We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A once in a lifetime vacation experience, not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A once in a lifetime vacation experience, not to be missed”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

If you go to Killarney and fail to visit The Killeen House, either to stay or to dine, you have missed the best experience in Ireland. In 40 years of travel, this is my favorite destination and I would return as often as I could.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    42
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
184
379
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Michael and Geraldine cater to golfing groups and we had 14 grown men, 40-55 touring the country, finally settling in Killarney for five days and Michael and Geraldine were invaluable to us. Whether it was a local asset in dealing with a shipping issue with Federal Express in Ireland while we played, or simply local knowledge for a nice place for a pint in Kinsale, they were over the top and ALWAYS there.

The food at Rozzers is outstanding and they have an excellent "back room" that seats about 30 where we hosted our Irish golfing competition for a "banquet of sorts". Great location, excellent service from Gavin and Michelle as well, great rooms, but its the warmth of the hosts that will bring us back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a champions room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelmartin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The rooms were fine for a 3 star, only slight negative was no water or tea/coffee in the room. Breakfast was very good and the food at the Hotel restaurant Rozzers was excellent. However, it is the personal touch, the friendly service of Geraldine and Michael that stood out throught the trip. They and their staff treat you more like a close friend while you are there than a client. The Hotel and particularly their bar is also a must see for golf fans. Fran.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbissett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Beautiful B&B, Geraldine & Michael were the best hosts, Room was large, welcoming, clean, food was top drawer! We can't wait to return! I love the "honour system" pub!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The Irish are known for their hospitality and good humor, and both are in abundant supply at Killeen House Hotel. The family run inn is thoroughly charming and is situated in a most picturesque country setting, and yet is only a short drive to town. The view across the front lawn and gardens, and from the sitting and dining rooms, is of an ancient stone church and tower set against the Killarney mountains - - a genuinely lyrical setting.

The Rosney's and their staff could not have been friendlier, nicer, or more helpful (w/ advance arrangements, including w/ respect to other stopovers in our travels, and on the ground touring advice). Geraldine (Rosney), and Clare and Gavin welcomed us like family and treated us as special guests - - and the treatment was superb.

The guest rooms are spacious (some very spacious) and come w/ all the amenities. The beds are comfortable and fitted for a good night's sleep. But don't sleep late, you don't want to be late for breakfast - - from hearty to light fare, the best we've had in memory. The coffee was good, and the Irish sausages were a particular favorite - - don't pass them up.

Our two night stay was too brief, but fortunately we had dinner in the dining room one night - - one of the best decisions we made on the entire trip. The menu offerings made choice selection difficult, but the preparation made each choice seem brilliant. From soup to nuts, dinner was outstanding.

Clare, who served us up breakfast, dinner, and lots of good advice on local and far flung sights to see, and particularly which not to miss, is graceful, gracious, and good natured. And I assume she is also very patient, necessary to put up and keep pace w/ Gavin, who in addition to possessing a certain charm and gift (of the gab), pours a very good Guinness and is unusually lucky at card games. All the staff were delightful.

Every aspect of our stay at the Killeen House was top rate, and we'll definitely return for another visit, and hopefully soon.

Our whole family's thanks and good wishes to the Rosneys and staff at the Killeen House.

Paul Snyder
Washiongton, D.C.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJB32089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, couldn't do enough to help or make us and Flora the boxer dog feel very welcome. Bar was lovely and great talking point with the walls decorated with golf balls. Food delicious and served promptly. Breakfast was a delight, never seen such an extensive breakfast menu - of course we tried pretty much everything and it was all yummy! Room was spacious and very comfortable, great size bath with plenty of hot water to fill it. Garden was very well kept and plenty of space for Flora to have a quick trot round. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2011

You will be sure to get a warm welcome at this lovely family run hotel.We (8 of us)recently stayed here and Geraldine and her family and staff were fantastic and gave us a first class level of service. The hotel is charming and cosy and the rooms were very nice with plenty of hot water! The food at the Rozzers restaurant was amazing and the location was ideal for all the local golf courses. I came here 10 years ago and it just gets better and better!
Thanks once again to all who looked after us so well,
Kind regards,
Graeme Wall

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graeme016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,318 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
2,097 reviews
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
1,458 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel

Property: Killeen House Hotel
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Killeen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing