We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful gem in the Irish countryside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killeen House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem in the Irish countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Spent two delightful nights at the Killeen House hotel. Geraldine and Michael Rosney are warm and welcoming proprietors of this charming country house. With the ability to make any traveller feel instantly at home, excellent breakfasts, a first-class restaurant and a passion for all things golf related, this small hotel and its owners epitomise Irish hospitality. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a charming get-away and as a home-away-from-home while exploring the region around the Lakes of Killarney. We will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissTraveller224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you so much!

What an absolutely wonderful review you have put up here on Trip Advisor - we are extremely grateful to you.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us here in the Killeen House and also that we managed to deliver on your expectations of us.

But the thing that makes us most happy is your comment that you will be back to us....

People like you can pay no higher compliment to people like us, than by returning to us again!

We really appreciate this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Killeen house again at some time in the not-too-distant future.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    42
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
184
375
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Wow, the food here is phenomenal. For dinner my husband and I shared the prime steak, bottle of Chilean summer wine, and vanilla brûlée. Stayed here also and the warmth of Geraldine, Michael, and the entire staff are great! Breakfast is tasty and proper. Other visitors are friendly too. Grounds are gorgeous! Highly recommend staying and definitely eating here!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monica P. V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi Monica and thanks a million for the stupendous review here on Trip Advisor - we really and truly appreciate it....

It was our pleasure to look after you both and we're delighted that we gave you a few happy memories to take home with you!

We're especially glad that you noted that your fellow guests were such a nice bunch of people too Monica - we just love it when our guests start mixing with each other, and we're really happy that so many new and lasting friendships have been made in the Pub here in the Killeen House down though the years!

Thanks again and all the very best to you both.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Michael and staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. There was nothing left unattended. Arrived stressed from the 11 hour goose chase the GPS took me on, but all was forgotten as soon as I walked in the door. Eric got our bags and took them upstairs to our large room and then brought us tea and freshly baked banana bread. After a good nights sleep, they greeted us as soon as we came down for their lovely breakfast. Made to order with a superb assortment of breads. Then they asked us how they could help us plan our stay? Michael sat down with us for 30 minutes and helped map out our visits. Thank you so much! We will be back someday and I will highly recommend the Killeen House to others. After 2 weeks in Ireland, this was my favorite part of the trip! Great staff, food, atmosphere and rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWanderer1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
What a 'Happy'Review' from a clearly 'HappyWanderer'! (Sorry - couldn't resist it...!

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to join Trip Advisor and post up this review. We do truly appreciate it.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and to serve you here in the Killeen House.

You are not the first people we've had to de-stress and calm down as a result of sat-nav technology here in rural Ireland! While it's absolutely perfect of negotiating the bigger towns and cities, it can be a bit of a curse for the rural parts of the country.....so travellers beware!

Thanks again and you know where we are if and when your plans bring you back to the place that God made when He was in a good humour!

Thanks again so much and all the best.

Michael & Gweraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

A charming family run Hotel, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Very clean and tidy. Breakfast consisted of a wide choice from a menu which meant that the food was cooked to order.A first class breakfast. Geraldine took our order for breakfast each morning, an extremely friendly lady, well done Geraldine. We have no complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: We were in room 303 which was very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha6175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Martha and thank you most kindly for this wonderful review here on Trip Advisor - it means a lot to us.

We're delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us so much, and we're equally delighted that Kerry had more than enough attractions and activities to keep you occupied over a five day period.

Now that you've discovered us, we hope you won't be strangers as they say, and that we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back to God's Own Country at some future stage!

Thanks again and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had travelled from the UK by car and ferry. Michael and Geraldine welcomed us, our teenage boys and 7 month old dog into their hotel but it was like staying in their home. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff all echoed this ethos. The food in the restaurant (Rozzers) was excellent and made all the more enjoyable by the ambience and the staff's professional and friendly manner. My wife and I were impressed by the cuisine, so we elected for Chateaubriand on our last night and it did not disappoint, well worth every moment!!
A great location for the Ring of Kerry, the Dingle Peninsula and for Killarney National Park.
Alan and Anna

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigfoot_n_Her
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Alan and Anna and thank you both so much for this outstanding review here on Trip Advisor - we are very grateful to you for going to the time and trouble of writing it and posting it up.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and look after you all during your trip to Kerry and we're delighted that it proved to be all you had hoped for it to be.

And Geraldine was so taken with Willow, she even made it onto our Killeen House Facebook!

Thanks again so much for the review and we hope we might see you back in Killarney again at some future stage - maybe even with your first cousin in tow....!

All the best.

Michael & Gerasldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Michael and Geraldine and their staff don't run a hotel. They welcome you into their home and are committed to the finest service I have ever experienced. If you are in the Killarney area this is the place to stay. If you eat in their restaurant, Rozzers, the first night there is a good chance you will not go anywhere else. It's 5 star quality. You need to experience this place. Words can not describe the hospitality and professionalism of everyone at the Killeen House.
Mike P

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
What an absolute sparkler of a review Mike!!

A million thanks for your exceptionally kind words, which we truly appreciate.

It was a pleasure looking after you all and we hope and trust that - now that you have discovered the delight of this area - that we'll see you all again sooner rather than later!

Thanks again so much Mike, and please say hi to the boys, the Marshalls, and also to all our Saucon Valley friends.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wavre, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Nice stay in a nice hotel held by nice people, in a nice area close to Killarney. Room was good, we had a pleasant dinner and enjoyed the discussion at the bar after it, with golf players coming from the US. Also to note, the warm welcome from the hosts who do all their best to help and serve you. Do not spend time looking at another place when visiting Killarney, the Killeen house is perfect. Jean Claude and Muriel

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplusG, Guest Relations Manager at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Jean Claude and thank you so much for the wonderful review here on Trip Advisor - we truly do appreciate it.

It was our great pleasure to look after Muriel and yourself and we're delighted that you found the Killeen House so much to your liking...

We're also delighted that you also enjoyed the company of our other guests here also. Where we thing they might like it, we try and get our guests to meet and mix with each other , because we feel that it can add greatly to everyone's enjoyment of their holiday experience.

Thank you again so much and very best regards to you both.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
3.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel

Property: Killeen House Hotel
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Killeen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing