We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Ireland Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Ireland Experience”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights in June with my wife and 9 year old daughter. The experience was just what we had been told. Amazingly friendly staff and Michael and Geraldine the owners were there and checking on us the whole time. They know how to make you feel at home and really showed what Irish hospitality was all about. They made sure our daughter was taken care of and included in the conversations as well as showing her some of the games in the bar to keep her entertained (she never did get the golf ball on the tee snow globe). We were in Ireland for 10 days total and this was our favorite place by far. We ate dinners at the bar and had great food and excellent service and company. The breakfast was great and we never waited for anything. The room was plenty big for the three of us and was clean and well kept. Michael helped us with our plans and gave great advice on what to see and do. For a relaxing, feel at home place with great people that take time to spend with the guests - this is your spot. Would recommend for anyone traveling to Killarney.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go_Utes_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for the great review here on Trip Advisor - we really and truly do appreciate it!

It was our absolute pleasure to look after you all and we're delighted that your stay with us went off so well. Our only little regret is that Ruby didn't get the ball 'teed up'...but that might just be the excuse you need to come back and visit us again!

Hope the rest of the trip went off just as well and that you're now safely back home in beautiful Utah...!

Again, sincere thanks for the great review.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    44
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
202
393
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this Hotel for 5 nights in may of 2014. I was recommended to us by a friend that had stayed there in the past. My room was a little on the small side for 2 adults but we were offered a larger room and declined. Those that had the larger rooms were very happy with their room size. I found the food to be outstanding. The staff went out of their way to come in early and serve breakfast an hour before they would normally open up in order to accommodate our requirement to go golfing early. The breakfast menu had a good variety to choose from and they will make up anything that you ask for if it is not on the menu. The meals that I had were the best during my 2 week stay in Ireland. All of the staff went out of their way to smile and make sure that we were enjoying every aspect of our stay. This gem is located an easy distance from the bustling little town of Killarney and close to some very good golf courses. The cosy little bar is a great place to have a night cap and review the days events. I was on a golf trip with friends but I would recommend this Hotel for couples and families as well. I give it a 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: If you are not a couple choose the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyOd345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Billy and sincere thanks for the outstanding review here on Trip Advisor - we are extremely grateful to you for going to all the time and trouble of writing it and posting it up here on Trip Advisor.

We're delighted that you enjoyed the stay, and it was our pleasure to look after you Billy.

As you mention, here in the Killeen House we have two room types, our Standards and our deluxe Championships. The Standards are the rooms that were in place when we bought the Killeen House on the first day (away back in 1992). They are small rooms by modern standards, and they are also the reason we are rated as a 3 star property rather than a 4 star property. But we strive to keep them well and renovate and refurbish them frequently.

The eight Championship rooms that we built on to the Hotel are much larger and more well appointed than the Standards (and a bit more expensive to stay in obviously!). We would happily compare them with any 4 star (and maybe the odd 5 star!) hotel bedroom in Ireland.

Thank you also for mentioning the overall service, food and ambiance Billy. That whole area is totally down to the people who work so hard here, and we are especially proud of what a nice - not to mind professional - bunch we have working with us!

Thanks again so much and all the very best to you all.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, BC
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had the opportunity to spend a few days at Killeen House while on a golf trip with 11 friends, and what a wonderful stay it was!!! I stayed in a "Championship" Room and it was everything I hoped for and more... large room, very comfortable beds, lots of natural light and a good sized washroom. The restaurant and pub served fresh, delicious meals and the beers on tap were always frosty and fresh! The staff was excellent; friendly, knowledgable and enjoyable to talk with.

Although the accomodations and food were top notch, what I really appreciated more than anything was the "above-the-call" service and hospitality! We checked in late in the afternoon and were warmly greeted by the owners, Geraldine and Michael... arriving downstairs for breakfast the next morning we were all welcomed with a personal "Good Morning", followed by our name, greeting from Geraldine and Michael!! This was common throughout our stay, morning, noon and night! While relaxing in the wonderful sitting room downstairs, Michael would drop by for a chat and offered assistance for all of our needs!

I wouldn't hesitate recommending Killeen House to all; golfers, bikers, sightseers, and those needing a place to crash for the night, etc. etc.!

Room Tip: Book a "Championship" Room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc_from_the_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hi Doc and sincere thanks for the outstanding review here on Trip Advisor - we really and truly appreciate your taking the time and effort to write it and post it up.

It was a great pleasure for us to look after you and we're delighted that we so clearly lived up to your expectations of us.

The Gods of golf were kind to you all as well with the wonderful weather, which is always a great bonus to get here in Ireland.

Now that you're safely back to reality in Canada, we're very happy that we played our part in you overall enjoyment of your Irish vacation.

Thanks again and all the best to everyone.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I booked this hotel after reading some reviews. Never having been to Ireland I did not know what to expect. This very cozy traditional hotel is a real gem. It is more on the lines of a small manor house with lovely gardens and a quiet location. If you like your service with a smile and people who don't take your business for granted you will enjoy this hotel. It is family run and everyone makes you feel welcome.The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The bar is small but that makes it easier to exchange the days happenings with others. Most guests here seem to be repeat guests. The restaurant was wonderful we ate twice and each time the food was thoughtfully prepared using fresh local produce. Better than other area restaurants. Breakfast was fantastic with lots of items incl kippers and black pudding as well as everything else you could want. On our last day the chef got up a 6am to prepare us breakfast to go (with a smile) and made us coffee. Who does that anymore?
Michael and Geraldine ( owners) certainly know how to please. We had a wonderful spa experience referred by Geraldine. Lorca checked us in and helped with the bags as there is no elevator to the 2nd floor. He gave us lots of info on the area which was much appreciated. Obviously a favorite with golfers one day a helicopter came to pick some up and ferry them to further courses, so you know it is a well appreciated hotel. All this and it doesn't break the bank. Good location to visit the Kerry area. Kudos to a well trained staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsinkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
What a wonderful - and comprehensive - review.

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write it and post it up here on Trip Advisor - we truly do appreciate it.

It was our absolute pleasure to look after you both on your recent trip and we're delighted that we lived up to your expectations of us.

And thank you in particular for specifically mentioning Lorca. He just started working with us very recently, but already we believe he's a young man with a great attitude and a bright future!

We trust that all the rest of your trip (including Barcelona!) went off just as well for you, and that you have both now safely landed back home in beautiful Gulf coast Naples!

Thanks again and all the very best to both of you.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have been so excited to write a review for this location even though I don't usually write them. However, this hotel is extraordinary! This is one of the best places that we have stayed in any country.

I found reviews on tripadvisor.com to be very helpful and I hope this one is beneficial to you. It is hard to describe how wonderful our experience was at the Killeen House. Before we even left the U.S., Geraldine offered to help us with our itinerary. She made some excellent suggestions which we incorporated into our journey. Upon our actual arrival at their House Hotel, we were greeted with open arms and our bags were whisked away to our room by Stephen. He then asked if we needed something to eat after our long journey. As we ate, Michael sat down with us to personally get acquainted. He asked how we were doing and offered assistance for our next day. Once again, we were given the best ideas for the perfect day. We had been driving a lot the previous days, so Michael wisely suggested a more relaxing schedule and it made all the difference in our first day's experience in Killarney.

We signed up for the 2 Nights of Bed & Breakfast + 1 Dinner directly through the Killeen House website. I recommend that you look at their site. Those combinations end up being a better value. We also chose the Championship Double Room. What a delight that room was. It was very large which was nice after being in some smaller rooms. It was beautifully decorated, had a large bathroom, and a great shower. The setting of the hotel is lovely, serene, and has wonderful views including a stone church. However, it is close to everything you want to see in Killarney.

The breakfast and dinner were both 5 star quality! It was the best food we had in an 8 day journey through Ireland. Don't skip on the desserts, they are beyond words. Their restaurant is one of the most popular in the area so make a reservation. However, Michael and Geraldine offer such top service that they will find a way to accommodate you for breakfast and dinner at a time that works best for you, if at all possible.

Overall, their service and concern for those that stay with them is unparalleled and personal. We had been driving through Ireland but expressed that we found the roads to be very stressful. I was driving and my 23 year old daughter was the navigator. Another couple staying at the hotel told us about taking a tour bus to Dingle since the roads were especially narrow. As soon as we spoke to Geraldine and Michael about it, they arranged for a tour bus to pick us up at the hotel the next morning. The driver was one of the most highly recommended on tripadvisor.com. So, we had an incredible, relaxing trip through the breathtaking peninsula. When we returned from the tour, it was sadly time to leave Killeen House and drive to our next destination. As we were about to pull out of the parking lot, one of the employees came to our car and offered us coffee to go. We gladly accepted!

My daughter and I have many fond memories of the Killeen House, and all the people who make it so special. Each employee takes great pride and ownership which shows in service and care of every individual. I believe any person visiting Ireland will truly enjoy your stay with Geraldine and Michael.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Championship room. It is very large. However, I did not see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryalice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
What an absolutely incredible review Maryalice...

Out of all the many wonderful reviews we have received over the years, this has to rank right up there with the very best of them!

It was our total pleasure to look after Mary Catherine and yourself and we are delighted that you had such a special vacation here in the Killeen House with us.

Thank you especially for highlighting both the quality of our food and the friendliness of our staff Maryalice. We take particular pride in both areas and we are constantly striving to ensure that both of these vital areas are as good as we can possibly make them.

We hope that the rest of the vacation was just as enjoyable for you both, and now that you are safely back home in beautiful Atlanta - please feel free to tell all your friends about us!

Thanks again so much and all the best of everything to you both.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Killeen House Hotel in Killarney is our favorite hotel in the world! We have been there several times and enjoy it more with each visit. Geraldine and Michael are certainly the best hosts imaginable, and their staff follows their superb example. Our most recent visit was in June, 2014 and was our greatest stay yet. The championship rooms are perfect in every detail. We especially like a particular room and Geraldine and Michael make sure it is available for us. We look forward to the evenings in the pub to see the changes (additions of logo golf balls and bag tags) since our last visit…and to enjoy a cold Guinness! This visit we arranged to eat every evening meal in Rozzers restaurant and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed the different menu offerings, especially the fish specialties, and the daily specials. Chef O’Gorman certainly works his magic with each dish. And the dining room service was flawless. We think Michael said it best in his website video…God was in a particularly good humor when He created this part of the world. In our opinion, Geraldine and Michael epitomize what hotel operators are supposed to be…everything to everyone. Will we visit the Killeen House Hotel again? Most definitely! And we hope to get there sooner rather than later. Thanks for a wonderful experience and unequaled hospitality. Ingrid & David White (Kaiserslautern, Germany)

Room Tip: .All the rooms are wonderful. The Championship rooms are larger, a nice feature for a longer visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
What a magnificent review David - and what an amazing compliment you pay us!

A million thanks to Ingrid and yourself for taking the time and trouble to write it and post it up here on Trip Advisor - we are very grateful to you.

As usual it was a pleasure to see you again and to look after you both here in the Killeen House.

We especially appreciate repeat guests such as yourselves, because in a place like ours, it's all about looking after our guests as well as we can. And then, when they keep on coming back to us, we know for sure we're doing something right...

We hope the rest of your trip to the West of Ireland went off just as well, and trust that you are now safely back home in Germany, happily laden down with bundles of great memories of Ireland.

Thanks again David, and all the very best to Ingrid.

Until the next time, keep very well.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked via the lovely evening staff in the bar at short notice, for two nights later that week in July 2013. They did not bother to take a holding deposit but trusted us to arrive when we said we should!
We arrived to a charming but busy Victorian Golfer's hotel in glorious countryside during a heat wave. Somehow they procured a fan to keep the air moving in our room: this was despite all the local shops having sold out!
Michael and his charming wife Geraldine treated us to their marvellous hospitality. They were terrifically enthusiastic: the food was wonderful and very popular with non-residents too!
They work very hard for the 6 months of the year that they are open (Summer months).
We found much to do in the vicinity (Killarney & Ring of Kerry) despite one of us having to work for part of our stay. Sadly we didn't take our golf clubs with us. We shall next time.
Thankyou for our first and memorable trip to Eire.
We will definately return!
Kind regards,

Caroline & Mark Collier (Surrey, England).

Room Tip: Hotel is a little way out of Killarney in a country setting. You need transport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazbyDazby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, General Manager at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Caroline and Mark and thank you both so much for the excellent review here on Trip Advisor - we truly appreciate it!

It was a pleasure to look after you both, and it's a source of immense pride to all of us here in the Killeen House that you still have such happy memories so long after the event!

And it's wonderful to hear that you're going to be back again - golfing instead of working this time!

Thanks again to you both and all the very best of good luck and good fortune until we meet again.

Michael & Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,168 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,197 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,530 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel

Property: Killeen House Hotel
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Killeen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing