress me. I have never in my life been at a loss for words to describe a truly unique, superlative and utterly PERFECT holiday but my recent stay at the Aghadoe SURPASSED every idea I have aver had about the PERFECT hotel- in every imaginable way.
Extremely well done Agadhoe - congratulations!

Room Tip: personally I liked my room on the first floor - everytime I opened the door the LOVELY scents from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jagette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

On approach to the Heights, you could be forgiven for thinking you were returning to Primary school, circa. 1972. Unquestionably, the exterior of the hotel is a little dated and this was replicated in our room (Lake View Suite) where it appeared that the previous guest had been Edward Scissorhands. We're not quite sure how the curtains and bed throw had managed to become so torn but this was quite surprising given that the rest of the hotel is in outstanding order.

The lasting impression of the Heights however (besides the phenomenal views) is of the outstanding level of care afforded to guests by the superb staff. Special mention must go to the concierge Kevin who was an invaluable source of knowledge and ideas for ways to fill the day.

All the staff from front end through to the restaurants and down in the Spa were at pains to ensure the standard of service was never short of exemplary and are a credit to the hotel and to the region.

The Spa also is fabulous. Often one enters the hotel 'spa' only to find that it consists only of a few scattered tea lights and mildly irritating music. The Spa at Aghadoe is superb however. The treatments, while generally a little pricey are fantastic and the thermal suite and relaxation area is a wonderful place to spend an afternoon.

The Lake Room restaurant again is staffed by truly generous individuals who appreciate efficient, but never over bearing service. The food was excellent also in the evenings and the breakfasts more than ample for fuelling a day of high shenanigans in the National Park.

My partner, Aine treated myself to a stay here for two nights (26/27 Apr 2014) as part of my birthday celebrations. A wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lavoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
1.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2.5 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa

Property: Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Address: Lakes of Killarney, Aghadoe, Killarney 6507, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Killarney town with breathtaking views of the lakes and mountains. This five star hotel is renowned for outstanding service, luxurious accommodation, award winning cuisine and for it's multiple award winning Resort Spa & therapists. Interconnecting and Family Rooms available. Guests can avail of complimentary Parking, Wifi, Daily Papers, Breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Gym, Media Room, Drying Room for Golfers and Fisherman, DVD Library, Tennis Courts and Shuttle Service to Killarney Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aghadoe Heights Hotel And Spa
Aghadoe Heights Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing