We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2009

As a treat this Summer and to iron out a few stress lines we decided to indulge ouurselves at the Aghadoe Heights. Some Spa treatments were booked and I went ahead of the rest of the family to relax and enjoy myself. To say it was a comedy of errors in the Aveda Spa would be an understatement!! The whole experience was ultra disappointing.
On discussion with management the charge for the "treatments" was removed, we felt that our treatment by senior management left a lot to be desired.
I believe that a five star experience should be just that, from the minute one walks in the door to the end of the stay nothing less should be expected. Don`t expect this at the Aghadoe Heights!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelloIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,379 - 1,385 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2009

We enjoyed a short stay at the Aghadoe Heights hotel, using it as a base to tour the local area. There is no doubt the hotel has much to recommend it, stunning views, good food and friendly (if uneven) service. The main reasons for my 3 rating are poor room quality and an overall impression that the hotel lacks the polish of a true 5 Star and charges too much for the product on offer. As an example of what I consider to be worthy of a 5 Star rating and pricing, the Ritz Carlton Powerscourt springs to mind.

Some of our group had a lakeside room and some had a suite with a lake view. There was a stark difference in the comfort of the rooms. The lakeside rooms were tired, outdated, with tatty bath mats and curtains and really only up to a 3 Star quality. In contrast, the suite with lake view was very nicely appointed and comfortable with separate bath and shower, updated bedlinens and an overall fresh feeling. If you stayed in this category of room you probably would come away with a much better impression. Even though they charge a lower rate for the lakeside rooms there is no excuse for the poor standard.

As has been noted before by other reviewers the food is of a high standard and most of the staff are friendly and professional, the front desk staff could do with more consistency.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank NewYorkTraveller000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights as a base for visiting The ring of Kerry. When we first arrived I was dissapointed as the hotel is not the nicest I have seen... and then you go through the door and wow you are greeted by a gorgeous huge open fire and very comfortable sofas. Having just returned from the Maldives, Aghadoe Heights had something to beat and guess what it equalled it. The room was lovely with a huge picture window overlooking the lake, the views was lovely and very serene. The hotel is quiet and refined and the food is well cooked and served. Breakfast was delightful and really set you up for the day.The pool and gym were clean and pleasant to use with plenty of towels ect.

All in all Aghadoe Heights quite rightly deserves its 5star rating and delivers a 5star service in every respect. Yes it is expensive but you are getting superior accommodation and service.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Durhamlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

My Wife and I with 2 friends have just spent 3 wonderful days at this hotel. This is our second stay there in 18 months. I simply love the people. We were greeted warmly and given a tour around the hotel with great humour and friendliness. A fabulous start. Our rooms were clean, fresh, large in size and had a breathtaking view of the lake. We enjoyed great personalised service at the bar. We were treated to sumptuous breakfasts by staff whose warmth and attention were second to none. A hotel should primarily be about people. It should be a home from home. This hotel is a second home. We used the spa, swimming pool, saunas and gym (which by the way has 7 pieces of equipment - not 3) and were delighted with the facilities. This hotel is a place where you can relax and feel that you are being cared for by friends. Pay them a visit.

Already we are planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annlaprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Arrived with great expectations but were let down and left after one night. The outside of the hotel is unsightly and not something you would expect in such a beautiful location. Staff were pleasant on arrival but no doorman or concierge to be seen. Room we booked was supposed to be a upgrade to a suite so when we saw the room were very disappointed. The decor was very poor and we had a small old style tv, curtains wouldn't close properly and I had to climb on a chair to close them, bathroom had no separate shower and a dingy shower curtain on the bath was very 1 star. The bar area is small and not at all luxury that you would expect. The restaurant was okay my wife enjoyed her food but I didn't at all. When we complained about things I was showed a few other rooms and all were similar but had a worse view of the lake that we had and we stayed put. After a poor sleep we decided to leave the next day and were queried on our concerns as if we were making them up. Definitely not a hotel that I would recommend if you want 5 star quality and service

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJTMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The hotel was industrial-looking on the outside, but very elegant and modern on the inside. We were upgraded to a suite on the 3rd floor and it was fantastic. It was huge, clean, modern, with a nice, flat-screen TV, and huge, spa-bathroom.

The hotel itself had a nice restaurant which was very expensive.

The gym was tiny - with 3 pieces of cardio equipment and nothing more than a set of free weights; hardly the spa gyms one is used to in the U.S. The spa, too, did not cut it, from a U.S. spa-goer's perspective.

The breakfast was good, fresh, but having "free breakfast" when you're paying such a hefty nightly rate doesn't feel like such a boon.

The hotel staff at the front desk were rude, snippy, and unhelpful.

Lastly, there were loud kids everywhere - in the restaurant, in the hallways - - everywhere!

This place is insanely expensive so, unless money is of no moment to you, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlovvanPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

On arrival your first impression is of a very 80s style building but its not the worst. The hotel is beautiful, just so lovely and plush. We were upgraded to a suite as we were on honeymoon, and it was just gorgeous - huge bed, large living room, classy bathroom and the biggest tv ever. We used the pool and the changing area has large selection of lovely Aveda products for clientele to use. The breakfasts were delicious - tasty fish of the day, large selection of breads, cereals and juices. My hubby availed of the cooked breakfast which were hot and tasty. The lady overseeing the breakfast was so helpful and friendly, she couldnt do enough. I think the main reason I loved this hotel was the staff - they were friendly, courteous, informative and helpful. I have stayed in other 5 star hotels were the staff have been snobby eejits, when there is no need to be if the hotel is good. I would recommend this hotel absolutely because its so elegant and is a good choice if you want to spoil yourself and have a truly relaxing time. We are already planning a return visit at Christmas.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AineWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
1 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,607 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,475 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa

Address: Lakes of Killarney, Aghadoe, Killarney 6507, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range: £138 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Killarney town with breathtaking views of the lakes and mountains. This five star hotel is renowned for outstanding service, luxurious accommodation, award winning cuisine and for it's multiple award winning Resort Spa & therapists. Interconnecting and Family Rooms available. Guests can avail of complimentary Parking, Wifi, Daily Papers, Breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Gym, Media Room, Drying Room for Golfers and Fisherman, DVD Library, Tennis Courts and Shuttle Service to Killarney Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aghadoe Heights Hotel Killarney
Aghadoe Heights Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing