We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I expected a country house hotel but it was just a bit old world for us.
I dont like wallpaper everwhere especially in bathrooms.
We were looking forward to eating here as the restaurant has very good reviews,
But our bar food wasent the best to be honest.
The walls were paper thin in fact we could hear every word the people next door were saying.
and we heard every time the gentleman used the loo.
Hot water was plentyfull in the shower etc.
Breakfast was served to you but very annoying haveing to get up every time you wanted a refill of coffee you had to go into next part of dineing room.
A pot of coffee would be much more handy on the table.
A lot of golfers seem to stay here
If you wanted to go into killarney for the evening you would have to get a taxi as its a bit out of the town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tammycorkireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hi Tammy from Cork and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to us last August here in the Killeen House.

Naturally, we are really sorry that, as you say in your headline, we were not for you.

Indeed having looked at many of the other Trip Advisor reviews you have posted on your hotel and restaurant experiences (especially in Ireland) we can very clearly see that we would never be in a position to totally satisfy your needs and requirements.

That being said, we are very sorry that you didn't mention any of the issues that did not meet with your approval while you were actually staying with us Tammy. Some of them could have been resolved on the spot, while obviously more of them could not.

Like for example, while we certainly wouldn't have torn the wallpaper off the bathroom walls to satisfy you, we would with a heart and a half have given you enough coffee at your breakfast table for you to take a swim in.....!!!

We were especially sorry to note that noise was an issue for you, because we take great pride in having a nice and quiet atmosphere here in the Killeen House. It's extremely rare for any of our guests to be affected by noise, except very occasionally with loud cars sometimes going up the side road that a few of our bedrooms face out on. And all the internal walls here are concrete, which greatly helps to reduce - but not obviously totally eliminate - noises.

Our location is what it is Tammy. Some guests love the fact that we are 10 minutes outside town, and then some like yourself find it an inconvenience. On balance the vast majority of our guests appreciate the peace and calm of the location and the nice quiet gardens we are surrounded by. But certainly if an 8 to 10 minute €12 taxi ride into the nearest town is an issue for someone, then clearly the Killeen House is not the ideal location for them to choose to stay in.

In any case Tammy, thank you again for taking the time to review your stay with us and we also again apologise to you that we did not meet your expectations.

All the best.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband has been raving to me about this little hotel for 6 years. He had stayed there 3 previous times on golfing trips. He had built it up so high I thought it could never be that good. But he was right, I was wrong. I loved the room, the pub, the food, the responsive service, the immaculate condition but most of all the friendly ambiance. The Rosneys are warm, informative and caring...for you and about you. A guest never goes wanting for anything...this place is top-notch. It's the best place to make your "home" when you are in the Killarney area.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjcjcjcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hi Chris and thank you so much for the stellar review here on Trip Advisor - we really do appreciate it.

It was a joy to meet you and we're delighted that we lived up to Rick's recommendations of us. We hope also that we played our part in providing you with happy memories to last a lifetime!

And thanks a million for sending on that range finder gadget to our other guest Ray - we were in fear it might never have made it home otherwise!

Thanks again Chris, best to Rick and we hope to see you both back again n God's Own Country, sooner rather than later.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending two nights at the Killeen House while we were touring around Ireland for our 30th anniversary. We are back home now and have decided that the Killeen House was the best hotel we stayed at. From the moment we were greeted by name by Gavin as we walked up to the front door we were made to feel welcome. The breakfast is excellent and the Chateaubriand for dinner was superb. Thank you Mike, Geraldine and Michelle.

Room Tip: We loved our room. We slept very well. There isn't a lift, but Gavin carried the bags so it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

What a wonderful headline for us to see when we opened up our page and did our daily check on Trip Advisor!

Thanks a million Geoff and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here in the Killeen House so much.

Thank you especially for choosing us to celebrate such a milestone in your lives together and we hope that we played our small part in creating a load of happy memories on such a special vacation.

Hearty congratulation to you both on your 30th anniversary - and please don't wait another 30 years before coming back to visiit us again.

Thanks again for the wonderful review and all the best to you both.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After spending my 30th wedding anniversary with my wife in September 2012 I returned with six of my golfing friends - including one of my sons - in July of this year this time to enjoy all of the fantastic golf courses available to us in the Killarney area.. Our ages ranged from 28 to 68 with a lot of different tastes. I have been organizing golf trips for over 30 years for groups ranging in size from 4 to 20 but never outside of the United States. Although I think I know what it takes to make one of these trips a success, I was still just a "rookie" when it came to organizing a golf in Ireland. I am happy to say that the six day trip - four of them spent at the Killeen House - went off like a dream - even the weather, except for one 9 holes played in perhaps the worst weather I have ever played in, was fantastic. Although I would like to take all the credit for the success of this trip I have thank Michael, Geraldine and their staff at the Killeen House for at least 60% of it. Without his patience and help I would never have been able to pull this off. Great place, great people - don't miss it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi Larry and a million thanks for this (your second!) review of the Killeen House - we really and truly apreciate it.

We're especially delighted that your second visit was just as enjoyable as the first one, because it's obviously a totally different thing when you travel to celebrate a major wedding anniversary, as opposed to travelling to play golf - and the fact that we managed to make you so happy on both occasions is a source of great pride to all of us here in the Killeen House.

It was a pleasure to look after you Larry, and you know exactly where we are if and when you next plan a return visit to beautiful Killarney and the magnificent Southwest of Ireland.

Keep well and all the best to everyone.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

From the 4th till the 11th of October we had the pleasure to stay in this hotel with 10 friends for a little golf outing.

We’ve read all the feedback on tripadvisor and where a bit sceptic since they were all so raving.
Well, let me tell you, they are all true. Nobody exaggerated even one bit.

From the moment we’ve booked the hotel via email till the moment we got on the bus to the airport, both Michel and Geraldine went out of their way to make sure that we would have an enjoyable holiday.

When we arrived the first night they were literally standing on the doorstep to welcome us and to help us check in and get our bags in our room as soon as possible. Every day they made time to catch up with what we’ve done and what was on the schedule the next. They even have a dryer room to dry our clothes and golf gear when needed.

The food in the restaurant was just fantastic and breakfast was marvelous. Everything on the menu was amazing but at one point we had the goat cheese and surf & turf three days in a row, that tells you how good this was. The rooms were comfy, spacious and clean and they can rightfully boast about their showers (smiley).

I feel bad to single out any one of the staff because they were are very friendly and helpful, from the lady who served us breakfast every morning (I’m ashamed I never asked her name but I think it's Margarite) to the wonderful Michelle and Daimon. But we loved every hour we’ve spent at the bar with Gavin (sorry we couldn’t make it to your darts game – we were knackered), his wit and humor was just what we needed after a long day of golf.

I can go on about all the things which make this hotel so special but I think you get the picture, it really is that good.

You haven't been to Ireland if you haven't stayed at this place.

We would like to thank each and every one of the Killeen House hotel because we had a fantastic time staying at your ‘home’ and we would love to come back one day.

(I hope I’ve got everybody’s name correct, if not, I do apologize)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pim_Verschueren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

What a truly spectacular review Pim - thank you most sincerely for going to so much trouble to write it and post it!

We were delighted that everything went so well for you all and that you enjoyed the overall Irish experience so much.

Seven days and seven nights can be a little bit long for a group of guests to stay in the one place, but in your case, everybody seemed to enjoy themselves tremendously!

The fact that the weather was so co-operative for the majority of your stay was a major plus too, and it helped to keep exeryone in good form....

We sincerely hope that you will all enjoy Wales in 2014 Pim - but we a;so sincelrey hope you might consider retiurning to Ireland in 2015.....!!!

Thanks again, all the very best, and please say Hi to all the boys.

Michael & Geraldine

PS Gavin won his darts match!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My family and I just finished a four night stay at Killeen House. Owners Mike, Geraldine and Michelle made our stay absolutely wonderful. The "make yourself at home"/family atmosphere is the real reason to stay here, in addition to the perfectly comfortable accommodations and delicious food. The gorgeous setting of this quaint hotel is an added bonus which makes the Killeen House the best place to base a Ring of Kerry/ Killarney visit. Mike will help you sort out your best itinerary options and Geraldine will insure that you have everything you!! A great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie_Drew_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Hi Carrie and thank you so much for the excellent review here on Trip Advisor - we are very grateful to you for going to the time and trouble of writng it and posting up up.

It was a pleasure to look afer you and your folks and we hope and trust that the rest of the trip went off just as well for you all....

Thanks again, and you know now exactly where we are if and when you ever make it back to God's Own Country!

All the best to everyone.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Recently returned from my second wonderful stay at Killeen House. Having already enjoyed a marvelous experience at this incredible hotel seven years ago, it was a joy to be able to share a new experience with my son and several friends. Michael and Geraldine (the boss) go to extremes to ensure that your stay is beyond expectations. Starting your day with a bountiful Irish breakfast, enjoying a Guiness or Jameson in the golf themed bar after your round and finally enjoying the incredible cuisine in the hotel restaurant Rozzers is the only way to go when visiting Killarney. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi Ken and sincere thanks for this amazing review here on Trip Advisor - we are very thankful to you for it.

It was a pleasure to look after you all and we genuinely hope that everyone had a great experience on their Irish vacation, which was probably enhanced somewhat by the reasonably co-operative Weather Gods.....!

And please don't wait another seven years before visiting us again Ken!

Thanks again and all the best to everyone in CT.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,501 reviews
3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,400 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,386 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant

Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range: £139 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney Town Centre, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula. Free car parking and and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Superbreak UK, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing