We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B in Ireland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Beautiful B&B, Geraldine & Michael were the best hosts, Room was large, welcoming, clean, food was top drawer! We can't wait to return! I love the "honour system" pub!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

693 - 699 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

The Irish are known for their hospitality and good humor, and both are in abundant supply at Killeen House Hotel. The family run inn is thoroughly charming and is situated in a most picturesque country setting, and yet is only a short drive to town. The view across the front lawn and gardens, and from the sitting and dining rooms, is of an ancient stone church and tower set against the Killarney mountains - - a genuinely lyrical setting.

The Rosney's and their staff could not have been friendlier, nicer, or more helpful (w/ advance arrangements, including w/ respect to other stopovers in our travels, and on the ground touring advice). Geraldine (Rosney), and Clare and Gavin welcomed us like family and treated us as special guests - - and the treatment was superb.

The guest rooms are spacious (some very spacious) and come w/ all the amenities. The beds are comfortable and fitted for a good night's sleep. But don't sleep late, you don't want to be late for breakfast - - from hearty to light fare, the best we've had in memory. The coffee was good, and the Irish sausages were a particular favorite - - don't pass them up.

Our two night stay was too brief, but fortunately we had dinner in the dining room one night - - one of the best decisions we made on the entire trip. The menu offerings made choice selection difficult, but the preparation made each choice seem brilliant. From soup to nuts, dinner was outstanding.

Clare, who served us up breakfast, dinner, and lots of good advice on local and far flung sights to see, and particularly which not to miss, is graceful, gracious, and good natured. And I assume she is also very patient, necessary to put up and keep pace w/ Gavin, who in addition to possessing a certain charm and gift (of the gab), pours a very good Guinness and is unusually lucky at card games. All the staff were delightful.

Every aspect of our stay at the Killeen House was top rate, and we'll definitely return for another visit, and hopefully soon.

Our whole family's thanks and good wishes to the Rosneys and staff at the Killeen House.

Paul Snyder
Washiongton, D.C.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJB32089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, couldn't do enough to help or make us and Flora the boxer dog feel very welcome. Bar was lovely and great talking point with the walls decorated with golf balls. Food delicious and served promptly. Breakfast was a delight, never seen such an extensive breakfast menu - of course we tried pretty much everything and it was all yummy! Room was spacious and very comfortable, great size bath with plenty of hot water to fill it. Garden was very well kept and plenty of space for Flora to have a quick trot round. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEBT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

You will be sure to get a warm welcome at this lovely family run hotel.We (8 of us)recently stayed here and Geraldine and her family and staff were fantastic and gave us a first class level of service. The hotel is charming and cosy and the rooms were very nice with plenty of hot water! The food at the Rozzers restaurant was amazing and the location was ideal for all the local golf courses. I came here 10 years ago and it just gets better and better!
Thanks once again to all who looked after us so well,
Kind regards,
Graeme Wall

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graeme016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

during our stay in killeen over 2 nights, we were expecting great things from the amazing reviews it got. And to be fair they were right on a couple of things,
To begin our stay we were greeted with tea an fruit cake in the lounge, what a little treat.
Our rooms blew us away, this is a 3 star and the championchiproom exceeded any 5 star. so clean and spacious. The food was to die for breakfast, evening meals superb. The porridge had everything on it made3 me feel i was back in my grandmothers house.
But What hit the glitch in what would be a perfect stay is the front staff, uniforms looked un kept, the barman seemed to be interested in the tv in the lounge than serve us drinks, ciggerette breath on bar staff was off putting could not wait for him to leave table. Although it shines in friendliness its these little things that could do with work.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurawesterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

If you were to imagine coming home after a long journey, and feeling the relaxation and ease of being at home, that's what you find at Killeen House. It isn't just the superb service, but the beautiful, comfortable rooms, the breakfast time that feels like leisure, and the delicious, full meals that are the best that I've had anywhere -- in the states, in Ireland, in China, or in France.
To be there again is on my wish list. To have the warmth of Geraldine's concern for our best of times, the chatter and bubbliness of Michele, the rock solid service of the entire staff. I want to see it again and Killarney from the mountain top.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kass011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Geraldine and Michael Rosney of The Killeen House have the best of both worlds. A great hotel in the middle of an extremely scenic area of Ireland. The staff catered to us the moment we drove up the driveway to the moment we left. The rooms were spacious, clean, bright and the view out three windows was wonderful. The breakfast meal was as customised as we wanted and the evening meals were delicious and well served. A smile and a "No Problem" was the mood of the staff all the time. The staff was always there to offer advice if asked and provided spot-on suggestions of where to go and what to see. Our only regret is we could not stay longer.

We would stay there again and will recommend the Killeen House to anybody visiting Ireland if they want an example of great Irish hospitality, friendship and humour.

Thanks,
The Weltmers
San Antonio, TX

Room Tip: book in advance for a corner room with the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancedHamstring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant

Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range: £114 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney Town Centre, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula. Free car parking and and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing