We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a remarkable place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a remarkable place”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

After a long days driving, the warm reception we received at Killeen House was greatly welcomed. With the mountainous views and peaceful countryside setting, this really was an idyllic setting for our weekend stay. We were greeted by the charming Stephen who immediately tended to our luggage and showed us up to our rooms. After a quick freshen up we headed downstairs where we met the lovely owners Micheal and Geraldine who made us feel right at home and were very attentive to our every need. Having arrived on an early Saturday evening, the atmosphere was lively as the restaurant slowly began to fill up. Not only was this place a hit with the guests but the locals seemed to be very fond of it too. Having perused through the menu I instantly knew we were in for a fine Irish treat. The food was exceptional; definitely the best food on the whole trip and some of the best food I’ve ever tasted. I highly recommend for starters the Open Ravioli of Scallops and Prawns and for mains the Pan Fried Fillet of Beef, it really was mouth-watering. For breakfast, if you are not calorie counting, do check out the pastry section…that’s all I need to say about that. After our evening meal we retired to the lounge to settle and have a few drinks to celebrate our friends 40th Birthday. Stephen came over with a complimentary Cosmopolitan as a Birthday treat. We all tried a sip and from then on we were hooked. Stephen really does make the best Cosmo’s in the whole of Ireland.

Killeen House really was the highlight of my holiday in Ireland. We were all made to feel so welcome and I truly felt spoilt the whole time and that was all down to the staff. The girls who looked after us during Dinner and Breakfast provided an outstanding service, and Stephen kept us entertained in the evenings, and also kept the drinks flowing. And as for Micheal and Geraldine, they certainly do know how to spoil their guests. I would highly recommend a visit and I can’t wait to plan my next trip to Killeen House.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank secretname1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
What a sparkling review!

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write it and post it up here on Trip Advisor - it means an awful lot to us.

And a special thank you for name-checking our man Stephen in particular and also commenting so favourably on the lovely ladies in the Restaurant. As you so correctly say, it's the people who make the place!

We are delighted that you had such a good time with us and now you know exactly where we are if and when you ever make it back to the glorious Kingdom of Kerry!

Thanks again.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    45
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
205
396
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great room. Great location. Room was lovely and bed was comfortable. It was very quiet. Our hosts had great recommendations for things to see and do. We added great places to see on our trip that we wouldn't known about (Skellig Ring and Bunratty Castle). Breakfast was wonderful. Easy parking. Google maps had difficulty directing us there. Booking.com map worked good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getrad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi and thank you most kindly for this wonderful review here on Trip Advisor - we are extremely grateful to you for taking the time and trouble to write it and post it up.

We're delighted that not alone did our services, but also our suggestions, add to the overall enjoyment of your holiday break here in Ireland.

In particular the Skelligs trip is an absolutely unique and world class experience for those of our guests who take it.

It's not a UNESCO World Heritage Site for nothing....!

Thanks again so much and all the very best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Hotel is top class, most beautifully located, with excellent service and restaurant. Highly recommend to everyone travelling by car. We enjoy our stay there, the warm reception by the owners, the food and drinks and rooms, and the lakes and parks nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi and thank you so very much for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us here in the Killeen House - we truly appreciate your taking the time to write it and post it up on Trip Advisor.

It was our pleasure to look after you and we hope and trust that you are now safely back home in Hoboken, laden down with a multitude of happy Irish memories!

Thanks again and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The owners are so nice, and personable. The surrounding location was picturesque, and beautiful. It was a hike into the city, so proximity to the city center wasn't great, but it was very close to the entrance of the ring of kerry. The breakfast was yummy, and great tea! Felt like home to our group of 12. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pseudoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi and thanks a million for the superb review here on Trip Advisor - we really do appreciate it.

It was a pleasure to look after you all and we're delighted that we played our part in giving you a memorable Irish vacation.

You're right about our location not being close to the downtown area - we are a 10 minute drive away, in beautiful and rustic Aghadoe. For some, that's a small inconvenience, for others, it's a blessing....

We're not sure exactly what it was for you though, because you headlined the review as a 'beautiful location' - and then you only marked it as average!!

But the most important thing of all is that you enjoyed our offering and that you would definitely re-visit us, which is what means the most to us all here.

Thanks again so much and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have been to this hotel 4 times since 2000. It is a lovely, small hotel. The rooms are bright and lovely. We love Ireland and it feels as if we can't travel there without a stop in Killarney at the Killeen House. The owners are charming and make guests feel comfortable. The food in Rozzers is fabulous. You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie5856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hi Connie and thank you so much yet again for the sterling review here on Trip Advisor - we really and truly appreciate it.

As usual, it was our absolute pleasure to look after Mike and yourself, and we hope and trust that the rest of the trip went off just as well for you both, and that you are now safely back home in Atlanta, with a bunch of happy Irish memories to brighten your day!

Keep well Connie and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not-too-distant future.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I had the chance to stay at the Killeen House and had an excellent experience. Michael and Geraldine were great hosts and the staff was very attentive and extremely friendly and helpful. Michael was able to offer up suggestions on what to do (this came in handy as my wife and I had little in the way of a plan when we arrived), where to go and the easiest way to get there. The hotel is very charming and is a little more part of the country side (although almost all of Ireland appears to be in the country side if you ask me) than staying in Killarney proper.

The restaurant had excellent food and wonderful deserts. It is a very quiet place to stay.
Overall it was a wonderful place to stay and it made out trip to Ireland a more enjoyable experience. Than you Michael and Geraldine!

Room Tip: My bed was a little soft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Jonny and thank you most sincerely for the excellent review here on Trip Advisor - it means an awful lot to us that you took the time and trouble to write it and post it up.

We're delighted that you both enjoyed your first trip to Ireland, and we're even more delighted that we played our part in adding to that enjoyment!

It was our total pleasure to look after you both, and if and when your travel plans ever bring you back to our little part of the world - you know exactly where we are...!

Thanks again Jonny and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Michael and Geraldine are wonderful hosts. It is always a pleasure to have a wonderful
dinner at Rozzers. There are always happy golfers in the bar sharing their great golf shots!
The setting is delightful---on a hill in Agadoe overlooking the Lakes of Killarney.
Michael and Geraldine will be most helpful in recommending golf courses, shopping experiences,
excursions, history of the area and any other experiences you may wish to have.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent---the higher floors have less noise from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen123426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Karen and sincere thanks to you for the wonderfully nice and kind review here on Trip Advisor - we are extremely thankful to you for it.

Thank you also for pointing out the many and fantastic options that are available for holiday-makers here in the Killarney and Kerry region. We are truly blessed to have such a vast amount of world class attractions and activities right on our door-step!

Thanks again so much Karen and all the very best of everything to you and yours until we meet again here in God's Own Country.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,221 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,404 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,223 reviews
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,548 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant

Property: Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney Town Centre, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula. Free car parking and and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing