We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of my favorite places but slipping"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still one of my favorite places but slipping"”
Reviewed 10 November 2009

I was here for a two night getaway with my partner, I had stayed in the hotel twice before so I knew what to expect. The lady who checked us is in was very friendly but landed me in it by welcoming me back when I had told my new lady friend that it was my "first time"!!
Anyway prior to arrival I had called the hotel to insure I had a good room. I inquired and agreed the price for double upgrade as to insure a good view and nice room.
I was annoyed when the room was on the wrong side of the hotel re view and the only thing that made the room any different to the regular room was a small wall dividing the storage and the door. Having previously staying in a regular room I felt ripped off. Serves me right for not just leaving well enough alone and just taking my chances.
I did mention it to reception on the way out and they insisted in giving me 30 euro. The upgrade cost 120. On Friday we dined in the restaurant. We arrived to a restaurant empty but for one table. Another couple. Our waiter sits us next to them. No music playing it was very awkward and uncomfortable. I would expect this maybe in a bistro style place or waggamamma but in a five star you would expect a higher attention to the finer details. The meal was very nice the desserts lovely. Five courses. I had the duck for my main dish which the waiter told me "chef cooks med rare". I had expected this as the last time I had dined my lady friend of the day when informed of this asked could she have it med well and waiter said no!!! So this time I did as I was told. Good thing I'm not as fussy as chef because he would have had two of his dishes sent back. The plate was cold for my main didn't really effect the dish but if I was being cheffie about it would have went back.
So all in all I still love this place we went to the thermal spa the next morning after our breakfast in bed. You can walk around the hotel in your robe and slippers it very chilled.
The view when you have one is amazing and the staff are great.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    222
    99
    45
    20
See reviews for
279
709
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We booked a package on the hotels website which included an upgrade to a lakeview suite and the room was superb. we did have a problem with a leak but there was no problem moving and they had everything ready in the new room before they moved us. We eat in the bar twice and it was excellent and he had a meal in the restaurant which was also excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view over the lakes from our room and the bar/restaurant is stunning. The only let down was the fitness centre, it is small but that wasn't a problem, there was no water in the room and the cross trainer and the rowing machine did not work. The pool is nice. We didn't use the Spa but friends of mine have and they were very impressed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimerickJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2009

My wife and I spent 2 nights recently at the Aghadoe Heights Hotel. This was a second visit for us and the product is excellent. However the experience was enhanced by the staff who were very courteous and I must single out the lady at reception named Marie. We had a small difficulty with our room on arrival - as soon as we brought it to Marie's attention she dealt with it superbly showing maturity and business 'cop on'. Well done Marie.
My wife has used the spa facilities before and rated them very highly and again they did not disappoint. I could go on and on suffice to say their are many 5 star products on the market for people seeking a relaxing break Agahadoe for me takes some beating and we are looking forward to getting back there as soon as we can.
Keep up the good work. 5

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCorkMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed at Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa during our honeymoon in Ireland. The hotel is absolutely amazing. From the moment they picked us up in Killarney, the service was well above anything we would've expected. Every need or request was taken care of for us without an ounce of hesitation from the staff (Brendan you were great!!!). It's like we didn't even need to think the entire time we were there! It was a true romantic retreat. That leads into the resort location and the spa...I don't think there is a better view of the lakes of Killarney then from Aghadoe Heights! The morning view of the fog on the lakes to the evening sunsets were absolutely amazing (granted...we had amazing weather while in Ireland!!!). The spa at the resort was another gem. It was absolutely the best spa I've been to. Our treatments were wonderful and the use of Aveda products throughout the entire resort is a big plus! The restaurant and lounge were great as well. The food was exceptional and so was the Irish coffee from the lounge! I would recommend Aghadoe Heights for a romantic retreat or even if you just love the outdoors. There are plenty of places to hike, explore or just enjoy the view!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golden09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2009

As a treat this Summer and to iron out a few stress lines we decided to indulge ouurselves at the Aghadoe Heights. Some Spa treatments were booked and I went ahead of the rest of the family to relax and enjoy myself. To say it was a comedy of errors in the Aveda Spa would be an understatement!! The whole experience was ultra disappointing.
On discussion with management the charge for the "treatments" was removed, we felt that our treatment by senior management left a lot to be desired.
I believe that a five star experience should be just that, from the minute one walks in the door to the end of the stay nothing less should be expected. Don`t expect this at the Aghadoe Heights!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelloIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We enjoyed a short stay at the Aghadoe Heights hotel, using it as a base to tour the local area. There is no doubt the hotel has much to recommend it, stunning views, good food and friendly (if uneven) service. The main reasons for my 3 rating are poor room quality and an overall impression that the hotel lacks the polish of a true 5 Star and charges too much for the product on offer. As an example of what I consider to be worthy of a 5 Star rating and pricing, the Ritz Carlton Powerscourt springs to mind.

Some of our group had a lakeside room and some had a suite with a lake view. There was a stark difference in the comfort of the rooms. The lakeside rooms were tired, outdated, with tatty bath mats and curtains and really only up to a 3 Star quality. In contrast, the suite with lake view was very nicely appointed and comfortable with separate bath and shower, updated bedlinens and an overall fresh feeling. If you stayed in this category of room you probably would come away with a much better impression. Even though they charge a lower rate for the lakeside rooms there is no excuse for the poor standard.

As has been noted before by other reviewers the food is of a high standard and most of the staff are friendly and professional, the front desk staff could do with more consistency.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkTraveller000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights as a base for visiting The ring of Kerry. When we first arrived I was dissapointed as the hotel is not the nicest I have seen... and then you go through the door and wow you are greeted by a gorgeous huge open fire and very comfortable sofas. Having just returned from the Maldives, Aghadoe Heights had something to beat and guess what it equalled it. The room was lovely with a huge picture window overlooking the lake, the views was lovely and very serene. The hotel is quiet and refined and the food is well cooked and served. Breakfast was delightful and really set you up for the day.The pool and gym were clean and pleasant to use with plenty of towels ect.

All in all Aghadoe Heights quite rightly deserves its 5star rating and delivers a 5star service in every respect. Yes it is expensive but you are getting superior accommodation and service.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Durhamlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
1.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,509 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa

Property: Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Address: Lakes of Killarney, Aghadoe, Killarney 6507, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Killarney town with breathtaking views of the lakes and mountains. This five star hotel is renowned for outstanding service, luxurious accommodation, award winning cuisine and for it's multiple award winning Resort Spa & therapists. Interconnecting and Family Rooms available. Guests can avail of complimentary Parking, Wifi, Daily Papers, Breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Gym, Media Room, Drying Room for Golfers and Fisherman, DVD Library, Tennis Courts and Shuttle Service to Killarney Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aghadoe Heights Hotel Killarney
Aghadoe Heights Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing