We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing dinner in good small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner in good small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've never stayed such comfortable hotel ever. small but well furnished room, tasty dinner at comfortable restaurant. Owner well advised for route for next destination. I

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManabuS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello and thank you so much for the super review here on Trip Advisor. We really do appreciate it.

It was a pleasure to look after you both and also to help and assist you with your onward travelling arrangements.

Now that you are safely home to Munich, we hope you have many happy memories of your Irish holiday - and we hope you will tell all your friends about what a wonderful place that Ireland is!

Thank you again and very best regards.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    42
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
184
380
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you like good service, great food, and a friendly Irish atmosphere(especially the pub) then the Killeen House is for you. Minutes from downtown Killarney and central to all of the premiere golf courses in the South it is simply the best value for Irish tourists and golf tours. Recently, was my second stay there. It will be my go-to Irish home-away-from-home for all future trips to this beautiful area.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms. They aren't that much more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlbailey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Bob and thank you so much for the wonderful review - we are very grateful to you.

We're even more grateful that you came back to us again after all those year Bob - and that you trusted us with the loan of your reputation, by recommending our place to the entire group for a week long stay!

We're delighted that we lived up to your expectations and that we managed to send you all home happy!

Thanks again Bob and please say hi to all the boys from everyone here in the Killeen house.

Until we meet again....

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I wish I could give 6 stars to Geraldine and Michael of the Killeen House Hotel. We stayed in Killarney center, and had our bus driver take us here for dinner. Michael greeted us at the door like old friends, and it only got better. Michael realised that one of our family friends was a frequent patron of the restuarant, and we put them on the phone together, which both parties thoroughly enjoyed. We had a few drinks served by the very personable Stephen in a golf lovers dream bar. (Filled with 8,000+ golf balls from all over the world). The entire staff was very friendly, as were all of the guests. Geraldine ushered us into the dining room after a few pints. Lily was our server, and she was very responsive and friendly. I had a ceasar salad and the rack of lamb. It was the best meal I had during our entire 8 day stay in Ireland, and to be matter of fact, the best meal I have had on both of my trips to Ireland totaling more than 30 days! Thank you to Geraldine and Michael for such a wonderful experience. We will definitely be back!
The O'Donoghues

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Carter and thank you most sincerely for the truly outstanding review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it.

And a special thanks for name-checking so many of our staff Carter - we strongly feel here in the Killeen House that it's the staff that are the cream on this little cake of ours.

The rest of the world operates on a 'six degrees of separation' principle, but as our conversation the other night proved, we Irish only need one and a half degrees....! What a pleasure it was to re-connect with the Legend that is Jim S....

Thanks again Carter and we're delighted Clan O'Donoghue and sundry hangers on and disciples had such a good time with us!

All the best to you all.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Thanx to Michael, Geraldine and their staff. Their hospitality, the perfect food and their interior made us feel at home. Their craftmanship of running the hotel and restaurant are an example of how hotelmanagement ought to be. They have attention for the smallest details. We highly recommend this hotel and we will be back. Teja and Emerence

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teja007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
What a lovely review headline for us to read.....!

Hi Teja and a great big thank you for this wonderful compliment here on Trip Advisor - we really do appreciate it.

It was a pleasure for us to look after you both and we are delighted that we lived up to your expectations.

And please tell Emerence that Michael will definitely get her name right the next time....!!

Travel very safely and we look forward to welcoming you both back to the Killeen House at some future stage.

With best regards.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our CIE Emerald Supreme tour included dinner at Killeen House. The entire experience was superb.
Before going into the restaurant, we were greeted on our coach. From there, we were escorted into the splendid dining room.
We had a wide choice of excellent food with wonderful, typically Irish friendly service. The dining room itself is extremely comfortable.
Kudos to the excellent management and staff of Killeen House for a memorable evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tejo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi and thank you so much for this wonderful review here on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to look after you all, and we're delighted that we played our small part in adding to your happy memories of a hopefully wonderful Irish vacation!

Thanks again and all the very best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

After considerable tripadvisor research I booked the Killeen House for two nights for my wife/me and two new American friends that we recently met on a cruise. (Very anxious to impress them !!).
I got it right !!, but more importantly Mike, Geraldene, Steve and staff GOT IT RIGHT !!
Mike met us in the car park, a big smile, an outstreached hand and we were instant friends. We exchanged first names ONCE, and from then on, everyone knew our names first time, never a mistake.
Location........................Perfect for golf, Perfect for touring.
Rooms...........................Beautiful (If you're from the USA, cute and dandy)
Rozzers Restaurant........Delightful (The Fish Chowder, like we had on Fishermans Warf)
Breakfast.......................A work of art. (Michelin Star standard)
Staff..............................Well trained and 'just right' on when to appear.
Hosts.............................Informative, engaging and professional.
When we return to Ireland I won't need tripadvisor !!!
Thanks to everyone
John, Cherry, Bill and Joy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Wow John - what a spectacular review!!!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and it post it up here on Trip Advisor. We are very grateful to you.

We're delighted that everything went off so well for you all and especially so that Bill and Joy had such a good time.

We were very conscious that YOU were anxious to give them a memorable time and thankfully they had a ball....! Certainly, Killarney isn't the Galapagos Islands, but in our own way, we're just as interesting!

Thanks again so much John and all the very best of everything to you all.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
194 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great food, peaceful location. The Killeen House Hotel is a grand B&B. The Rozzers restaurant is there so your food will be delightful. A small cozy bar and wonderful surrounding lands of Ireland. A wee bit off the beaten path, but a delight. Host Geraldine and Michael Rosney are very fine people and will do everything in their power to make your stay enjoyable. They have won the “Traveler’s Choice in 2013”.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReenTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Reen and thank you so much for the outstanding review here on Trip Advisor. We really and truly do appreciate it.

For us, it's all about sending our guests home happy - even after they've paid their bill...! And we're delighted that we so clearly succeeded in doing this in your case.

Thanks again Reen and you know now where we are when next your plans bring you back to to God's Own Country!

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel

Property: Killeen House Hotel
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd and TravelUp so you can book your Killeen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing